We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent food, weird WiFi” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Helgi's

Helgi's
14, Harbour St, Kirkwall KW15 1LE , Scotland
+44 1856 879293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Bar scene, Scenic view
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Helgi's is a small cosy pub overlooking the harbour. We serve good pub food of the home cooking variety, trying to use local produce where possible. We have a great selection of local ales in bottles and three Rob Hill ales on draft, we also have a good selection of Orcadian and Scottish whisky, and our wine list has been selected by our local wine expert, Duncan McLean from Kirkness & Gorie. We also offer a great selection of cocktails, beers and spirits. Please be aware that we have an over 18's only licence, which means that we cannot allow children, even for meals.
West Hollywood, California
Top Contributor
220 reviews 220 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 115 cities Reviews in 115 cities
320 helpful votes 320 helpful votes
“Decent food, weird WiFi”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013 via mobile

The food was fine. Nothing to win awards, but it wasn't bad either. They have two floors of setting, you order and pay at the bar and they bring the food to you.

In order to sign on to wifi, you have to use their system "purple wifi" which requires giving the site you Facebook info and liking Helgi's on facebook. It even tried to post a message. Seems far too intrusive for a bar

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Owner at Helgi's, responded to this review, August 29, 2013
Our Wi-Fi is free to all our customers and it's powered by Purple Wi-Fi. To access our free Wi-Fi you can log in through one of your social networking sites or create a Purple Wi-Fi login. When logging in through your Facebook or Twitter account you are simply just doing that, like you do for other sites, Tripadvisor even. Your Facebook or Twitter login details are entered straight onto their sites and not accessed by Purple Wi-Fi. Unlike big businesses with chain stores and big budgets we are a small business and can't justify the costs of providing free wi-fi through other well known internet providers. Purple Wi-Fi seems to work for us, and many customers use it happily, it's just a new way of doing things so puts some wary people off a bit. As for liking Helgi's and posting a comment on Facebook, it is optional, it's just a little bit of free publicity for us, but you can select not to post it, and carry on to access the internet anyway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

297 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    145
    123
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warsaw, Poland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice place with good food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

We had a meal here while in Orkneys. Fish and chips was good, as was classic burger. The prices are reasonable, there is a selection of local ales in the bar. It seems like a lively pub with good atmosphere and free wifi. I would say its a good place to sit for a meal and the drink in the evening in Kirkwall.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Syracuse, NY
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
227 helpful votes 227 helpful votes
“Relax & Enjoy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013

We ate here our first evening in Orkney based on TripAdvisor reviews and tried to return another night but couldn't get in. Its a busy place, so I'd recommend reservations.The soup and fish & chips were wonderful. Request a window seat as there is a nice view across the harbour from upstairs. The bar on the ground floor had a great buzzy atmosphere and a nice selection of draught local beers.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stirling, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
117 helpful votes 117 helpful votes
“Planned to stay, but ....”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

4 of us on holiday, had meal in nearby hotel and planned to spend evening in Helgi's. 3 of us drink spritzers so ordered a nice bottle of vino and jug of soda water. £5.15 for the jug of soda!!!!! Why??? It's ridiculous. Shame, it looked like a nice place to spend a few hours with friends. If we win the lottery we'll go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kelly M, Owner at Helgi's, responded to this review, August 6, 2013
We are sorry that you felt that you were overcharged for a jug of soda. What this review fails to add is that you had a 3 pint jug of soda, which is quite a lot of soda. For an idividual soda, in a half pint glass we charge £1.20, we have never been asked for a jug of soda before so the price would have reflected the equivalent of 4 glasses of soda, when really it should have been 6. I don't know where you have got £5.15 from as our prices don't work into that figure, surely it would have been £4.80 that you were charged? Or certainly should have been charged to reflect 4 glasses of soda. It does sound a little steep but then it was a 3 pint jug that you had. It's shame that you have written us off over a jug of soda. Our prices are at the low end of the scale in comparison to some other local pubs and we are often told by our customers that our prices are cheaper. We hope you can give Helgi's another chance and realise that we do have a good selection of beverages at reasonable prices.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton Upon Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great bar!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great bar, reasonable proced. Food was limited though but looked good.
We sat and had a few drinks in a nice place. Toilets were really clean and free wifi!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helgi's also viewed

 

Been to Helgi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helgi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.