We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Orkney 6 day Archaeology Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Orkney Archaeology Tours - Private tours

Orkney Archaeology Tours - Private tours
Kirkwall, Scotland
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 13 Activities in Kirkwall
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Orkney Archaeology Tours offer all-inclusive small group holidays, private tours and day tours led by professional archaeologists who are also accredited green badge Orkney Tourist Guides.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access
Halesworth
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Orkney 6 day Archaeology Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Quite excellent. I agree with all the reviews. Cas has heaps of information , not only about her professional subject, but about the island , having lived there for years. Delivered with humour...lovely !! It was nicely mixed with somewhat more contemporary history.
We were a very happy group
Brenda Motley

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    4
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Okehampton, United Kingdom
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Orkney Archeology Tour May 2013”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013

Orkney Archeological Tour. We went on a 6 day tour of a wide variety of sites - all brilliantly guided by Cas Mamwell. We were all so well looked after and given an excellent time . So well organised, friendly, knowlegable and just the right number of people. A holiday I shall always remember !

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent in all respects”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

The Orkney Adventure Tour was very well organised with all meals and entry costs on the itinerary included. Accommodation, breakfast and dinner was provided by the Ayre hotel, Kirkwall to a high standard. A very good lunch was provided each day by various pubs around Orkney depending on where we were touring at the time.

Caz took us to interesting historical sites on Mainland, Hoy, Rousay and South Ronaldsay and provided informative commentary, an insight into some of the challenges facing archaeologists in Orkney and a glimpse of various aspects of island life.

The tour covered a time frame from the neolithic period to WW2, visiting well known sites such as Skara Brae and Maeshowe, as well as places with a more recent historical significance such as the still operational Barony Mill, the Hoy Martello Tower and the Italian Chapel.

Although we covered a lot of locations, the pace was very relaxed.

In summary, we had a very enjoyable week.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding in all respects!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

We were part of a six-day Archaeology Tour led by Caz Mamwell in May 2013. Caz' organization, knowledge, presentation and personal regard were outstanding. I don't see how the tour could have been better.

We visited sites that represent thousands of years of history, from the Neolithic to World War II. Each day on the tour was organized geographically, allowing visits to sites representing different historical periods in a given area - very good for context and historical continuity.

For forty years, I had dreamed of visiting the "Heart of Neolithic Orkney", and the actual experience exceeded my expectations. There is no substitute for really being there!

Most days were spent on the island known as Mainland, but we also visited Hoy and Rousay by ferry, most enjoyable and very beautiful. We also drove to the island of South Ronaldsay by way of the Churchill Barriers.

Clearly, Caz does control the weather ;) but do take her clothing advice seriously. We saw all kinds of conditions other than snow. The wind is nearly constant. Overall, the weather was what we needed when we needed it. Experiencing the Orkney weather is part of getting to know the place, and I am glad that it was not sunny ALL of the time.

Caz was very attentive to the needs of the people on the tour. Two of the group had special dietary requirements, and Caz was always making sure that those needs were met. I arrived with a sore back, which Caz picked up on, and she was watchful of my well-being.

Lunches were at various hotels, and consisted of plentiful sandwiches and homemade soup. Be sure to try the tuna sandwiches and the chicken-and-bacon sandwiches. And wonderful shortbread and other desserts!

Accomodation at the Ayre Hotel was wonderful. The hotel was renovated in 2010, I believe. The staff was friendly and helpful. Breakfast and Dinner were quite good, and we had our pick of the menu. Do try the Sticky Toffee Pudding and the Creme Brulee! The Ayre Hotel provided wash cloths ("face flannels"), which is unusual for Britain - if you are going elsewhere in the UK, consider bringing your own.

We highly recommend Orkney Archaeology Tours!

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“An unforgettable experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2013

We just got back from a week on an Orkney Archaeological Tour, led by Caz Mamwell. We chose this tour because of the high praise it received on Tripadvisor and we were not disappointed. In fact, there is little to add as all the accolades have been written before. The tour was varied, extremely well organised, full of interest and covered archaeological sites both ancient and modern.

The vehicle for the group was very comfortable and Caz is a careful and considerate driver. She also ensures the safety and comfort of participants at all times. The timing was perfect and guaranteed to avoid crowds at famous sites, like Skara Brae. We were also taken to less well-known places that we would have found it difficult to find or enter without the expert knowledge of our tour leader. As well as becoming informed about the archaeology of Orkney, we learned much of the way of life of the islands.

It is important to take the advice given about clothing as the weather in the Orkney Islands is very changeable and nearly always windy. We were lucky with the weather, to the extent that we suspected that Caz had control over that too.

We were accommodated in the family-run Ayre Hotel in Kirkwall and found our room clean and comfortable. The generous breakfasts and dinners were of good quality and the hotel staff friendly and helpful. Kirkwall is a good base as there are plenty of shops, should they be needed, as well as places of interest, such as St Magnus Cathedral. Lunches were taken at a different place each day and comprised home-made soups, sandwiches and cakes as well as unlimited supplies of tea and coffee.

We cannot recommend this trip highly enough.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Orkney Archaeology Tours - Private tours also viewed

 

Been to Orkney Archaeology Tours - Private tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Orkney Archaeology Tours - Private tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.