We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best B and B in Kirkwall” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Avalon House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Avalon House
Save
You added Avalon House to your Saves list
Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 24 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Wollongong
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Best B and B in Kirkwall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

We arrived in Kirkwall on a rainy evening after a bumpy flight from Stornoway, via Inverness, and were so grateful for the warm friendly greeting from Jane and Alasdair. After we dried off, Alasdair drove us back to town with suggestions for places for a meal. Our room was spacious, spotless, bright and airy and very well-appointed. The bathroom was large with a great shower!The Avalon is a purpose built, modern B and B, right on the bay and only a 2 minute drive or a pleasant,flat 15 minute walk into town.
Jane's breakfast was wonderful - kippers, local sausage, free range eggs, nothing was too much trouble. Helpful advice and information leaflets about things to see and do in Orkney are cheerfully given. I would heartily recommend the Avalon as one of the best B and Bs in UK!

Room Tip: All rooms are large, bright and airy
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    10
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
69
8
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Little Silver, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

Great place to stay in Orkney. Room was very nice - large, clean, quiet and well equipped. Great breakfast. The owners were extremely friendly and helpful. Their advice was key to our excellent visit to Orkney.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

We chose to stay here for several days while exploring Orkney - it is a perfect location if you have a car. Just a bit out of Kirkwall, it is peaceful, but close enough to go back into town for supper. The room was clean and large and bright. Jane and Alistair couldn't have been more accommodating, from wonderful breakfasts to driving us to our car rental and giving us a takeaway bag on our last morning when we had to leave early. Jane was even so kind as to wash my muddy jeans! Just a wonderful b&b!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Excellent B & B with the very best top quality all round. Great attention to detail. Modern and exceptionally clean with excellent facilities.Rooms and en suites are a good size. Power shower was excellent! Food very good. Very friendly and helpful. I do not hesitate recommending this B&B! The very best I have ever stayed in and I have visited lots!
About a mile out of Kirkwall so need a car.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Mexico
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 56 cities Reviews in 56 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

This purpose-built B&B lacked historic charm, but it made it up for it in comfort, location and helpful hosts. Breakfasts were tasty and bountiful, the rooms were spacious and comfortable. Avalon is within a short drive from Kirkwall, and nothing on the island is more than 30 minutes away by car. The hosts also prepare a daily printout with weather forecasts and tide times for Birsay. Great stay!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
51 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Huge rooms (we've even got a cloakroom!), friendly hosts, nice breakfast. Sea view from the window. The only flaw is it's some 15-20 minutes walk from the Kirkwall town center. But I must say B&Bs in Orkneys are scarce anyway! So you either stay in central, but overpriced Kirkwall hotel or walk a distance to this otherwise comfortable place (walk is by the seaside and quite nice, though windy as Orkneys overall).

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon, Canada
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

Great place to stay. The rooms are huge and immaculate. The water pressure in the shower was amazing, always a great find when travelling. The only downside is that it is a good walk from the actual town of Kirkwall but that can be an upside too.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Avalon House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Avalon House

Address: Carness Road, Kirkwall KW15 1UE, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Avalon House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Avalon House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.