We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, if unremarkable” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Orkney Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Orkney Hotel
Save
You added The Orkney Hotel to your Saves list
40 Victoria Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kirkwall
Dundee, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
101 helpful votes 101 helpful votes
“Comfortable, if unremarkable”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

Used this hotel as our base for exploring Orkney. Comfortable hotel in a good central location, close to St Magnus Cathedral and shopping. Useful car Park to the rear, down a fairly steep ramp. Staff were friendly. Our room was quiet, at the end of a corridor and slept well in a comfortable bed. Good breakfast in the morning with choice of cereals, fruit juices and an optional hot breakfast.
For a two or three night stay it is probably fine, but for our week stay a few extra touches would have been good. I would have expected Orkney soaps by way of toilettries, Orkney biscuits with the tea/coffee making facilities and certainly draught Orkney Brewery beer in the bar. Wrong on all counts - sachets in the bathroom, not even a Walkers shortbread finger in sight, and Belhaven in the bar. There seemed to be little interest in local products or local flavour, in sharp contrast to the hotel we stayed in last year in Arran. We seemed to be missing a second bedside table and worryingly a window catch did not appear to work (reported at Checkout). There had been a major refurbishment in the upstairs public areas, with a comfortable lounge and a spacious dining room, but other areas such as the downstairs loos were badly in need of similar treatment. There was a large garden at the back but totally devoid of any garden furniture, so it was not particularly usable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    58
    57
    28
    17
    10
See reviews for
14
63
25
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Nässjö
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Fantastic Staff! Extremely friendly and serviceminded.
Perfect location for just strolling around Kirkwall or taking a walk to the nearby distillery.
Very nice breakfast and a cosy, feel-at-home loungebar.
// Fam Hanell, Nässjö, Sweden

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2014

Really nice hotel in centre of Kirkwall with very helpful & pleasant staff. The restaurant at the rear served good food,well presented & tasty,linen table clothes & napkins which is a big plus for me. I was only going to stay two nights but was so comfortable that I requested two more whereupon I was upgraded at no extra cost. Both rooms were clean & warm & there was no damp smell that persists in some hotel bathrooms. I would definately stay again.

Room Tip: N/A I had two different rooms both were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

Booked this hotel due to great location in town but away from loud harbor. Friendly staff, arrived late and male receptionist very helpful, offered to carry bag, point me to the whiskey bar (hey, I'm in Scotland!)
Double bed was comfortable - I suspect a king in fact- room had shower, big chairs, flatscreen on wall - with no dangling wires - a plus! Was neat and clean.
We really enjoyed our meals at the Orkney hotel. Dinner with great local choices, nice size wine list which we definitely took advantage of, even had a few dessert wines and local Orkney port. Breakfast menu also generous, food prompt and hot served in restaurant with great views onto garden.
Overall, I recommend highly and will be back.

Room Tip: Room 204 - paid for double but got king bed, lots of windows
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014 via mobile

Hotel was clean although air smelt a bit stale on route to bedrooms on second floor. Good location close to St Magnus Cathedral. Staff polite but young and on occasions lacked experience when questioned about menu. After two nights into a four nights stay opted to eat out for variety as menu did not change on daily basis

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rogart, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

The website for this hotel promises rather more than reality, but none the less it's a decent enough hotel and staff are friendly and helpful. Had dinner on one night which was okay if a little basic. Breakfast was very good though.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

Went here recently for a meal with friends and I have to say I won't be going back any time soon. Food was below par and not what one of our group ordered. Service was good but atmosphere was very stale.

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Orkney Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Orkney Hotel

Address: 40 Victoria Street, Kirkwall KW15 1DN, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 8 Hotels in Kirkwall
Number of rooms: 30
Also Known As:
Orkney Hotel Kirkwall
The Orkney Hotel Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Orkney Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.