We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad the Knutsford Wine Bar was booked!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Rose & Crown

The Rose & Crown
King street, Knutsford, England
01565652366
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 80 Restaurants in Knutsford
Price range: $8 - $39
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Continental, British, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Outdoor seating
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Sale, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Glad the Knutsford Wine Bar was booked!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Well! What a find! Never been here before but excellent value and fabulous food! Great greeting, easily seated without a draught.....would not have been here but that Knutsford Wine Bar was closed for a private function until 8.00pm (went past at 8.45pm and it was empty, a lesson learned??) looked at the Cross Keys and decided on the Rose and Crown. Lovely parfait starter if a little salty, great beef burger main for my husband, perfectly cooked, the best he's ever had, he said! My fishcake starter (main) was excellent with a special saute potatoes was wonderful! The wine cheap but appropriately flavoursome. Will be back!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    25
    15
    8
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Wilmslow
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2013

Super food but rather a long wait which was the only downside to this lovely traditional English pub. Would definitely return

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over rated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

My friend and I went in for drinks on Thursday night, we paid £15.75 for two gin and tonics!!! Quickly drank up and went to the wine bar over the road. Expensive night if your on a budget. Staff friendly but atmosphere not apparent. Shame it's in a prime location.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Saturdsay night”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked into the Rose and Crown on the recommendation of a review in the papers, as it had recently been taken over by the next door Belle Epoque.
It was very busy, and appears to be more of a pub than a restaurant.
Food is of a higher quality than a standard pub, but not up to top quality.
Soup was very average, although the bacon and chicken salad starter was quite large and tasty.
We both had steak and ale pie, along with chips, instead of mash, and carrots. The pies appeared to be "home-made" and, although the filling was tasty, the crust was a little thick.
The rhubarb based pannacotta sweet was delicious.
With coffee and tea, the bill came to £67, including drinks, which is quite reasonable.
As the night wore on, our assumption that this is still more of a pub came to fruition as the noise grew as the time went on.
Overall, a pleasant enough experience, although we're not sure if we would return.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Lovely! Excellent Customer Service.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

A lovely restaurant!

We attended on a Saturday night which was quite busy. After being seated and ordering drinks and food we chatted and sipped our drinks. An hour went by with no arrival of food but we were so engrossed with talking we didn't actually notice. The assistant manager appeared and apologised profusely as there had been a mix up in the kitchen. He then proceeded to tell us that our mains were on the house. Which was a lovely gesture and most appreciated by us.

The food when it arrived was really lovely. I had the steak which was a lovely cut, nice and thick and juicy which actually came rare as I had ordered (you wouldn't believe how hard it is to get an actual rare steak in a restaurant!), my hubby had the burger which he really enjoyed (he even liked the chips and he is really fussy about chips!) absolutely perfect.

We also ordered puds which were mouth wateringly tasty.

All in all with the attentive staff and the lovely food this will be a place which we do visit again in the future.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Rose & Crown also viewed

 

Been to The Rose & Crown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Rose & Crown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.