We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value local food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Foveran Restaurant

The Foveran Restaurant
Foveran | St.Ola, Kirkwall KW15 1SF, Scotland
+44 1856 872389
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 28 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Price range: $39 - $70
Cuisines: Scottish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Scenic view, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: At the Foveran, you can enjoy the finest Orkney produce in a relaxed and comfortable setting with stunning views across historic Scapa Flow. Superb seafood features strongly on our menu along with prime beef and lamb. We work closely with local suppliers to ensure we obtain the highest quality. We also offer a wide range of carefully selected wines, local ales and malts. We're really proud to have been four times winner of the Orkney Food and Drink 'best evening meal' award and the first 'Orkney Masterchef 2014 title. We look forward to offering you a memorable Orcadian experience.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Good value local food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

Great welcome on arrival, the staff are very laid back and friendly. Great views over the bay from the dining room
Excellent food with a perfectly cooked steak. Service was great, well recommended.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    116
    19
    15
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Best restaurant ever!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I had the privledge to dine here and can only describe this place as amazing! From the staff to the service to the selection and mouth watering food that makes you want every last bit to last!
Simply the best dining experience on the Orkney islands by far.you will have to go a long way to beat this place!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shropshire,UK
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Try the signature dish”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2012

Foveran Steak had to be tried and it's the best I've ever had. Crispy on the outside but nice and rare and juicy inside, topped off with haggis. We also had fish which was great, and desserts a definite treat. Given the tlak that we'd heard of this being so good we wondered if we had suitably elegant clothes, but no problem as there is no pretension - just good food.
This was our treat out and well worth it

Visited August 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“The Perfect Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012

Booked a meal here to celebrate our Pearl Wedding Anniversary, while on holiday in Orkney.Beautiful setting with views across Scapa Flow. The staff were very welcoming and we were shown into a very pleasant lounge to order our drinks and meal at our leisure.We were a party of 5 and the girls attending to us made everything go like clockwork.
The restaurant was very comfortable and decorated to a high standard.The food was presented like a work of art and every dish we had was delicious.Lots of the high quality local products available and although not the cheapest place to eat, it was excellent value for money as the quality was so high. Not to be missed!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pitlochry, United Kingdom
1 review
“Wedding Gift”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2012

I recently booked a meal at The Foveran over the telephone for friends of mine who were on their honeymoon in Orkney. The staff I spoke to on both occasions when I telephoned were ever so helpful. My friends said that they were given a table with a beautiful view which had been decorated for the occasion and that the meal was absolutely wonderful. I was really impressed with the service I got over the phone and the way the payment was processed via email after the meal.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Foveran Restaurant also viewed

Kirkwall, Mainland
Kirkwall, Mainland
 

Been to The Foveran Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Foveran Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.