We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great coffee, needs a coat of paint on the walls and a good clean” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Reel

The Reel
6 Broad Street, Kirkwall KW15 1HD, Scotland
1856-871000
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 25 restaurants in Kirkwall
Cuisines: Bar, Café, Soups, Sandwiches
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Description: The Reel In 2002 the Wrigley Sisters returned to Orkney to live and set up their business, and in 2004 The Reel was established, allowing them to ‘put something back into’ the community of Orkney.’ "With both lasses having now settled back in Orkney their attention has turned to managing the ‘Reel’ – the sisters’ Centre of Music on Broad Street in Kirkwall. The centre has experienced phenomenal success in the few years it has been open, to the extent that it has recently moved to the building formerly occupied by VisitOrkney, next to St Magnus Cathedral. "Aswell as a being home to many folk & blues sessions and the Orkney Strathspey and Reel, The Reel also holds various classes in many different instruments taught by a wealth of talented teachers. The Reel offers and encourages a fully ‘inclusive’ approach, catering for all members of the community, especially families, and all age groups. The existing aesthetics, atmosphere and management approach fully encourages, supports and positively impacts upon this ethos. The management’s existing attitude and approach to providing a high quality and friendly customer service is also considered exemplary.
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great coffee, needs a coat of paint on the walls and a good clean”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

I loved the music nights here last year and would give them 5/5.
As a cafe, the coffee was delicious, but I really feel that the place is long overdue for a coat of a paint and a really good clean.
The awkward, empty atmosphere at the end of the day when I grabbed a quick coffee was not helped by a Spanish visitor talking incredibly loudly into her phone such that I could not even think straight when sitting at the opposite side of the room....
Rather too rustic for my taste in eateries and I won't be returning until it has been spruced up.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

92% Recommend
    68
    48
    6
    5
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Don't miss the Reel on a Saturday night”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

On disembarking from the ferry we saw an article about the Reel in a copy of the Orcadian lying on a table in a little cafe in South Ronaldsay and got very excited as the paper was advertising what looked like a great weekend with Ivan Drever and Tom McConville, including a singer's session the Sunday afternoon which got the singer I was travelling with even more excited. Unfortunately, on arriving at the Reel on the Sunday afternoon we found that the newspaper had got it wrong and advertised the event for the weekend before it was actually taking place. However, we did enjoy browsing the music shop in the back of the building and came away with a great Wrigley Sisters CD. We also came away "kicking ourselves" that we had not looked in on the Reel on the Saturday afternoon as if we had we would have discovered that the Reel holds a music session every Saturday night and sadly we had missed that as well. So if you are a performer and want to take part in a traditional music session whilst visiting Orkney don't miss the Reel on a Saturday as it seems to be the only music session on Mainland Orkney. That said, we did return to the Reel on the Wednesday evening when the Orkney Accordian & Fiddle Society are in residence and were lucky enough to be in Orkney and able to return again on the Friday for a rare performance by Ivan Drever, what a guitarist!! We didn't actually eat at the Reel but can definitely recommend it as a music venue and the drinks are very cheap too.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Great place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We only stopped for a coffee here but would have loved to have had time to return especially when there was live music - definitely a place to go while in Kirkwall.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warlingham
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“Try the Northern Lights local beer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

Often busy but when i finally managed to eat here it was worth it. Sandwiches were large and the place had a nice welcoming . Beer excellent and staff friendly. Lost of coming and going across the cafe due to music shop and venue but not too distracting

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
“The muso's cafe”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

A good place to stop and have coffee / cake / something more substantial.
Prices are good, music and musical heritage all around. Free wifi!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Reel also viewed

 

Been to The Reel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Reel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.