We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok, but far from the best” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Raj Mahal Indian Restaurant

The Raj Mahal Indian Restaurant
132 High Street, Kinross KY13 8DB, Scotland
01577 864884
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 27 Restaurants in Kinross
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Ok, but far from the best”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

The buffet option suited our need for a quick meal and was very good value for money. the starters were nice and plenty of choice, however themains were all very bland and quite limited in choice. I like reasonably hot spicy curry and this didn't quite deliver. This was my first time in here and it maybe that if we didn't have the buffet, we could have had something with a bit more kick, so it may just be because we chose the buffet option due to lack of time.

toilets were clean and fresh and service was as it should be.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    24
    8
    9
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fab Indian resturant”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Good food, good service, what else do you need, good atmophere well it has that too. well worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotlandwell
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Buffet Night at The Raj Mahal”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

I have already done a review of this restuarant but was keen to try out their buffet nights which is on a Monday and Tuesday of each week. Again it was quite empty (though there was snow about so that would explain the few clientele when we got there) and as before the standard of the Raj was very good in terms of the fabric of the interior. We were disappointed, however, when we got to the buffet there were the customary starters which were measured out against the number of people eating and so we had ONE popodum each and nearly the same for the samosas, onion bajhi (very small) and in fact that was really all there was for starters. Come the main meals there were 1 chicken dish, 1 meat dish and 1 vegetarian. This along with perfumed rice was the meal. Not even a small ice cream for dessert. Again the staff were more inclined to lean on the bar and the service not welcoming. Please make an effort as I think the main menu is good and very tasty but at too high a price for Kinross. We did like the Cobra Beer !!!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Genuine Kashmiri”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2013

A good Indian restaurant serving north Indian meals. Good choice on the menu with attentive and friendly waiters and excellent Cobra beer. Immaculate toilets.

Visited December 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kinross, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Poor Food just above a Terrible Rating”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2012

Having lived in Kinross and used the Raj Mahal for years (lack of choice) I can comment on the steady decline in food quality and customer service.Number one its overpriced for a small town, I've found much cheaper and better quality in many of the bigger towns and cities. The sauces tend to be thick, very creamy and far removed from 'traditional' Indian cooking, adapting to the anglo taste perhaps. It's not without it's charms and on occasion the fish curries can be excellent. The resturant lacks charm behind the upgrade that happended several years ago.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Raj Mahal Indian Restaurant also viewed

Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
Kinross, Perth and Kinross
 

Been to The Raj Mahal Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Raj Mahal Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.