We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value stay and excellent food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Kirklands Hotel to your Saves list
Kirklands Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 High St, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Certificate of Excellence 2014
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great value stay and excellent food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We were very impressed considering the rate is cheaper than a chain like premier inn. We used the hotel as a stopover on our way further North.

Service was excellent. The owners were very friendly and professional. Catered for dietary requirements better than most restaurants we've been to. Made to feel welcome.

Breakfast was excellent. Tasty but not greasy and they went out of their way to make us more comfortable.

Dinner also excellent in all regards and on par with some good restaurants we've been to.

Kinross is nothing to write home about but has a lovely walk around the loch.

Overall, Kirklands goes above and beyond what you'd expect for the price.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    214
    33
    5
    0
    1
See reviews for
40
111
13
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dumfries, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

From start to finish, our stay in the Kirklands Hotel was an excellent choice. Shona and Anthony were such welcoming hosts, and they and their staff provided a relaxed, but at the same time very comfortable atmosphere within a modern interior. All staff very friendly and efficient, but never intrusive, achieving a perfect balance. Our room was spacious and very clean, with a large ensuite. We have eaten before in the hotel, which is a wonderful experience in itself, but had never stayed overnight. Relaxed and delicious breakfast the next morning "rounded off" our treat.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkcaldy, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited the Kirklands Hotel for a meal as we were staying at a campsite nearby. Despite having a slightly longer wait for a table than had been intimated initially, the food, wine, and atmosphere more than made up for this. The meal itself was beautifully presented and very tasty. Will definitely be back, and will reccomend to others

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Had been here for a meal previously and decided to return for our wedding anniversary - one of over forty years.

The hotel is a listed building and Antony and Shona are restricted in what they can do. They cannot put in a lift and modify much of the layout but tried extremely hard to accommodate us with our restricted abilities.

Our stay was extremely enjoyable. The comfortable environment in the afternoon whilst we relaxed with a glass of wine followed up with a lovely meal and finishing up with a drink in the bar, engaging with locals and fellow visitors.

Breakfast in the morning was excellent with a wide choice and was enhanced by Antony's banter - he is Irish and, in my opinion, has not kissed the Blarney Stone, he has swallowed it!

All in all, a lovely experience and we will be back soon.

Room Tip: As I have said, it is a listed building so there is no lift. Those with mobility problems should ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013 via mobile

I have posted here before about The Kirklands and can only say once again how much my wife and I have enjoyed another excellent meal. Living locally, we have eaten here quite a number of times over the last 12 months and have always found everyone so welcoming, with the bar and restaurant clean and tidy and without hesitation, would recommend a visit here.

Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here on the first night of our tour of Scotland.
Great start to a great week.
Food was fantastic. The owners were very welcoming and the bar had a great choice of rums (my husband was in his element)
We will definitely be back.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doncaster, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

A great welcome from Anthony and Shona. Lovely clean and modern rooms; with good quality bathrooms / showers.

A nice bar with some local delights such as Schiehallion - a great Scottish lager.

And the food - oh the food! The food can only be described as wonderful, marvellous, magnificent. its a small menu, as it should be, and the quality is 10/10; the portions sizes perfect and the prices great. Washed down with some great wines recommended by Anthony.

Last but by no means least - the malt whisky - such a great range.

I'm staying for two weeks in November on business. Thanks to the Kirklands, it'll be more like a holiday

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High St, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Kirklands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2010, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to beimpressed with the special dishes on offer every day in addition to our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, LateRooms, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirklands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.