We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Foveran

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kirkwall
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Foveran
Save
You added The Foveran to your Saves list
Foveran | St.Ola, Kirkwall KW15 1SF, Scotland (Formerly Foveran Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kirkwall
Melbourne
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“The best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2007

Don't be put of by knowing that this hotel has been 'modernised'. It has to be the best place to stay on the Orkneys, with spectacular views over Scapa Flow, and sorrounded by green pastures and vivid farmland. Paul and his team provide a really family style atmosphere, and superb cooking makes every meal a delightful experience. The rooms are fitted with everything needed, and it all works! Top marks!

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    11
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
30
5
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow, Scotland
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
112 helpful votes 112 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2007

Returned to the Foveran after two years. If anything, it was even better than before. We had room 1 which has a bath and shower (some rooms have shower only) and a wonderful view over Scapa Flow. The breakfasts are huge and set you up for the day. Dinner is fantastic with lots of locals coming in to eat - a very good sign. Lovely to see the use of local produce, fish and cheeses. Delicious home baked breads. Locally produced whiskies available too. The Foveran's owners do their very best to fly the Orkney flag. Will return anytime.

  • Liked — Warm, inviting and homely
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2007
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2006

My wife and I spent two nights at this hotel. I've always favoured the smaller hotels and this one did not disappoint. The hotel is in a very quiet, countryside location, yet is only 5 minutes or so from the centre of Kirkwall. We found all the staff very friendly and helpful and our room was clean, spacious and comfortable. We booked our stay on a dinner, bed & breakfast basis and were very glad we did. The dinners were outstanding - obviously the locals know this as the restaurant was fully booked both nights (a Monday and Tuesday). The breakfasts were on par with the dinners and were all freshly cooked.

Nothing else to say really! This is a fantastic, well-run hotel and I thoroughly recommend staying here.

  • Liked — The staff and the food
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Tips/Secrets — Try to stay for dinner as well
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Georgia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2006

We stayed at the Foveran for four nights in late July. Given the good reports, maybe it was not surprising that we could not get a double room and had to settle for a twin. The room was spotlesssly clean, but rather small. The bathroom was nice and a decent size. The restaurant was good, service was excellent, but we got the impression that they were having a little trouble living up to their recent reputation. Having said that, on one evening we got our ferry times wrong and were late - they were very understanding and made sure we got our dinner! This is a small hotel, a little way out of town (own transport essential), that makes a very good base for all the amazing sites on mainland Orkney and Hoy. It is not a five star hotel, and maybe a little expensive, but we enjoyed our stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, UK
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2006

Spot on. Fresh cooked kippers for breakfast, looking out at the gales and rain lashing the windows. Then the next day watching the calm and sunshine and the beautiful light that you get up there in winter.

We told our friend in Orkney where we were going to stay and she said "oooh you're staying at the Foveran" like we were going somewhere really posh. It's not really posh, but that's good. Comfortable warm place, recently refurbished, nice decor, fantastic food, like a four star hotel in a cottage but without the impersonal feel of a four star hotel. Really small (about 10 rooms?) and friendly. We were the last people staying there before New Year, and the only ones in the hotel on the last morning. But still the chef was up cooking our kippers and really cheerful about it. Recommended.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
225 helpful votes 225 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2005

We arrived late (23:45) off the ferry from Shetland.
(nb the Orphir road to the hotel from Kirkwall is not well signposted and there aren't many people around to ask at this time of night)

We received a warm welcome and were offered sandwiches & soup, which we declined having eaten on the ferry.
Our room was fairly small but well furnished - no bath but an effective power shower, comfortable bed, one easy chair, one upright chair at desk/dressing table.
The hotel has a panoramic view over Scapa Flow and you can see the buoy marking the position of the sunken HMS Royal Oak a few hundred metres offshore.
Breakfasts were excellent - standard (but carefully cooked) grill, kippers or delicious poached smoked haddock with poached eggs (my personal favourite) together with a wide selection of cereals, fruit and jams.
We had dinner at the Foveran one night which was excellent - scallops, Orkney lamb, Orkney fudge cake etc, good selection of wine. I was particularly impressed with the attentive service from the waitress(es) - knowledgable about the the menu, served from the left poured from the right, smiley & looking as if they enjoyed working there.
We also ate at the highly rated (Rick Stein, Will Self) Creel resataurant at St. Margaret's Hope which, in my view, did not reach the standard of the Foveran food (accompaniments overpowered the delicate flavours of the fish) and the service did not even come close.
We also got good food at the Hamnavoe restaurant at Stromness and at the Indian Garden in Kirkwall.
We wished we'd eaten at the Foveran on the other nights when we got pretty poor fare elsewhere in Orkney.

The Foveran is obviously a successful Hotel/ Restaurant and probably can't be betterd on Orkney. If you can, eat there and stay there for the smoked haddock breakfast.
Judging by its full dining room and reputation in the area you will need to book well in advance to eat and you may have to stay to guarantee a table.

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Foveran? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Foveran

Address: Foveran | St.Ola, Kirkwall KW15 1SF, Scotland (Formerly Foveran Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Orkney Islands > Mainland > Kirkwall
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Kirkwall
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Foveran is a family run Restaurant With Rooms offering a warm Orcadian welcome and superb local produce, prepared & presented by owner/chef Paul Doull & team. Set in open countryside a few miles from Kirkwall, an ideal base for exploring the islands. Stunning views of historic Scapa Flow from our restaurant. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Foveran Hotel Kirkwall
The Foveran Kirkwall, Orkney Islands

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foveran, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.