We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“always good food - Go with husband, friends one of my favourites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Helgi's

Helgi's
14, Harbour St, Kirkwall KW15 1LE , Scotland
+44 1856 879293
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 29 Restaurants in Kirkwall
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bar, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Helgi's is a small cosy pub overlooking the harbour. We serve good pub food of the home cooking variety, trying to use local produce where possible. We have a great selection of local ales in bottles and three Rob Hill ales on draft, we also have a good selection of Orcadian and Scottish whisky, and our wine list has been selected by our local wine expert, Duncan McLean from Kirkness & Gorie. We also offer a great selection of cocktails, beers and spirits. Please be aware that we have an over 18's only licence, which means that we cannot allow children, even for meals.
Kirkwall, orkney
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“always good food - Go with husband, friends one of my favourites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2013

If I have a choice this would be my first choice for a drink and a meal out. Lunch with friends and a dinner at night with hisband, work colleagues and friends always good. I ahve not been disappointed yet. Service always excellent and very attentive too.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

296 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    123
    20
    8
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Snug pub with great food, warming fire and great decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Superb find on a quick trip to Kirkwall. Lovely black pudding and scallops starter, followed by super fish and chips. Lovely slate floor and dark green walls that give a top atmosphere. Fine selection of drinks and somewhere I'd definitely go back to.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thurso
Top Contributor
145 reviews 145 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Just OK”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Had a steak here and wouldnt go back for a steak!!! and cant say i particulary was keen on the surroundings!!! not often i say that but this place didnt do it for me!!! but thats just me!! If i was going back i wouldnt have the steak i would maybe try the fish which being kirkwall i would imagine WOULD be first class! THe service was bang on though!!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ormea, Italy
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Very nice pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Very nice pub, one of the best in Orkney and perhaps in Scotland. Great food and the staff was friendly and efficient even if you need a GLUTEN FREE diet. I will come back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kent
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
“Great service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Stayed in Kirkwall for 5 nights, we eat in Helgies on two evenings, food very good, service even better, would certainly go back.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Helgi's also viewed

 

Been to Helgi's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Helgi's, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.