We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant Meal” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Red Lion

The Red Lion
Park Lane | Pickmere, Knutsford WA16 0JX, England
+44 1565 733247
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 80 Restaurants in Knutsford
Cuisines: English
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Red Lion is a fabulous country pub situated in the village of Pickmere where you can enjoy quality food and drink in relaxed and inviting surroundings.Open roaring fires, the new orangery and a sumptuous country décor offer a warm and welcoming environment. An external landscaped seating area, with its children’s playground, is a big hit with families too.We pride ourselves on offering a range of quality cask ales and beers, an extensive selection of wines along with a menu packed full of mouth-watering dishes and daily specials for you to enjoy with friends, family or business colleagues.During the warmer months a glass of wine or a pint can be enjoyed in our large Al Fresco area where you can also enjoy some of our quality seasonal produce.
Winsford, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Brilliant Meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2013

It was our wedding anniversary recently so we decided to try a meal at the refurbished Red Lion. We are regular patrons of sister pub The White Lion at Alvanley. We found that the ambience of the pub was nice (including a coal fire on a cold evening), the food was excellent, and the service was the best that we have experienced at any pub/restaurant. We will definitely visit again very soon.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    26
    22
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Impressive refurbishment”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

The Red Lion has been refurbished to a very high standard and is a cosy pub in the evening with its real fires. I feel it is more of a restaurant now than a pub for the locals to drink in, but it's a lovely place to relax in if you are dining. It can get pretty busy on a weekend, so do make sure you book a table. I have had the steak and ale pie and would agree with other comments that the portion is small, too many mushrooms and a square of pastry on the top. Members of my family have enjoyed their meals though and their portions were quite generous, priced around £8.00/£9.00. My husband was impressed by the beers on offer, cheapest bottle of wine is around the £13.50 mark. The staff are very helpful and will bring drinks to the table if you are dining so you don't have to keep going to the bar.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
149 reviews 149 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
“Night out with friends”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

Newly refurbished recently, looked quite nice, food ok, beer ok, nothing struck me as startling. Staff polite, service ok.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport
Top Contributor
136 reviews 136 reviews
63 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 78 cities Reviews in 78 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“What a good find.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

We came upon this pub by accident, driving round on a wet cold Sunday, we were glad to get in. It was a revelation, it was warm and cosy with nice real fires it seems to be a popular local pub, and it is a Robinson's pub, not these days always a good sign, but in this case it is. The first contact, the staff, were all welcoming and friendly. The food was very good for pub food, I had calves liver, which at about £9 was good value, my wife had a steak baguette, and they did ask how we liked both meals cooked and delivered that choice. Good range of beers and very good indeed.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great referb. Food really good with lots of choice and cheap. Great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

Had a really great visit for the pub quiz night. The food selection was good and the quality great but for a fraction of the price you would expect. Definitely worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Lion also viewed

Warrington, Cheshire
Frodsham, Cheshire
 

Been to The Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.