We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Cafe 98

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Cafe 98
98, High St, Kinross KY13 8AJ, Scotland
Improve this listing
Ranked #16 of 27 Restaurants in Kinross
Cuisines: Contemporary
Restaurant details
isle of man
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Oh dear”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2014

Very disappointed with the tatse of the coffee and the scones we had. Only plus - really good service.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    6
    1
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Hideous Managerial skills”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

I felt so sorry for the waitresses the entire time I was sitting there. The owner was shouting complete abuse to the waitresses, leaving myself and the other costumers feeling very awkward and embarrassed. The owner then preceded to come out from the kitchen to then slander the waitresses more to us the costumers. It was completely unacceptable that these young girls had to put up with that sort of behaviour from their boss. And it did impact on the service from the waitresses.

The food itself was unpalatable; far too over cooked, greasy and you could tell it was very low value food, and that the owner was clearly doubling the price just to get more money.

Overall, not somewhere I would ever step foot in again. It was squalid, the food disgusting, and the attitude of the owner was horrendous.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
64 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Great Value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

Defy you to get better value in the vicinity. Superb quality and first class service. We will be back. Would highly recommend a visit if you are in the Kinross area.

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Avoid, service station is better”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014 via mobile

Well, as we sat at the only available table, thinking this is a busy wee place must be good, we were wrong, after about a 10 min wait to be served, with two young girls standing doing...well nothing..we were eventually served, with a very un polite young lady who could not even say thank you after taking our order. Food and drinks arrived in decent time how ever coffee and Panini were not palatable, Panini was terrible filling cold and coffee just disgraceful watery and disgusting burnt milk...think some training in basic customer service it greatly needed and some basic coffee training, and i would suggest they invest in heating, and some decent sausages and some black pudding, since our country should be proud to service these products, they are not doing us proud..cheap low grade food, a greasy joes would have been better, the atmosphere was also terrible, go to costa wt service station, much better.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“A great place to grab breakfast or lunch.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013 via mobile

Nice people, good clean cafe and nice atmosphere. If you're looking for something simple and tasty then its hard to beat.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cafe 98 also viewed

Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Milnathort, Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to Cafe 98? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cafe 98, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.