We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Windlestrae Hotel to your Saves list
Windlestrae Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Scotland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
95 reviews 95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
124 helpful votes 124 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

Stayed here for a couple of nights recently and have to say I was pleasantly surprised after hearing some negative comments comparing it with the Green Hotel nearby ( same owners).
The staff were unbelievably friendly and certainly make your stay here most welcome. I was informed I had one of the recently renovated rooms and was over the moon at the quality of the finish. The view of the rear of the health club was not exactly brilliant but I had no expectations otherwise.
Breakfast was the usual buffet , hot and cold, and an order for poached eggs was not a problem (as it has been in other establishments I've stayed at). Good quality and plentiful which is a great start to the day.
All in all, I would not hesitate to stay here again ( as long as I got one of the rooms of the same quality).

Room Tip: Ask for one of the renovated room at time of booking and follow it up with a call or email just prio...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    154
    72
    33
    21
See reviews for
54
164
7
26
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (93)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 21, 2013

We went to stay at the Windlestrae as part of the groupon offer and the £65 we paid there reflected ow much our visit was worth.

We had room 300 which is by far the smallest and had a number of issues. There was only 1 bedside light; the flat screen tv was on a table rather than the wall so you couldn't watch is easily from the bed; the tv was also a hazard as you had to squeeze past it to the wardrobe and the luggage rack, which was the only space for leaving a case; there was no hot water; the room was cold; the location was quite noisy with people going past; there was no view from the window and the whole place needed a good spruce up as it was all very tired and dated.

It certainly seemed like we got the worst room because we had a voucher.

Having said all that: the service was really good, the breakfast was lovely, and the beauty treatments were good too.

I think this could be a lovely hotel but it needs an overall.

Room Tip: Refuse no 300!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburgh
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2013

stayed early march with a groupon voucher.the value was incredible.we had a nights b and b with dinner as part of the deal and a spa treatment each.we had dinner in the hotel restuarant which was excellent and my wifes facial and my massage were great. the room was quite nice and i do agree with the comments about the staff.everybody was really helpful and friendly and certainly enhanced our stay.would i reccommned this hotel.yes

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falkirk
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

hotel average, staff very helpful,food good but oh that room 303.It was big,clean adeqate,but the floorboards creaked so loud at EVERY step. Never known anything like it.If my husband and I were walking at the same time it was unbelievable.Not a floorboard that didn't creak.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Kilbride, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Received this as a "buy-a-gift" present at Xmas. 2 nights short break with over 90 hotels in UK to choose from. Selected this hotel so we could use it as a base for sightseeing some areas of Fife. Hotel is without doubt very clean, well organised, fantastic value for money with the pool & spa facilities second to none. Staff all very well turned out in their uniforms and well versed on the running s of the hotel as well as its sister hotel (Green hotel) across the road. 5 bars and 4 restaurants between the two hotels leave you spoilt for choice. Also boasting two golf courses, 4 lane curling arena, putting green, bar pool table, beauty salon, and swim pool facilities there is undoubtedly plenty to keep you amused if you did not wish to stray too far. Village itself a little quiet but I was told it was more vibrant in the summer months. Intend to return to this hotel again the near future as we found the whole experience very relaxing and most definitely enjoyable! Pets (dogs) also accommodated too which for pet owners is a great incentive. Would definitely recommend this hotel to any age group!

Room Tip: Room 301 very large and spacious.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

12 of us stayed here this weekend on a groupin deal. Fantastic value for money. Most if us had refurbished rooms which were perfect - a few who didn't were still happy with their rooms - very clean and had all that was needed. The staff couldn't have been anymore helpful - down to giving us our own wee room for dinner and allowing us to play our music - Ally and a lady whose name we didn't catch looked after us for what turned out to be an extremely delicious dinner - and poor Laura in the Rushes bar put up with us all til almost 2am - and the smile never left her face tho she must have been exhausted! We used the pool, jacuzzi etc after our lovely breakfast and thoroughly enjoyed that too. Would definitely return (if they'll gave us! All in all fantastic :)

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

We have just returned from an overnight stay, with our 2 giant breed dogs, my sister and her friend, and must commend the staff at the hotel for their friendly , cando attitudes. We actually stayed on a Groupon deal, but will be happy to pay full price when we return. It was a rare treat for us to have our dogs with us whilst we had dinner and breakfast..albeit not in the restaurant!!..but in the foyer. We made use of the pool and the spa, which were lovely. We had dinner outside Montys and the food was very good. The grounds were great for the dogs, only down side it rained/snowed as we left, but hey who controls the weather!
Only one thing the view from the window was a skip as they are doing a big refurb...we had been offered an upstair room which had been refurbed, but down stairs suited us better.

Room Tip: upstairs rooms have been done.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Address: The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, LateRooms, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windlestrae Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.