We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Green Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Green Hotel to your Saves list
The Green Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2 The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked a overnight dinner bed an breakfast deal the staff very friendly and helpful the dinner in the Basil's restaurant was first class and breakfast was good two the room was warm and spacious with clean and comfortable beds can't wait to return

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

415 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    117
    162
    60
    52
    24
See reviews for
52
218
4
21
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Montrose
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We booked a room for three nights. The bedroom was quite large as was the bathroom and both immaculately clean. The staff throughout were very helpful and friendly. The meals were quite good with an excellent selection for breakfast and a very good menu in Jocks Bar for dinner. A perfect hotel for golfers (of which there were quite a few of them when we were there)as I believe that there are two very good golf courses not very far away from the hotel. Would we go back again and would we recommend the hotel to others? Of course we would.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murthly
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2013

went in for a bar lunch, the menu was good and prices were good. Furnishing could have done with a bit refreshing and the table we were at was sticky with drink!
When the meals were served up it was one fish & chips, one scampi, the scampi was just batter with tiny bit scampi inside (but you get that most places now).
The bad thing for us was the oil they fried the food with; it was a terrible taste and we did not enjoy it. We will not be back for food simply for that reason alone which is a shame.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Campbeltown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2013

We booked an overnight dinner, bed and breakfast deal. The staff throughout the hotel, bar, reception and dining room, were friendly, helpful and very attentive. The food was delicious both at dinner and breakfast, served in the pleasant atmosphere of Basil's restaurant. Despite the fact that there was live music in one part of the hotel and a birthday party in another we were never disturbed by noise. Our room did not have a view but it was a spacious warm room with clean comfortable beds. The hotel could perhaps benefit from a freshen up of its decor but that is a minor detail

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

Let me start by saying that the staff here are really friendly and helpful, and that the rooms are of a decent size.

We booked the hotel as we had a busy weekend planned in Fife, and wanted somewhere fairly luxurious and peaceful to spend Saturday night. To that end I asked for a quiet room and a good sized bed as I am quite tall.

We were given a standard sized double (not even a King!) and had an extractor fan in the room that sounded like a helicopter taking off. We were also situated above a door that banged loudly every time it was closed (it's doing it now as I write this review!) which we discovered were the public toilets, and also near enough to the function room that we could hear the loud bass beat of the music until well after the kids were in bed.

The food was okay but no more than that, and the lack of sleep left us all frazzled this morning, really disappointing when it could have been so much better!

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We often have Saturday lunch here and over the years have found the food good and the staff and service excellent. We go especially for the battered haddock which has always been light, tasty and crisp around very good fish. Not so today! We were presented with a fish shaped 'thing' which looked vaguely like breaded haddock. The 'batter' was a hard, brown, flat effort, moist and doughy on its inner surface and the fish of dubious quality. It looks as if they have gone over to buying in fish ready ?battered. Not a good move. The chips were very good however and we would have been happy to pay a little more and have proper batter made in the kitchen as appeared to be the case in the past. Let us hope it is a temporary state of affairs for if not we will not be eating there so often and certainly will not have today's dish again.
The staff were,as always, friendly and helpful making it a pleasure to go there.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2013

We took up a dinner, bed and breakfast offer at the Green Hotel and we're so glad we did. It's a good old-fashioned hotel and I mean that in the nicest possible way - great service, good standards, attentive and gracious staff and fresh, local produce in the restaurant. Our room was huge and very comfortable although the decor was slightly tired and the en-suite bathroom would benefit from a revamp. It was quiet and we slept well after a really good meal in their Basil's restaurant. A special mention must go to the restaurant staff who were first class, so helpful and knowledgeable about the menu. The food was excellent - very fresh local produce cooked imaginatively by a skilled chef. My only slight criticism was that we couldn't buy dessert wine by the glass. The hotel has great facilities, a health club with pool, sauna, gym etc, a bar restaurant and a lovely little gift shop which doesn't stock the usual Scottish tat but good quality gifts across the price range. Breakfast was excellent, self-service but a lovely range of hot and cold food. If you're looking for a country break in beautiful Perthshire then we thoroughly recommend this hotel.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Green Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Hotel

Address: 2 The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Green Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 46
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Green Hotel Golf & Leisure Resort has the benefit of 2 Hotels located across the road from each other - The 4 star Green Hotel and the 3 star Windlestrae Hotel.A 5000 acre estate with two parkland golf courses, there is lots to do on the Resort. We have a choice of five dining options: Basil's AA Rosette Restaurant and Jock's Bar at the Green, Monty's Italian Pizzerria and Rushes Bar at the Windlestrae and the Boathouse Bistro situated on the banks of Loch Leven. (Kids eat free at Monty's). Gravity our Health and Fitness club at the Windlestrae has a 20m indoor swimming pool, jacuzzi and sauna. At the Green, our curling rink is open from September to April and Backstage at the Green offers a variety of international artists from a variety of genres. Alternatively try fishing on Loch Leven, a boat trip to Castle Island or walk along the Natural Trail. You can hire mountain bikes, try putting watch the Falconry displays in the Summer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Green Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Green Hotel Kinross
The Green Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Green Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.