We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, limited menu!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro

Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro
Watling Street, Hinckley LE10 3JA, England
+44 1455 633220
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #5 of 64 Restaurants in Hinckley
Price range: $16 - $78
Cuisines: Contemporary, British, Bistro, Wine Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro offers dining in both the newly refurbished Bar Bistro which boasts a contemporary, relaxed atmosphere with fine wines, great beers extensive Bistro menu and a snug log fire.This runs alongside our award winning A la carte restaurant which offers the very best in fine dining. Our design and personality reflects the ethos of Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro.'Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro offers both fine and relaxed dining experiences. We strive to deliver affordable, locally sourced seasonal produce, never compromising on style or quality'Our extensive menus are designed to suit every taste and budget, whether you are celebrating a special occasion or fancy a classic British bistro dish, you are sure yo enjoy your visit!
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Expensive, limited menu!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2012 via mobile

Nice setting, limited menu ~ no king prawns surprisingly?! Expensive. We asked for extra bread and we were charged for it~ would have been a nice gesture considering our bill.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

425 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    229
    107
    51
    24
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Market Harborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Love it !”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2012

I went with my daughter as a treat to ourselves.. it was wonderful, couldnt have had better service, there was a bit of a mix up with my daughters meal but eventually when the food came it was great.. Want to go back.. just need another occasion :-)

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2012

Great food, but not cheap. Good for special occassions where cost doesn't matter.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
“The worst meal I've ever had”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2012 via mobile

Despite booking by phone and phoning again to confirm that they had put the booking into the diary, on our arrival, they had no knowledge of reservation.
They suggested that they make up another table which we agreed to. Afterwards we could only conclude that no staff had been allocated to serve our table as we waited for hours for anything to eat. When it did arrive it was cold and inedible. Any questioning of the staff as to the lack of any food was met with rudeness and downright hostility.
When they get it right, the experience is outstanding (my wife went a few weeks earlier and had such a good meal that she suggested we took some friends) but when things go wrong a simple apology would satisfy most people. Unfortunately we got no apology, were forced to pay the bill in full and were met with a level of rudeness rarely experienced anywhere before or since.

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BarnaclesHinckley, Owner at Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro, responded to this review, February 10, 2012
this review has been referred to trip advisor as we believe it has been posted by someone who has not been to the restaurant or possibly a competitor. Anyone who knows how the restaurant operates its bookings and table service would see parts of this review not possible.
Our booking system is very efficient and although on the very rare occasion a reservation is missed it would not have been omitted should someone have called to confirm. Reservations are handled by only 3 people myself the owner, the manageress and secretary for 3 hours on weekday mornings.
Food orders are placed with senior staff in the bar/snug area before going through to the restaurant and all checks follow a strict timing procedure in which FOH and kitchen staff are aware of. This system has evolved over 20 years. Therefore if there was a longer than usual wait this would have been flagged by someone.
If, as the review claims the customer had 'waited hours for food' and' mentioned it when paying' the bill, there would have been no charge.Such a complaint would have been dealt with by myself of the manageress as at least one of us is always present and we have not experienced the claims within this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Always a treat.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2012

The staff were very welcoming and the place has been brougt up to date by lovely fires, good lighting and nice decor. The menu was a good mixture of different takes from modern prawn cocktail to fabulous lobsters dressed with simple but yummy ingredients. The fish was fresh and tasty and though we didn't try the steaks I am sure we would not have been dissapointed. Our friends are from Portsmouth so they know the value of good fresh fish and they were impressed with our choice of restuarant. We will be coming back, hopefully soon.

  • Visited January 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro also viewed

 
Hinckley, Leicestershire
Hinckley, Leicestershire
 

Been to Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Barnacles Restaurant & Bar Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.