We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very welcoming country inn.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Park Gate Inn

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Park Gate Inn
Stocks Lane | Over Peover, Knutsford W16 8TU, England
1625 861455
Improve this listing
Ranked #45 of 80 Restaurants in Knutsford
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Northwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A very welcoming country inn.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2014

We visited after completing a circular walk in the surrounding countryside. Good range of food on offer plus well kept Sam Smiths. Pleasant beer garden to enjoy our lunch in and the landlord could not be more friendly or hospitable to us and our two dogs. He even went to the trouble of providing a water bowl and some dog treats. Good value too.

Visited May 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    3
    4
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
301 reviews 301 reviews
141 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 88 cities Reviews in 88 cities
215 helpful votes 215 helpful votes
“all looked & tasted very good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 22, 2014

I was part of a 25 walkers most of whom ate & enjoyed their lunch either before or after our long walk.
Everybody enjoyed the food & know body companied which is a good advertisement in itself.
Excellent value & well recommended.

  • Visited March 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
113 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
“Very couthie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

After a damp nine mile walk across the fields from Wilmslow this delightful traditional old pub with all its nooks and crannies and a blazing log fire was a most welcome find. And to see steak and kidney pudding on the menu an added bonus. The staff could not have been more friendly or accommodating.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“A Rural Joy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This pub is what a country pub should be - and is! It is pleasant and rustic and the staff are very conversational and friendly. The interior has staved off the vile progression of modernisation that so many pubs usually succumb to, which to me, is a huge plus.

The beer is Samuel Smiths, which is brilliant value and offers a rich variety of choice. The choice between draught and bottle beers vary in price. But the standard bitter, like the lager, won't put a dent in your wallet or purse.

The Food is great but don't leave lunch too late during the weekdays as I think they stop serving at 2:00pm. But apart from that, the food prices are pretty much average and the meals look fine.

This is the kind of pub that is great for a drive out to. It's popular with cyclists, too. And the village itself is quiet and peaceful. Highly suitable to visit during the summer months and a nice way to let an evening drift by.

The car park is large and the beer garden itself is well-kempt.

All-in-all, this is a charming pub that has defied change and that makes a huge difference.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2013

This pub is totally unspoilt traditional and has open fires which were all lit very warm The food was delicious and the service was excellent beer was in very good condition spotlessly clean my wife and I enjoyed our lunch and were made to feel very welcome by the new managers will be returning with our family for sunday lunch definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Park Gate Inn also viewed

Knutsford, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Knutsford, Cheshire
 

Been to Park Gate Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Park Gate Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.