We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“break in journey” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Kirklands Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Kirklands Hotel to your Saves list
Kirklands Hotel
20 High St, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Ballynahinch, United Kingdom
1 review
“break in journey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

Touring break on our way to Lossiemouth. Warm welcome from Anthony & Shona?. Delightful meal in beautiful dining room, comfy bed and excellent breakfast. The bar was well populated by well presented and behaved locals, and was clearly very well supported. I would recommend this hotel as a great stopover

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    204
    32
    4
    0
    1
See reviews for
39
105
12
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
scotland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Stayed here with my husband and 7 yr old daughter for one night, on arrival the hotel dosn't look much from the outside but please dont let this put you off, the interior of the hotel is lovely, the room we had looked out over the front of the hotel and although a little noisy it didnt disturb us, the room was lovely, great modern shower room and all that you need.
The staff at the hotel where fantastic, so friendly and attentive, nothing was too much trouble, although we didn't have an evening meal as we were going to the stock car racing in nearby Cowdenbeath that night, the place was packed and the food looked fantastic, we did have breakfast in the morning and have to say that its the best cooked breakfast we've ever had in any hotel!!
All in all an excellent base for exploring the surrounding area, we will definately be back, the other reviews ive read have all been great, for passing trade i would say to the management that maybe just a wee tidy up of the outside of the building, a lick of paint and maybe a few hanging baskets would spruce the outside up, it would be a shame if people drove on and didnt consider the hotel because of the look of the outside as this really is a fantastic hotel, dont hesitate, just book it!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinurgh
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

As a party of five + toddler, we enjoyed a walk round part of the Loch Leven trail then popped into the Kirkland's Hotel for lunch. It has recently been renovated and we were greatly impressed by the welcome on arrival and the ambiance and decor of the dining area next to the bar. The restaurant boasts good, fresh Scottish fare from an extensive menu and an accompanying wine list did not disappoint in both quantity and price. As we relaxed the food was soon being served by a very friendly and chatty waitress who went well out of her way to ensure all was well especially with our 18 month toddler. The whole experience made our afternoon and since our walking in the Kinross area is quite frequent, then this is now our place to eat. Good food, good service and not overly pricey.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
totnes
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013 via mobile

Friendly, personal and efficient but unobtrusive service was the first thing that struck me at this lovely hotel in the centre of Kinross. The second thing was a marvellously spacious double room at the back. I can't speak for the rooms overlooking the road, but neither of my colleagues complained. The room had all the usual add ons, including an MP3 dock. No spa or gum, which is the only reason I can think of that this hotel doesn't have more stars. The style is modern and classy, in keeping with the old stone building. I was there on a schools tour (I am a children's author) but I would certainly come with family - it was far less 'corporate' than other places I stayed. An excellent base for exploring the area around Loch Leven.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 1, 2013

Hi came to Kinross to enjoy walking Loch Leven an countryside, stayed over the Easter weekend
In the Kirklands hotel. What an experience, fantastic hotel, great food. Anthony, Shona and team so professional and welcoming, had a great relaxing and enjoyable weekend. Best of luck for the future Jim & Noirin - Dublin Ireland

Room Tip: Less than a hour from Edingburgh, good location for walks
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night - lovely hotel with nice decor, very clean and bright. Nice room amenities and good shower, the most comfortable hotel bed you will ever sleep in! Staff were great from the moment we checked in and dinner in the restaurant was absolutely delicious, and reasonable. Lovely bar area as well. Breakfast was superb, fully fresh and local ingredients extremely well cooked. Can't recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

Stayed 4 nights in this lovely hotel, Anthony and Shona and their staff were very welcoming and helpful, nothing too much trouble. Food excellent, try the Beef Cheek it is out of this world!
Modern decor with old world charm, En-suite facilities first class. Quiet situation close to Kinross shops and 3 min from M90.
10 min walk (or 2 min drive) to Loch Leven and heritage trail. RSPB reserve and gliding club on other side of loch.
Very quick to clear and help us extract our car after unexpected heavy snow in March 2013.
Top of our list for repeat stay in Scotland.
J & M, from Sussex.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Kirklands Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kirklands Hotel

Address: 20 High St, Kinross KY13 8AN, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kirklands Hotel makes an ideal base for leisure or business travellers. Fully refurbished in 2010, proprietors Anthony and Shona Clifford have restyled this original coaching inn to give the interior a contemporary and modern feel.With only nine bedrooms the Kirklands offers a friendly welcome and an attention to detail that bring guests back again and again.At the Kirklands we pride ourselves on quality food, drinks and service in stylish surroundings.Our kitchen team are particularly passionate about fresh ingredients and local produce so expect to beimpressed with the special dishes on offer every day in addition to our seasonally changing menu.Our new drinks list will introduce you to a range of all Scottish gins, local craft beers, some exclusive malts and up and coming wine varieties that will soon become your old favourites. Combine all this with the beautiful Loch Leven area, a warm welcome and award winning service and you might just find yourself wanting to stay a while! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Kirklands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kirklands Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kirklands Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.