We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windlestrae Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Windlestrae Hotel to your Saves list
Windlestrae Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
scotland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

On arrival we were greeted by 3 extremely friendly staff, chatty and helpful. Our double room was spacious, spotless, with lovely views over the garden even on a wet January day. Went to the bar for supper and again the young man on duty was very friendly and professional, felt sorry for him when he had to tell a family that persons under the age of 18 had to vacate the bar by 8pm, despite the father compaining bitterly the young bartender handled it particularly well being apologetic, polite and again very professional. He is a credit to the hotel. After a delicious supper served piping hot we retired to our room. Bed and pillows very comfortable. Breakfast the following morning was very tasty although I would have personally liked my poached egg a bit softer. Leisure facilities available although on this visit we didn't manage a visit. Although Kinross doesn't have a lot to offer this hotel would make an ideal base for touring Edinburgh, Perth, Stirling etc. Looking forward to visiting this hotel again.

Room Tip: We were in room 332 which was nice and quiet with a lovely view of the garden which would be gorgeou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

342 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    145
    68
    32
    19
See reviews for
50
159
7
24
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
edinburgh
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
120 helpful votes 120 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2013

Just returned after a Christmas and New Year fantastic stay. The food was first class everyday. Staff went out of their was to accommodate every request. Hats off to Grant who really led by example the Christmas day lunch, Anne McGeady for all her attention, Emma for her cheeky humour and moving our table, Colin for his kindness, Sandra for being her lovely self, Shona for her smile and lots lots more, whoops musnt forget Maria who makes the rooms glow with her relentless eye for detail and care, Willy for his New Year presence, wouldnt be the same without him. Vicki on reception - Everyone! Cannot thank you all enough. Will be back soon. Looking forward to next Christmas! Missing you all, already! Thank you.

Room Tip: All rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mauchline
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed at the Windlestrae on a 'twixmas deal' 3 nights dinner, B&B. The rooms were basic and in need of a little refurb but very clean and comfortable none the less. The deal we purchased also entitled us to entry to a local panto and afternoon tea one of the days. We were not disappointed at all. The food was fantastic with a lovely menu. Kids eat free. The pool and leisure facilities are also very good and needed on rainy days for little ones!
Unfortunately our son took ill and we had to call for an ambulance. The staff were amazing, very professional and genuinly cared about us as guests.
Overall we were extremly impressed and will be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a room that has already been refurbished. We were speaking to a couple in one of the rooms s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dundee, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We got a voucher from It is on and started the day with a wonderful massage and facial treatment, The lunch was in the cafe by the pool and the food and service was second to none. We then went to use the pool and sauna which was a lovely way to end the experience. The only downside is that the hotel needs a bit of TLC and could do with a lick of paint, but this would not put us off going again due to the great service.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh. Scotland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012

Got a great deal from 5pm. We arrived on 14 December, had our spa treatments and went to the abba tribute night. Had a great time. Made really good use of the spa facilities next day. Staff are really good and can't do enough for you. Rooms are ok, clean and ok for 1 or 2 nights. Breakfast is very good and a good choice from the buffet. Will definitely go back, feels like you are miles away from anywhere even though it is only 40 minutes from Edinburgh. Great place to relax and make sure you visit greens hotel too.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 21, 2012 via mobile

Don't take the rooms above the party location! Every weekend there are parties. Making agreements is not possible as the receptionists will agree with everything but when push comes to shuf it's to late and they pretend not to have agreed with everything. The spa is like the whole of the hotel ready for big refurbishment but that won't seem to be an option.
The food is okay and sometimes excellent depending who's the chef.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

Went here for a short stay. Hotel is very easy to find as soon as you come into Kinross. From the outside the hotel looks very nice. Ample car parking spaces at both front and back. On entry to hotel lobby you could smell damp. The decor is quite dated and in need of upgrading. Reception staff were very pleasant and helpful. We had quite a large bedroom which had a nice view overlooking the park. The bed was king size. There were two TV's in the bedroom (not sure why) as well as tea/coffee making facilities and a hair dryer. The bathroom was also of good size with bath and overhead shower and the bath was huge. However the bedroom was in desperate need of an overhaul as the decor was very dated and the curtains did not fit the curtain rail properly. Our toilet seat in the bathroom was also broken. We were told there would be a complimentary bottle of wine on arrival in our room but we had to ask for this which was later brought up. There is a decent sized restaurant in the hotel as well as a bar area with pool table. Bar meals are also served here. The restaurant had quite an extensive choice of menu. However we chose to eat at the place across the road Jock's Bar and the food was excellent ! Two spa treatments were included in our stay. I had a facial which was ok. My partner chose not to have his treatment but I was not offered to have this even though two were part of the deal. There is also a pool and jacuzzi within the hotel leisure club. Breakfast was served in the restaurant. This was buffet style. There was a good selection of cereals as well as cooked breakfast and also continental with pastries, yoghurts, cheese etc.

I understand that some of the rooms have recently been refurbished so I would suggest that if you plan to stay here you ask for one of those rooms if possible.

Kinross is a very quiet place and a good place to stay if you wish to relax.

Room Tip: Ask for a newly refurbished room. Rooms at the front were quiet as they overlooked the park.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Windlestrae Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Windlestrae Hotel

Address: The Muirs, Kinross KY13 8AS, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Perth and Kinross > Kinross
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Kinross
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Windlestrae Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 46
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Windlestrae Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Windlestrae Hotel Kinross, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windlestrae Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.