We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Customer Service absolutely none existent” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Sketchley Lane, Burbage, Hinckley LE10 3HU, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
2 reviews
“Customer Service absolutely none existent”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

I arrived at the hotel at 12:30 and tried to check in and was told I would be able to do so until 14:00

I explained that I would be working a nightshift and an early check on should have been arranged

The receptionist told me the rooms weren't ready but she would check with the house keeper and asked me to wait in the bar and she would come and find me in about 30 minutes

Two hours later I was still waiting for her to come and find me clearly she had no intention of doing so

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Thank you for comments regarding your recent visit to the hotel. As you state it is a 2pm check in ,but wherever possible we endeavour to assist a guest to check into their room early.In this case it appears we couldf not facilitate this requirement and were remiss in not communicating this at the time. I will share your observations with the Front Desk team so as to ensure we avoid a repeat of this .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    124
    112
    93
    50
    37
See reviews for
53
162
5
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (124)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

not sure if i could rate it any higher than 1 star if we didn't end up staying the night or having breakfast!

i've stayed at this hotel once before with a groupon voucher and thought it was ok. for the price we'd paid everything was fine. although the spa isn't fantastic, it gives you something to do for a couple of hours.

we arrived on saturday the 10th of august after seeing another groupon voucher. when we arrived in our room our immediate reaction was that 'it'll do'. on closer inspection we could see that near the bathroom the carpet had worn away into nothing and that dust covered the tops of the curtains. we went down to the 'spa' for a couple of hours and although it is pretty basic, we enjoyed ourselves and felt relaxed. we went back up to the room to shower and change to find that there was no hot water. it started to warm slightly but didn't get any hotter. we were in a rush to go out for dinner so just made do.

we had a lovely dinner out and were looking forward to a nice sleep before breakfast in the morning. no chance! all we could hear was blaring music and people shouting. at no point when we booked or when we arrived at reception did anyone warn us there would be a wedding party that evening. atleast if they had we could've decided what to do. i rang down to reception at about 10.45pm to ask how much longer we could expect the noise to go on for. we were told about 40 minutes. an hour later and the music had actually gotten louder. i'm not sure what theory is behind turning the music up the later into the night it gets.

we were lying in bed deciding what to do - ring down again only to be fobbed off with 'another 40 minutes' or cut our losses and go home. we decided on the latter. when i went downstairs to checkout the first thing they said was 'oh were you above the function room?' even though there could've been a number of reasons why we were leaving. i think this just shows that they're aware of the problem but don't want to do anything about it.

i'm sure if you have a nicer room in a different part of the hotel that it would be value for money. sadly, even with a groupon voucher what we experienced wasn't worth the money at all. it turned out to be a very expensive swim and a rubbish late night disco that we didn't even want, followed by a midnight drive home!

this was meant to be a relaxing spa break for myself and my partner but in the end we left annoyed and tired. apparently the reservations manager will be in touch within the week so we'll see what happens. we're just lucky we only live half an hour away! not sure whether groupon voucher people are put in certain rooms near the noise but i don't think there's any excuse for playing 'love train' that loud at 11.30pm. i had it stuck in my head all the way home!

Room Tip: might be worth ringing to find out if you're likely to get any sleep!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 16, 2013
Sorry to hear your stay was less than satisfactory especially when you state that enjoyed your meal.

Sketchley is a very popular event venue and it's probably wise to make your requirements clear when booking as regards the type of room you require.

Thanks for taking the time to pass on your experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed recently for a friends wedding, so we booked overnight accommodation. The room - threadbare carpets, wallpaper peeling off the walls, mould around the bath. The rooms are in desperate need of decor, I don't think this has been done since 1980's as its very tired and old. I thought it was just my room but it ended up being a conversation piece amongst guests as to who had the worst room. If it was £50 then it would've been ok, but not worth the discounted £90 I paid. I would've been disgusted if I'd paid the usual nightly rate.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
Firstly thank you for taking the time to share your recent experience at the hotel . I acknowledge that certain rooms would benefit from a refurbishment .As such a programme is being put together to improve the fabric of the original accommodation which will be of benefit to our guests. I hope this information is of assistance and hoping that we can be of future service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

An ok Stay. The hotel looks like it could do with some investment. I understand it has recently changed hands. The room was basic. There was no air conditioning in our room, just a fan. Our room overlooked a courtyard so there were lots of bottles being tipped into dustbins late at night and early morning which was a shame.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, August 21, 2013
As you correctly observe there has been a change of ownership and improving the guest room facilities is high on the hotel's agenda.As regards the noise issue I will share your experience so those concerned can adapt there routines to avoid a re-occurence.Thank you for completing Trip Advisor .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wakefield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
43 helpful votes 43 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

stayed here for the weekend arrived Friday night to a school prom then Saturday nights were weddings this hotel is great for that sort of thing as it is geared up for large parties . leisure facilities we great and were used too . the bar meals are good the restaurant was ok not super. one of our party had a restless night because of a rowdy room next door but we enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GMSketchleyGrange, General Manager at Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, responded to this review, September 26, 2013
Very nice to hear that you enjoyed your stay, many thanks for the business.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LEICESTER
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Myself and a party of 10 others stayed over at this hotel to celebrate my 50th Birthday! The rooms that we were all given were superb and there was absolutely nothing that could be faulted with any of them. They were all huge, with great facilities and very clean throughout. The air con in the room was a real bonus, as the weather was great, but very warm. All of the staff that we came into contact with throughout the stay, could not do enough for you, to ensure that you had a great time. A special thanks to the staff in the Terrace Bar who ensured that all drink orders were sorted quickly and in a professional manner. We were at this hotel for a Tribute night, wwhich included a set three course dinner and there were many comments amongst the 28 other people that I dined with about the excellent quality of the food, which is very often not the case when a venue is catering for a 100 plus diners at the same time. Well done to the chefs and all of the serving staff on the night, for such a slick and professional service throughout. Breakfast was tasty, hot and plentiful. I would highly recommend this hotel either for a weekend away with friends and family, for a wedding or as a business venue.

Room Tip: The rooms in the newer part of the building are much larger than those in the older part and have th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We booked this last minute while traveling through the area and were thrilled with the choice when we arrived. The manager was really helpful and gave us a wonderfully large room for an excellent rate. Meals in the restaurant were superb- we didn't have breakfast before leaving but based on the dinner menu I'm sure breakfast is top notch too. My favorite thing has to be the shower - the water pressure was absolutely fantastic!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa

Address: Sketchley Lane, Burbage, Hinckley LE10 3HU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sketchley Grange Hotel Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hotel And Spa
Best Western Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hinckley
Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa Hinckley, Leicestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sketchley Grange Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.