We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Wedding” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sketchley Lane, Burbage, Hinckley LE10 3HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Wedding”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

We all had a fantastic time at our son's wedding on 22/2/2014 and all the staff were helpful and friendly. Food was good and served hot which was no mean feat with 140 'sit down' guests. Special thanks to Richard Gray who was the 'Master of Ceremony' for doing such a great job. Our room which was a superior double was a lovely room in the new part of the building, although I have been told that the rooms in the older part need some TLC. I liked the extra touch of having a separate room allocated for breakfast for the 30 or so wedding guests who stayed the night. Food and service at breakfast was also very good, Thank you to all concerned.

Room Tip: Have been told the rooms in the 'new' part of the building are better than those in the'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Nigel

Thank you for the kind review. It was a pleasure to have your family wedding here and we look forward to seeing you again in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    100
    83
    70
    37
    27
See reviews for
44
118
4
40
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
leicester
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2014

Room 156 was lovely; clean, spacious with a bath and separate walk in shower. The facilities were reasonable but there was only one pack of biscuits and one hot chocolate between two of us. I was also expecting 2 beds as this is what I had requested on booking. There was only one but fortunately it was king size so wasn't too bad sharing with a friend. A cocktail list would be good or at least staff who knew how to make them behind the bar. The breakfast was quite nice, had to ask for tea, coffee and toast. It would have been nice to have been offered this. Also I missed out on an alternative to scrambled egg as there was no staff at the buffet as I went up. Overall I enjoyed the stay, it was a bargain deal.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Nicola

Thanks for your review and we are glad you had a nice time at the hotel. We have taken your feedback and distributed it to the relevant departments for future development.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

Visited this hotel in February and quickly realised that there are modernised rooms and unmodernised rooms. Unfortunately I was given an unmodernised room (the majority of the rooms) and in the first room I was offered the floor tiles in the bathroom were so smashed that they would have cut my feet. I was then offered a 'family room' which had a double and a single bed. The double bed mattress was so knackered that I slept in the single bed - thank goodness I a single visitor!
The bathroom was tired and tatty and there was a cobweb that stayed in my window sill for the three nights of my stay.
The 'Spa' had stained walls in the pool area and the Jacuzzi was gritty.
Staff were very nice.

Room Tip: Make sure you get a modernised room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Bedlam

I am sorry to hear you didn't have a great stay with us. I am concerned your mattress wasn't up to standard as we do check them regularly and seldom get complaints about them. Should you wish to discuss further then please get in touch
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2014

I did not realize this type of hotel still existed. The room was soulless, lit by fluorescent lights, cold tiled floors and harsh plain décor. The beds were hard with equally unforgiving foam pillows - I did not sleep well. The bedside lamp didn't work and was not fixed despite assurances that it would be. The restaurant has no character. The menu came on a photocopied piece of A4 paper and was basic. We waited nearly an hour to get our meal and when it came it was very substandard fare. The hotel appears to be staffed with well intentioned but inexperienced school leavers. I am not one for complaining but I just had to write this. I will not return.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Mark

I am very concerned to hear you had a bad stay with us. We take pride on making sure our guests have the best experience possible. I appreciate that we should have had the lamp fixed ASAP and apologise for the distress it caused. Whilst decor is a certainly a question of personal choice should you want to discuss this further then please contact me at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
northamptonshire
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

We visited Sketchley on a two night deal and what great value Our room was a junior suite and was fabulous very large . We had every thing we wanted The super king size bed was comfortable and we had a good nights sleep. the bathroom large with bath and shower . staff were very friendly and efficient nothing was to much trouble. we made use of the spa facilities the pool is good along with the sauna and jacuzzi.A lovely relaxing time
I would certainly recommend a visit

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Knight

Thank you for a really positive review, we do take pride on making sure all our guests have a great time and our contemporary rooms get a lot of positive feedback.
Thank you once again and we look forward to hopefully welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

Just celebrated my hen weekend with 13 friends at this wonderful hotel and spa. Everything about the hotel was spotlessly clean and the staff were incredibly attentive and looked after us well throughout our stay, paying particularly attention to our need for copious amounts of tea, coffee and toast at breakfast yesterday morning when the majority of us were feeling a little worse for wear!

Great value for money - we paid £75 each and for this got full use of the spa for two days, evening meal, overnight accommodation and breakfast. The evening meal with gorgeous - lots of choice and yummy. The spa itself was lovely and clean and those of us who had treatments were more than happy.

Drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel of this quality which was a pleasant surprise. We had a lovely bar lunch on Saturday which was also a good price.

The only negative comment I would make is that we weren't made aware that if we wanted to use the spa facilities on the 2nd day we needed to go in before check-out. The deal included use of the spa until 4pm on day two. This meant that those in my party who were healthy enough to want to use the spa yesterday had to pay to go in after 11.30am if they'd not entered earlier. However, this is a minor detail and didn't detract from the enjoyment of our stay. I would just suggest that this is made clear to people.

Would recommend this hotel to anyone and will definitely be back!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Michele

Thank you for the great review and the feedback. We have taken this on board and look forward to welcoming you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

After using the hotel for a business trip and receiving first class service, I recommended this hotel for a spa hen weekend, 14 ladies and again the hotel was first class, food is excellent, staff are friendly and the facilities are perfect.
I would use this hotel again and recommend to all.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, April 11, 2014
Dear Princess

Thank you for your kind words, it is much appreciated. We are glad you had a great stay and look forward to seeing you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Address: Sketchley Lane, Burbage, Hinckley LE10 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sketchley Grange Hotel Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hotel And Spa
Best Western Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa Hinckley, Leicestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.