We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overpriced and lacking in quality” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant

Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant
Hay's Dock, Lerwick ZE1 0WP, Scotland
01595 741569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 27 Restaurants in Lerwick
Cuisines: Healthy, Bistro, Family Fare
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Description: Located in the Shetland Museum and Archives, Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant offers stunning views over Lerwick harbour and the best local produce, simply cooked and beautifully presented.
Edinburgh
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Overpriced and lacking in quality”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

I popped in here for a quick lunch and was very disappointed. When paying £4.75 for a sandwich you would expect something fairly substantial and tasty, yet it was 2 slices of supermarket bread, one slice of thin ham, and a few bits of crisp and coleslaw. Tasteless and dry. For lunch I would recommend the cafe in the Mareel arts centre that is 2 minutes away.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

179 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    22
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
267 reviews 267 reviews
177 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 77 cities Reviews in 77 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
“Quite expensive for what it is”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

While the food was OK, I felt it was expensive for a lunchtime visit. A reasonable selection on the menu, but nothing outstanding. It's such a pity that getting local seafood eg Shetland rope-grown mussels is such a problem in the islands.

  • Visited June 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shetland Isles
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Festive lunch at Hay's Dock”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

We had a lovely lunch at Hay's Dock yesterday. The food was excellent..really well cooked 'special' Christmas dinner served by the wonderfully personable Lorna, who made us really welcome. One of our family was just home from South off the plane quite late and they were serving lunch until 3.30 which was really useful..
There was nice Christmas tree up, and with its fab new blinds the place was cosy and homely as well as beautifuly designed. We noticed that each if the lights is knitted 'Shetland lace' and each table has an inset with Shetland craftwork.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aberdeenshire
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Lovely setting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

We had evening meal at restaurant, fire alarm went off as we started our main course, they did warm some of the dishes and gave us a free drink.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monifieth, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

In the wonderful Lerwick museum, be sure not to miss a visit to the Hay's Dock!

nice menu, good food, lovely staff, super puddings, excellent coffee, reasonably priced, and a lovely outlook over the harbour.

What's not to like?

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant also viewed

Lerwick, Mainland
 
Lerwick, Mainland
 

Been to Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hay's Dock Cafe Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.