We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, great service.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Everest Restaurant - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Everest Restaurant
77-79 Castle Street, Hinckley LE10 1DA, England
01455 633444
Website
Improve this listing
Price range: $10 - $25
Cuisines: Nepali
Good for: Families with children
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food, great service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

Went on a Tuesday evening with family. Staff very helpful explaining what the food was and that it could be tailored to suit individual tastes. My two boys aged 6 and 8 both ate and asked for more. If I could describe the food it was a mix of Indian and Chinese. I had a chicken curry and the wife had garlic chilli chicken which was fantastic and what I would have next time. It was quiet but expected for a Tuesday evening. I will be going back.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    9
    8
    0
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“great food and very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

this restaurant is not called Everest anymore - Gurkha something now. Food very good. Very friendly. Would def go back

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
112 reviews 112 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
“Good, very fresh takeaway.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2012

Enjoyed our takeaway from the Ghurka. Good samosas and dumplings, tasty selection of curries nicely spiced and with just enough heat. Bread was fresh and fluffy and even the rice was moist, freshly cooked and well seasoned. Very impressive for a takeaway as we struggle to find consistently good takeaway in Hinckley. Will visit here again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coventry, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent and different - give Nepalese a go!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2012 via mobile

After reading the good TA comments we finally visited the Ghurka last night, despite not being easy to find - we parked right outside and missed the unobtrusive single door entrance! We really enjoy spicy food and I thought it would make a change from our usual Indian haunts. We weren't disappointed. The starter dumplings were very tasty and my Pokhura prawns on a sizzling skillets were lovely, but the star of the show was the Ghurka lamb. This is a medium spiced dish with tender lamb and black eyed beans - delicious. We were late arriving so we were the only diners which meant there was no atmosphere, but the staff were friendly, helpful and informative. We will definitely be going back on Sunday night for their official re-opening under new management.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hinckley, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

Top food don't let the decor or the long corridor put you off. Well worth a visit

  • Visited February 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Everest Restaurant also viewed

Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Everest Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.