We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jocks Bar

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jocks Bar
The Green Hotel 2 the Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #26 of 27 Restaurants in Kinross
Restaurant details
Uddingston, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“First time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2014

Went to Jocks bar in the Greens Hotel on Sunday 27th July. We were meeting friends that were home on holiday from Australia. There were 5 of us and we all enjoyed our meal. The staff were friendly. There was a nice relaxed atmosphere.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1
    3
    4
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Really good comfort food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

We had had a rough couple of days of travel and when we parked down the road at the B&B we were staying it we decided we were just going to eat wherever we came upon. We came upon Jocks Bar just a short walk from where we were staying and we were not disappointed.

First, unlike the Best Western in Inverness, it did not seem to matter that we were not staying at their hotel. We received prompt and cordial service. They didn't think anything of us asking for a pitcher of water (we were out in the sun most of the day and we needed some major hydration). They were even happy to refill it for us a few times while we ate.

I had the venison burger and my cohorts had the different pies (chicken and leek, steak and ale). They were very pleased with their selection. Venison is generally lean so I don't begrudge that it was a little dry.

We also had some haggis bon-bons. They're haggis hushpuppies, essentially, and if you like haggis you'll like these. I liked them =)

For dessert we ordered the bannoffee sundae and the lemon tart. While both were good, the bannoffee sundae was AMAZING. Looking back, I should have just ordered my own. We hadn't had bannoffee in all the time we were in Galway or anywhere here in Scotland so we took the plunge and went for the sundae. Oh, it was so good. So, so good.

Anyway, good food, great desserts, and wonderful staff!

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014 via mobile

Went to Jocks Bar for an evening meal with my wife and young son. I'm sorry to say it was not a good experience. The staff were friendly enough but the place was totally disorganised. Waited a while on the food only to be served with the main course before starter. When that was pointed out the waiter acknowledged a mistake and left to enquire. 10 minutes later another staff member appeared with the starters and put them down on the table despite the main courses being there. The worst thing was the staff member did not think anything of it! The garlic bread we ordered was so overcooked it was inedible. To top it off the bill we were given had extra drinks on it that we hadn't ordered! Sad thing was there were a number of foreign tourists in the bar. If that is the quality of service visitors to this country experience then it is terrible. Over priced, poor value,poor service. Avoid

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2014 via mobile

Visited Jocks Bar which is part of The Green Hotel on Saturday 8th February 2014 with my two young sons, the staff were very attentive, the food was of a very good standard and the bill quite reasonable, overall a good relaxing visit in a good atmospheric establishment which will encourage us to return again in the future.

Visited February 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jocks Bar also viewed

Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Jocks Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jocks Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.