We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The "Pleasant" Pheasant !! :-)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pheasant

Golden Pheasant
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knutsford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Golden Pheasant
Save
You added Golden Pheasant to your Saves list
Plumley Moor Road | Plumley, Knutsford WA16 9RX , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 13 Knutsford B&B and Inns
england
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“The "Pleasant" Pheasant !! :-)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Following a recent bereavement the family decided it was time for a evening away at a location that we could all travel to without going too far - we "plumped" for the Golden Pheasant at Plumley& we we not disappointed.

The four rooms we took were nicely appointed & very comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was excellent with very generous portions (2 of us had Seabass which was the whole 2 fillets of fish !) at very reasonable prices.

In fact all the food was extremely well received by the 8 of us - collectively we consumed the range of mains from lamb Curry, fish & chips, lamb shank, seabass & steak - all that coulds be heard was happy happy sounds !

After a good nights sleep (could have been the wine that helped !), we breakfasted on a typical "Full English" which even after the previous evening we all managed to clear ! - Diet starts again today !

So many thanks to GP - we'll be back !

Room Tip: The four poster rooms are larger (as you might expect ) with "dual aspect" (as my sister p...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

19 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    6
    4
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
5
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Eaten here scores of times over many years.
Food and service are normally excellent in every respect.
Lovely surroundings and ambiance.
I tend to avoid 'early doors' in the week when the staff on duty are often less
experienced.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
61 helpful votes 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

Visited one Sunday in March 2013.Party of Six.

Lovely interior, but they could have switched the heating up.!

Food - Ordered mainly Sunday roasts which were OK.Nice rosemary taste to the lamb and garlic on roast potatoes. Good to have properly cooked veg although a little light for six people.

A couple of the meals could have been a bit hotter, but not a major problem.

So all in all food OK, but not spectacular.

So lets come to the problem area for me...... customer service, But before I go into that let me say I spent my entire working life in customer service..... it's a big thing for me, so some might think I'm being harsh.

The staff were smart in dress and appearance, but in the hour and a half we were there I don't think we saw a smile. I appreciate they are young and it may be just a job but it was sort of a faceless mediocrity that does nothing for you. Everything is done efficiently, but there is no warmth. For us, going out should be an experience and in driving away we all agreed it was
"alright".

I am of the generation that expects to be said "Hello" "Thank You "and "Goodbye" to. Sadly lacking I'm afraid.

Summed up as we left, when the waitress who served us ignored us......!

For the money we paid we probably felt it wasn't quite up the mark, but then again there aren't many pubs locally that are.

I certainly wouldn't recommend either way.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Macclesfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2012

We really enjoy this pub and food, but we class it as a bit of a treat as it is a bit pricey. But, in my opinion you get what you pay for! i would recommend you try it for traditional and well excuted pub food.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Pheasant

Address: Plumley Moor Road | Plumley, Knutsford WA16 9RX , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Number of rooms: 6

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.