We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“juno” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Burnbank Kinross

Save Saved
You added Burnbank Kinross to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Burnbank Kinross
79 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AZ, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 12 Kinross B&B and Inns
newcastle
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“juno”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2012

we stayed here in july 2012 for one night but did not want to leave, if we had not booked a hotel in edinburgh, which might was nowhere near as good as the burnbank, we would have stayed longer. we had a brilliant dinner and breakfast with delicous food and friendly service from trevor and juno, a lovely warm place which we will hopefully return to sometime,,

Room Tip: we were in the blue room and it was huge and very clean with a massive comfy bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollytreeKinross, Owner at Burnbank Kinross, responded to this review, August 8, 2012
Many thanks for the kind review. Hope to see you again sometime.
PS. Juno says 'Thanks for all the cuddles'.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    74
    7
    2
    2
    0
See reviews for
23
31
8
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Colchester England
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed for just one night (not nearly enough but we were on a self-drive around Scotland so couldn't make it a longer stay), we occupied the Red Room which was very comfortable with comfortable bed and well-appointed en-suite and afforded a great view of the well-stocked kitchen garden. Anne and Trevor couldn't have done more for us, the evening meal was excellent, as was the breakfast. Trevor even afforded us a tour of the chicken run!
We would readily recommend the Burnbank to anyone with no doubts whatsoever as to their satisfaction.

Room Tip: The Red Room is on the ground floor with very easy access and high levels of comfort
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollytreeKinross, Owner at Burnbank Kinross, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
Thank you very much for your generous review. We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour as much. And wow! It stopped raining for you.

Best wishes, Trevor and Ann
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2012

We stayed a night at this B&B for convenient access to the local race track and also went bike riding around Loch Leven. The owners were very hospitable and went to some efforts to ensure we had everything we wanted, including giving directions when we couldn't find the place. We liked the slightly rustic charm, vast book and DVD collection and the nice garden outside. Breakfast was very good featuring a wide range of choice and tastey offerings.

There were a few small distractions that did leave us wondering how it rates 4 stars, and also how the price can be justified. Our room was on the ground floor, with the door facing the dining room table and the kitchen door was next to ours. This took away some of the privacy that you would normally expect. The shower was just warm the night we stayed, however was hotter the next morning. As an allergy sufferer, my eyes were feeling slightly agitated and puffy in the morning from the large resident dog that inspected us coming through the front door.

For us the benchmark is high, having stayed at other B&B's around Scotland that offer great value for money with picturesque settings. If you like the traditional B&B where it really does feel like you are staying at someones house then this is probably for you - albeit overpriced.

Room Tip: Ask for an upstairs room for more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hollytreeKinross, Owner at Burnbank Kinross, responded to this review, August 3, 2012
We are very sorry to hear that you felt there were some disappointing elements to your stay with us. We believe that Burnbank offers exceptional value for money and we retain our excellent reputation by providing outstanding hospitality and delicious local, seasonal and largely home made, quality food. The number of people who return to stay with us illustrates our guest’s satisfaction. We try to operate ethically and to reduce our carbon footprint whilst continuing to welcome and enhance the stay of those appreciative of our efforts.

Had we been aware of your dissatisfaction of your room location during your stay, we would have made every effort to re locate you, if possible.

I am also sorry if Juno caused you any discomfort. If you had informed us of your allergy, we would have ensured she was kept well away from you. She is the friendliest dog in the world, much loved by the majority of our guests, whom she loves meeting and greeting. I would stress that she is never allowed in the guest bedrooms.

Thank you for your comments, we appreciate any and all constructive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, Scotland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2012 via mobile

When I got my t in the park tickets this year I went on-line and was delighted to find a single room left in the burnbank. To be honest I would have accepted anything available but I definitely struck lucky with the burnbank. It was a home from home with friendly but unobtrusive hosts, home grown and home cooked breakfasts and modern stylish rooms with very comfortable beds! We were even offered a lift down to the festival several times! I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this b&b to anyone, it's better than some 4 star hotels I've stayed in!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Only stayed at Burnbank for two nights. Not enough! Will have to return. Anne and Trevor are delightful. I stayed in the Red Room - wonderful! Oustanding facilities- outstadning hosts and outstanding food. Can't beat it. Beautiful area to stay in. Spotless rooms and shower. Heating a plenty! Great warm welcome and excellent sense of humour.

Room Tip: All rooms that I could see were outstanding.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Owner at Burnbank Kinross, responded to this review, July 13, 2012
Thank you so much. It was lovely to meet you. We look forward to your return visit!
regards, Ann and Trevor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2012

The warmest of welcomes awaits at this lovely property. It was the end of our holiday and it couldn't have been spent at a nicer place. Trevor & Ann are very interesting well travelled people and the house is full of lovely finds and mementoes from their travels. Our room was huge overlooking most of the gardens and chickens. Eveything is catered for, clean warm and inviting. A superb breakfast is offered, with more choice than in many places. Freshly cooked and extremely tasty. Lovely home made jams and marmalade, fresh eggs, ( I think the shortbread was also home made, delicious) Nothing was to much trouble. We will stay here every time in future, when visiting family.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2012

A friendly welcome where we were made to feel at home from the start. Food was great, very clean room, spacious and all the amenities that you would require. Trevor was a great host during our stay and full of local knowledge.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Burnbank Kinross? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burnbank Kinross

Address: 79 Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AZ, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Burnbank B&B - close to Loch Leven in the beautiful Kinross countryside. A warm and friendly welcome awaits you, with the highest standards in comfort, combined with impeccable personal service and the best of locally sourced Scottish produce. As well as delicious breakfasts, we also provide home cooked evening meals, with a focus on organic produce where possible. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Burnbank Kinross reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burnbank Kinross Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Burnbank Kinross, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.