We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Definitely be booking again” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast

Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Hinckley
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast
Hinckley Road, Hinckley LE10 3HQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hinckley B&B and Inns
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Definitely be booking again”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2011

Stayed here for 2 nights, which I think is long enough (in the bed & breakfast rooms), with my wife and children, 13 and 6. Very quiet location at the end of a long track.

We had a family room, which comprised of a double bed (with a single bed in the corner) plus a twin room. Both rooms were large and had ensuite, with the rooms tastefully decorated. They also had a nice collection of books to read.

Jon and Sally went out of their way to make us feel welcome as if we were the only guests - not something you would normally find at a B&B. Jon made cooked breakfast for us while Sally went out to pick fresh raspberries to have with our yoghurt!

On the morning of day 2, Jon drove us down the road to a nearby farm to view the milking of the cows and also to see the new calves. We also bought fresh eggs from there - we went off with the farmers wife to collect eggs from the chicken barn.

Abbey Farm has a beautiful walled garden which was in full bloom - tended to by Sally. I'm sure the (very friendly) border collie dog - Flo was worn out with the fetching of balls and sticks thrown by my son! He didn't want to go anywhere except to play with Flo all the time.

A few pubs around in a couple of miles radius, easier to find with the SatNav.

I highly recommend this place and will definitely be booking again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

10 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    8
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
6
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2011

Just returned for staying 2 nights at Abbey Farm, Jon & Sally the owners were very friendly and welcoming. This must be one of the quietest places ever that we have stayed in. We stayed in one of the self catering units but had breakfast cooked by Jon. This in itself was delicious, and plenty of it, as it is a fruit farm we were lucky to be able to have fresh cherries as well if we liked.
The self catering unit was spacious, clean,plenty of hot water, and once again very very quiet, There is a huge area for parking and a lovely walled garden which you could sit and chill in if you wanted to.
Would we return in the future? Most definately YES.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2008

I stayed at Abbey Farm for a long weekend with a group of friends. John and Sally Slee run a wonderful B&B and are quite simply the most excellent hosts you could wish for.

The farm is lovely and set around a beautiful cobbled courtyard. The rooms are finished to a very high degree without being pretentious, all the fittings were comfortable and very well appointed. There are plenty of spotless bathrooms with tonnes of hot water (even going last after a large group).

The breakfasts were truly brilliant and were amongst the best full English's I've ever had. John managed to cater for a range of dietary requirements without flinching despite having to simultaneously cook for a full house.

However these were not what really made our stay excellent. The hospitality, flexibility and friendliness offered by the Slees were what made our stay exceptional.

The thoughtful approach to delivering a friendly and exceptionally high level of service made this farm B&B stand ahead of the best 5 star or boutique hotels I have stayed at.

I cannot recommend it highly enough.

Ben

  • Liked — The wonderful friendly service.
  • Disliked — There was nothing bad...nothing
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2008

We spent 2 nights at Abbey Farm last weekend as we had a wedding nearby. We didn't like the look of the usual hotels shown for this area and were looking for somewhere special. I found Abbey Farm online, loved the look of it from the website and am happy to report that it exceeded my expectations. The owners Jon and Sally Slee are very warm and friendly people who seem to genuinely enjoy having guests to stay. There is a choice between B&B in the main house, or self catering units attached to the house (with breakfast if need be). We stayed in one of the s/c units - the bed was huge and very comfortable with a lovely cosy duvet. The kitchen was very well equipped. The shower was excellent. We opted for breakfast in the main house and can highly recommend the huge cooked breakfast - mushrooms, baked beans, sausages (veg ones specially bought for us), tomatoes, eggs. Also toast, homemade jams and marmalades, cereals, fresh fruit and jugs of coffee and juice. The gardens are open to guests and are a delightful spot to relax, with water features and espalier fruit trees laden with peaches, pears, cherries. I could go on for hours about its merits. The place truly lives up to the promise and the pictures on the website are very true to life so have not included my own. (www.abbeyfarm.org.uk). Prices start at £25 pppn based on 2 sharing. Abbey Farm is so much better than places which charge 2 or 3 times as much!

  • Liked — warm welcome, wonderful rooms, great breakfasts, good value
  • Disliked — nothing to dislike!
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast

Address: Hinckley Road, Hinckley LE10 3HQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Leicestershire > Hinckley
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 B&Bs / Inns in Hinckley
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Also Known As:
Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast Hinckley, Leicestershire

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Abbey Farm Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list