We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stopover” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Dog Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added The Dog Inn to your Saves list
The Dog Inn
Wellbank Lane | Over Peover, Knutsford WA16 8UP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 13 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Sheffield, England
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
247 helpful votes 247 helpful votes
“Great Stopover”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

Stayed and ate here recently over a weekend. Pub very welcoming, arrived around 630pm on a Friday night and there were only 2 tables left. Decided to eat food before checking in. We had the sausage and Mash (great sausage by the way!) and Chicken and Chorizo Cassoulet, with a side order of veg. A couple of large glasses of wine and pepsi, Bitter chocolate mouse and an apricot bread and butter pudding - all wonderfully executed, and beautifully presented, and tasted divine, Total cost £50.

We were checked in to Room 1, which overlooks the front of the pub. Great sized room, with plenty of tea/coffee, comfy bed, great view overlooking the neighbouring fields, and a good nights sleep. The bathroom was of a good size, and could do with a good clean of the grouting, but everything worked and there was plenty of hot water.

All the staff were delightful,that we came in to contact with, they were very helpful in arranging taxi's for us.

Breakfast was a very relaxed affair, served from 7 to 11 and again, very enjoyable (apart from the orange juice.....which I didn't enjoy at all, very, very weak!). Tea served in pots with tea leaves, very traditional and a great treat. Oh and I managed to find the upside down picture first time!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    28
    6
    5
    5
See reviews for
20
40
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Hampshire
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

Saw its brown sign just outside Macclesfield whilst travelling so called in about 1.30 or so on a Saturday afternoon at the start of May – great experience, will definitely go again!

Just wanted a snack on the road. My wife had soup, I had prawn and crayfish cocktail, and together we shared a crème brulée. With drinks, about £22 very well spent.

Had been refurbished and reopened under new management around the start of April. Not too busy. Attentive and capable new staff; manager around and available, and very chatty and helpful if asked. Prompt service.

Looks good. Our family are in the Northwich area so normally don’t travel east of Knutsford but despite the extra miles this one goes on the list of places to go.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

Despite the pub and restaurant being very busy the manager made us very welcome and the food and service for all five of us was top notch - very good value and great size portions - the grilled trout with risotto was delicious

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aston Clinton, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

A bit of money has been spent recently doing this pub up rather nicely. We received a warm welcome when we called in on a weekday early evening for supper - we were not staying. There are a few interesting and different things on the wide menu and we really enjoyed our choices. Prices did not feel over the top.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

We found 'The Dog' on the Internet when we were looking for a dog friendly pub serving good food, the web page looked excellent so we rang to book a table, we were told we did'nt need to book as we were eating early.

The experience we had at 'The Dog' was for us a good one, the menu is good with enough choice I would say for most palates, I don't know if the menu is changed daily but the one we were offered was dated that day. We very much enjoyed our meal with my only slight complaint(and this is common in lots of Gastro Pubs) as I do not have a sweet tooth I often opt for the cheese option as a desert - there is nothing worse than Brie straight from the fridge!!! But the choice of nibbles if you were bust having a drink was very good.

The fact that well behaved dogs were welcomed made it a very enjoyable experience for us and we will return, hopefully to sit outside on a sunny evening enjoying the beautiful scenery.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013 via mobile

We recently visited this establishment as we knew they were opening . We went for lunch and enjoyed the hospitality so much I decided to have a look at the rooms and decided to stay the night. We have only given the rooms 4 as they have not yet been refurbished as they have only been there a couple of weeks. I am sure in time they will match the rest of the pub restaurants standard. They are still very functional and clean. The night is peaceful and the bedding and beds Are of a good quality, and a good nights sleep was had . The food and drink we had was of a high quality and the staff are a credit to the dog. We will definitely return to see the refurbished rooms at another time . The breakfast staff were very friendly and very proffessional as we're all the staff

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Recently reopened after great upgrade,which has retained the country pub with space for a drink but a number of tasteful rooms for those who want to eat. An imaginative menu with 2 sizes of main courses.There is an intense competition for this type of pub and the new owners have invested wisely in the structural changes,enthusiastic staff,good menu and a good range of beers.Well worth a visit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Dog Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Dog Inn

Address: Wellbank Lane | Over Peover, Knutsford WA16 8UP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Dog Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Dog Hotel Knutsford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Dog Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.