We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was superb” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lynnfield Hotel

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Lynnfield Hotel
Holm Road | St Ola, Kirkwall, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 25 restaurants in Kirkwall
Cuisines: Scottish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Scotland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Food was superb”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013

Taste, presentation, service - all superb! Cannot recommend eating here highly enough. Now becoming a regular visitor and every time not disappointed

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    30
    8
    5
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, United Kingdom
1 review
“Just what we were looking for......nothing predictable!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

This was the ideal place for someone who had very little general knowledge of dining out in Kirkwall. With it's laid made ambient and traditional artifact charms, this was the place to let time go by and enjoy the evening in good company. The staff were well attentive and provided us all with a traditional Scottish welcome and service. The dining experience was quality and I recommend this place for individuals who are in no such a great hurry but delight in an opportunity to try something different without any set expectations. I look forward to coming back to this place to try something new.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Top Contributor
78 reviews 78 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
“Lunch was average”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2013

While home for a long weekend in September we decided to pop up to the Lynnfield for lunch on Friday. We'd heard that the food was excellent.

First off the welcome was very poor! There were three of us and we approached the girl at the bar and asked if we could have some lunch. I'd noticed there was only one table of four seated in the dining area. The girl said she would have to check if they would take us!!
What?? Where is the warm welcome that Orkney is famous for? It must be lovely to have so much money that you can afford to turn away willing custom!

Anyway they could fit us in and sat us down in the bar to look at the menu. There was no chat or pleasantries from our server. We ordered and had a drink and after what seemed an age we were ushered to out table. This made us the second table in the dining room and we were concerned when we spotted the first table were getting their food as we sat down.

Our foot arrived soon afterwards. I had the chicken dinner which was rather average. There was loads of meat and it was from a roast bird as there was an assortment of pieces but was rather tasteless as was the gravy. The tatties were fine and there was some red cabbage (which was the only colour on the plate)
My companions had the burger which was 'fine' and the fish which was reported as ' very thick batter' and we all had a taste but were not convinced that it was actually haddock.

All in all we were disappointed with the welcome and the quality of the food on a Friday lunchtime.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tyne & Wear
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel and Great Food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

Friendly, welcoming and professional. Our room was really comfortable and immaculate with a fantastic bathroom with a Jacuzzi. The food was incredible - fresh, an imaginative menu and with excellent service. Would highly recommend the trio of lamb and black pudding with scallops. Well done and thank you.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
80 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
86 helpful votes 86 helpful votes
“Excellent total experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013

My cousin and I meet once a year for lunch and this was surely the very best that Orkney has to offer. There was a warm welcome, excellent service, superb food - seafood starter, scallops for main with 'to die for' chips - excellent local ice cream and a yarn with the owner to round off - then a dash to the ferry over to Hoy for another excellent meal (see Stromabank).

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lynnfield Hotel also viewed

 

Been to Lynnfield Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lynnfield Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.