We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Trying hard” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Queens Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Queens Hotel to your Saves list
Queens Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   24 Commercial St, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Trying hard”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2011

Food was good hotel staff need sorted out felt like they did not care but all in all good

  • Stayed May 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    22
    34
    36
    14
    16
See reviews for
7
27
11
55
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Stourbridge
Level Contributor
51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2011

Better than its sister hotel The Grand because it is more up to date like the Grand really nice staff,clean and comfortable and food to die for

  • Stayed November 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2011

The Queens hotel in Lerwick is part of the KGQ group and is the better of the two hotels in the group (the other hotel being the 'Grand'). Having stayed at both hotels the Queens is certainly the better of the two. This hotel even provides bedrooms for smokers.
The menu was favourable and the food very acceptable although the waiting staff could do with being smartened up and told not to call their clients 'mate' when taking their order.
Rooms are OK with the usual extras. Broadband internet access is free.
The bar is not accessible directly from the hotel - you have to go outside and then back in next door to get a drink.
One major problem is parking - The nearest parking is a public car park 300 yards which can be a problem dragging your case uphill in the pouring rain.
Having used a number of hotels in Lerwick this is one I would return to.

Room Tip: If you smoke then just ask for a smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

We stayed for three nights. Our room was fine though a bit cramped but everything worked and the bathroom was clean. Our breakfasts were very good, we didn't eat in the restaurant but the meals provided in the small bar were excellent. In particular, the battered cod was good and one of us also enjoyed a tasty burger!

Staff were helpful and friendly. Reading previous reports, there was definitely NO musty damp smell when entering and following our stay, we would go there again and recommend friends.

We didn't take our car with us but as the hotel has no carpark and parking on the narrow surrounding roads is restricted - this might be a 'challenge' for guests with cars in high season with competition for spaces in the nearby public car parks.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2011

Well, we were nervous about staying here after reading the previous reviews. Maybe we're not fussy types but although there's room for improvement we really enjoyed our stay.

The only quibbles were that the bathroom window could have done with a blind. The occupants in the yatchs in the marina would've been able to see us at night! We left the light off during any night time ablutions.

Also, the route to our ground floor room took us past some public loos the doors of which were rarely closed. Irritating but not disasterous.

The breakfasts were delicious and beautifully presented. They looked like starters in an expensive restaurant.

The beds were also wonderfully cosy with cool
crisp cotton sheets and heavy, old fashioned blankets. Reminded me of my childhood before the days of the duvet arrived.

I mentioned all of the above in the feed-back form that's left in the room.

If you're the fussy precious type then it might not be for you but if you love hotels with character, personality and a strong sense of location then you should enjoy your stay. As did we.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Yorkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2011

We were staying in the Queens Hotel as a large block booking through our company & this seemed to allow the hotel staff to treat us like cattle.

On entering the hotel you are hit by a musty smell of damp, this isn't surprising as the hotel is very old & built into the sea wall. We where in a ground floor room, which was very clean & warm, but again, very musty smelling.

When dining, the staff appeared to have had no formal training in hospitality, being very rude, unhelpful & aggressive towards our group’s requests. We had to walk next door, through the street, to the bar as the staff would not get drinks for us and then the barman told us we couldn’t take our drinks back to the restaurant! The food was also of a very poor quality.

When we asked to speak to the manager we were told there wasn’t a manager. When we asked to speak to whoever was in charge we were told “No one is in charge”! This wasn’t a surprise as there appeared to be a lot of tension between staff & they appeared to have no direction.

This is the most unprofessional, badly run I have ever had the misfortune to stay in.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2011

The restaurant service was dour, incompetent, and completely disinterested.
The food was ok, but for the price I would have expected better service.
Examples - no time to select from the menu, & hassled to do so ; chose & was immediately told that my choice wasn't available ( there were only 4 diners); no finger bowl with mussels; no water jug when requested; no atmosphere; main course came before starters were cleared; dishes served the wrong way round; no bowl for mussel shells; no cutlery.
In all, for a £35 meal, I would expect better- much better.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lerwick
0.1 mi away
Kveldsro House
Kveldsro House
#1 of 6 in Lerwick
4.0 of 5 stars 89 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Lerwick Hotel
The Lerwick Hotel
#2 of 6 in Lerwick
3.5 of 5 stars 125 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Shetland Hotel
The Shetland Hotel
#3 of 6 in Lerwick
3.0 of 5 stars 97 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Busta House Hotel
Busta House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Busta
4.5 of 5 stars 224 reviews
0.0 mi away
Herrislea House Hotel
Herrislea House Hotel
#1 of 1 in Tingwall
3.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
Knysna House
#6 of 7 in Lerwick
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Queens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Queens Hotel

Address: 24 Commercial St, Lerwick ZE1 0AB, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Shetland Islands > Mainland > Lerwick
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Lerwick
Hotel Class:3 star — Queens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Also Known As:
Queens Hotel Lerwick, Shetland Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queens Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.