We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Karrawa Guest House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Karrawa Guest House to your Saves list
Karrawa Guest House
3.0 of 5 Guest house   |   Inganess Road, Kirkwall KW15 1SP, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 24 Kirkwall B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Epping, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2013

My partner and I stayed at Karrawa for a week. The room was spotless and the beds very confortable. Albert and Aileen provided glutten free cereal for my partner and soya milk for myself which was very good of them. The breakfast was really nice and varied, you can choose from a menu the night before.
The B&B is 10-15 minutes walk from the town centre so totally walkable.
Both Albert and Aileen were very attentive and helpful and made us feel at home. I would definitely go back when we return to beautiful Orkney.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for you're lovely review :) It was really nice to meet you both and have you stay at Karrawa. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    8
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
17
36
6
7
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

The choice of Karrawa for our stay was a bit random but very fortunate! We only stayed for a night, arrived very late on the 11pm ferry and still got a warm and friendly welcome.
The large family room was very tidy and clean, so was the also very spacious bathroom. The breakfast was amazing, with a wide range of choices we picked the night before, so it would be all ready and set by the time we got to our table in the morning.
I've been to 5 stars hotel in my life, but the whole concept of Karrawa would make it the best stay I've ever had.
Beth

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you for your brilliant review and lovely comments! We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here at Karrawa. We are continually trying to update our facilities to ensure guests have a comfortable, relaxing stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

A warm welcome was immediately given by Aileen when we arrived. Both she and Albert were at pains to make our stay as comfortable and enjoyable as possible.

Albert cooked a smashing Scottish breakfast each morning.

Our room was a good size with large en suite.

We would not hesitate to return!

Mike and Gill

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
We are glad you had a comfortable stay here at Karrawa Guest House and thank you for your nice comments :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wellington, New Zealand
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed three nights at Karrawa on the recommendation of our travel agent. Albert and Aileen, the hosts, were very friendly and helpful. We had a large double room with heaps of space. Karrawa is modern, very comfortable, and the amenities are excellent. Breakfast options were wide and personally attended to by the hosts. The WiFi was easy to access, and there was plenty of information available on visit options around the Orkney Isles. Albert and Aileen also offered good tips, and information is posted daily in the breakfast room on weather conditions and the tides. Strongly recommend Karrawa as the go to B&B in Kirkwall.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, June 18, 2013
Thank you so much for such a great review! It was lovely meeting you both and we hope you enjoyed the rest of your tour around the UK as much as the Orkney Islands.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

We were in Kirkwall to meet family of our future daughter in law and so glad we picked
the Karrawa. We had the family room and a double room and both were lovely and spacious and very clean. It was in walking distance of the town but not to central so it was quiet.
Breakfast was lovely a varied choice and choosing it the evening before ment it was
all ready for you when you came down in the morning we liked this idea.
We wanted to book here for when we returned for wedding sadly it is booked up but
will definately book again as sure now we have family in Kirkwall we will be visting often.
Brian, Paula & Matthew Adam.

Room Tip: The family room is big and bathroom is huge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you so much for you're lovely review! We are glad you had a nice stay and look forward to seeing you all again in the future! Enjoy your Son's wedding in August, hopefully it will be nice and sunny :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St Helens, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

We took a 5 day stay opportunity to visit relatives after a long absence. Karrawa was brilliant base for us, close to Kirkwall centre, and within easy reach of restaurants and shops. The house was of an exceptionally high standard in terms of decoration and finish, as well as comfort and cleanliness. Breakfast was a delight each morning. Our hosts were friendly and obliging from the moment we set foot in the door. The rates were very reasonable, and on our return, if that is to happen, Karrawa will be our first port of call.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for that fantastic review! It was lovely meeting you all and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay at Karrawa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Albert and Aileen gave us a friendly welcome. The room was comfortable if a bit snug. Quiet location. Good breakfasts. Handy for the airport. Within easy walking distance of the town. Wi-Fi. provided. What more do you want?

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Karrawa Guest H... A, Owner at Karrawa Guest House, responded to this review, May 27, 2013
Thank you for your kind review. It really means a lot that you were happy with your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Karrawa Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Karrawa Guest House

Address: Inganess Road, Kirkwall KW15 1SP, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Karrawa Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Karrawa Guest House is set in the centre of Kirkwall and within 2.5 miles of the airport and ferry terminal. This family run property offers comfortable, modern en-suite rooms with free Wi-Fi. Kirkwall town centre is less than a mile away with an easy 15minute walk into town or 2 minutes by car. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your Karrawa Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Karrawa Guest House Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Karrawa Guest House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.