We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a lovely Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kirklands Hotel to your Saves list
Kirklands Hotel
20 High St, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Leigh Lancs
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“What a lovely Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

Hotel is approx. 25 miles north of Edinburgh. We stayed here for two nights over the recent bank holiday weekend. What a great stay , the rooms are bright, clean, modern décor, beds spot on and comfy. Free Wi-Fi access in the bar and the food is to die for :). We had to be up very very early to travel back into Edinburgh for the races and the owners Anthony and Shona couldn't do enough for us ie putting icepacks in the freezer for our cool box for the long day out in the city, the bikes in the garage or even getting up early to prep some porridge or on the Sunday as we were out a lot early, left out some breakfast for me. These guys should be proud of their hotel and business, one of the best places I have stayed for a long while. keep it up :)

Room Tip: We had room 8 right at the top of the building. Quite a few steep stairs so ask for a room on a low...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    32
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
105
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Ocklawaha, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We have stayed in several hotels in the Kinross area and Kirklands is by far the best. Shona and Anthony are wonderful hosts and their staff do a terrific job. The rooms are clean, spacious and comfortable and breakfast is always delicious. The restaurant serves a great meal and has a very nice menu. We'll be back next year!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Husband and I live near kinross so we eat regularly at Kirklands. We have never been disappointed, great food and atmosphere, service, choice of food and drink and value for money. Have also been with our kids and they also love it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Balloch, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Have eaten here a few times. Staff very helpful as we take our grand daughter 10 months. Preparation of food is first class as is the flavours. Also love duck bon bons added to the spring menu a few weeks ago.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed at the kirklands hotel last weekend with my boyfriend for a two night break and absolutely loved it! The rooms are modern and spacious, the breakfast tasty and cooked to order and the food in the restaurant was exceptional, far better than we had expected, i recommend trying the duck bon bons.
But what really made our stay was the service, all the staff were so friendly and always helpful, you don't get that at a lot of places these days and it really topped off an enjoyable weekend break! We will definately be back

Room Tip: We loved room 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I have visited this hotel several times - excellent service and very good attention to detail. The owners genuinely care about their guest's experience. Food is very good quality and hotel rooms clean, well presented and comfortable. Would highly recommend this as a base for touring and for foreign visitors

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Frequently dine here with my other half and my local club have several night outs throughout the year in the bar.
However on Saturday 27th April, a group of us met for a pre wedding celebration and felt we were an inconvenience to the owners. Both made comments to various people in our party about us "being in the way" etc of them walking past with food to serve people in the dining room. I'm normally met with a friendly smile from them but did not feel welcome at all and they were clearly stressed this night.
However, I do love my local haunt, the food is amazing with lovely surroundings, will put it down to a "bad night" for the owners. Please don't forget who your regulars are...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KirklandsHotel, Owner at Kirklands Hotel, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Thank you for your review, as you know we are usually very happy to have the running club in the bar and have on a number of occasions offered the private use of our restaurant without charge for your meetings but I will admit it is true that your party was a bit “in the way” on Saturday.

We only have a small bar area and this group was approximately 30 people who arrived without any prior warning into an already busy night. Due to your large numbers the only place you could gather was in the lounge in the front of the restaurant but unfortunately that is the route through which we need to carry food, drinks and restaurant diners need to pass through. The volume of people standing in the space made this very hard for all the staff, a number of times your party were asked to keep clear of the kitchen service door but they kept standing in the way, making food service very difficult.

A number of diners in the restaurant complained about the access and the noise coming from your party so all of this added to a very stressful night!

The comments that we made to people in your party were suggesting to the members that we know that a party of this size is not really suitable for our bar as we only have a total of 30 seats many of which were already occupied by the time you arrived and that in the future it would be worth a phone call to let us know your plans so we could have held an area for you.

Our regular customers are very important to us and people will tell you we will always go out of our way to accommodate them where at all possible. I am glad you normally enjoy all we have to offer and in future if you can please give us advance warning of such a large party we will certainly try our best to look after you in the way you would expect from the Kirklands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High St, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2010, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to beimpressed with the special dishes on offer every day in addition to our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirklands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.