We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and friendly place!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynnfield Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lynnfield Hotel
Save
You added Lynnfield Hotel to your Saves list
Holm Road, St Ola | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1SX, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kirkwall
Frankfurt am Main, Germany
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Lovely and friendly place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2010

We have stayed for two nights and had several meals, which were excellent. The owners and the staff were very friendly and helpful. It shows that they pay a lot of attention to every detail. Since we are keen on single malt, this was a great place to explore rare malts and Mr MalcolmStout knows a great deal about them. We wish we could stay longer and recommend this hotel strongly to everyone!

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    118
    31
    10
    7
    3
See reviews for
19
79
8
29
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Ludlow
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2010

I stayed at the Lynnfield with other people from Orkney Archaeology Tours. I had had lunch there during a previous visit but not stayed there before. The bedrooms were very comfortable and well appointed with lashings of hot water and a large heated towel rail that doubled up as a clothes drier (yes, we did have a little rain, but the weather was quite good). The dining room and lounge areas were also very comfortable and the food excellent and varied. My only disappointment was not staying long enough to be able to sample all the malt whiskies available - the hotel is only yards from the excellent Highland Park distillery. I certainly would hope to come back to the Lynnfield one day.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2010

Located a little way out of Kirkwall centre (next to the distillary) this is a quirky hotel with large, comfortable, quiet rooms & good food. Would be quite a long walk into the shops & restaurants in Kirkwall centre but only a 2 mins drive. We stayed here for 3 nights & wish it could have been for more but they didn't have vacancies for the other nights we needed. As everywhere in Orkney the staff were helpful and friendly. We ate in the restaurant a couple of nights (good views over Kirkwall & beyond) and the menu was varied with a good selection of local produce. They also had a good wine list & large choice of whiskies.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2010

We have stayed at The Lynnfield twice - once in 2008 and again this summer (2010), both times while taking an archaeological tour with Orkney Archeological Tours (which I also recommend very highly - check out their website). The hotel is not large, which is a strong positive in my books. It is very comfortable - the rooms are a good size, bathrooms beautifully renovated to meet even the exacting standards of my husband, who isn't a big fan of non-North American bathrooms. This one's an exception - modern fixtures, great shower, heated towel rack - luxury. The linens (something I always focus on) are lovely and bed comfortable. TV in the rooms and coffee/tea/shortbread in your room to let you refresh yourself after a long day exploring standing stones, etc. Food is exceptional. Breakfast is a real treat - everything from "full Scottish breakfast" to oatmeal (with or without whiskey). Dinners also great - lots of choice on the menu, which changes periodically. At our table of 7, there were never any complaints and lots of compliments. Malcolm (proprietor) has a really wonderful collection of single malts if you are that way inclined and good selection of wines, etc as well. Cozy bar and large, comfortable lounge. Waitresses wonderful and friendly, as are all of the staff. Well located a brisk walk to the centre of Kirkwall and right beside Highland Park Distillery. I love The Lynnfield and would stay there anytime and recommend it to all. Coming home every day after a long day of exploring felt like coming home. What more can you ask?

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

Our accommodation was first class - suite with (sometimes temperamental) jacuzzi and walk-in shower, and TVs in bedroom & a massive one in lounge. Minus point was broken lounge light.

Dinner was excellent too and well presented: monkfish with bubble & squeak cakes and organic Westray salmon as mains. We were told the chefs are ladies. Compliments to them!

The hotel is well located on a hill above Kirkwall but despite the panoramic views the sprinkling of other guests (and this was peak season!) looked miserable. Maybe this rubbed off on the owner (or was caused by him?) who looked as if he was merely going through the motions of customer service. We found him pompous and extremely charm - challenged.

And we got a lukewarm reception when going down to breakfast just after 9 am. The freshly cooked breakfast food, with orange juice served in nice earthenware mugs, almost made up for it.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2010

I did not stay the night but had lunch with extended family. We visited on a days call from our cruise ship Oriana. Sounds boring but we all chose home made soup of the day followed by battered Haddock and chips ! Well, the Orkneys are surrounded by great fishing. The soup was 'historic' and they even make their own bread. The fish was superb with the lightest batter I have ever tasted and this was accompanied by a lovely fresh salad (my choice) and the largest bowl of crispy chips we have ever seen. Their menu was lovely and I would not hesitate to go back again. Terrific value for money and fresh beautifully cooked food. Knockout. Negatives ? The server although very pleasant, was 'scruffy' in appearance from hair to clothes. Dont miss their display of Orkney Chairs.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucestershire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2010

Was booked into the Lynnfield as part of an organised tour of Orkney; therefore can't comment on value as it was part of our holiday package.

The Lynnfield has great roans with modern Vileroy and Boch bathroom fittings that are clean and well looked after.

Malcolm runs an organised operation with excellent staff. His tours of the dining room to ensure all is going to plan is good to see.

Food is excellent with such delights as Westray Salmon, scallops, sirloin steaks and North Ronaldsay lamb. Desserts are equally delightful with cranachan ice-cream and scottish raspberries or clootie dumplings.

All in all, an excellent hotel offering and great base for touring Orkney.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Lynnfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lynnfield Hotel

Address: Holm Road, St Ola | Orkney, Kirkwall KW15 1SX, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 8 Hotels in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Lynnfield Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynnfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.