We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs some finishing touches” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre to your Saves list
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chester
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Needs some finishing touches”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

Superb gardens and grounds are the outstanding feature of this country house hotel. The bedrooms are really comfortable and the food is very good. What let's it down is the lack of character in the bar and communal areas which are rather too corporate and need upgrading in line with the expected ambience.

Room Tip: The rooms in the main house are superb
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
Thank you for your review. I am glad to hear you enjoyed the hotel and its beautiful grounds. I am disappointed to read that you feel the bar area is too 'corporate'. We pride ourselves on our homely environments and good homemade dishes with a relaxed and friendly service. Hopefully we can welcome you back in the near future

Kind Regards,

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

317 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    172
    100
    27
    10
    8
See reviews for
49
147
8
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

The Mere Court is a wonderful place full of character. The rooms are really comfortable with all amenities supplied. The food is excellent and the staff are fantastic. The hotel comes into it's own when you include the grounds. The lake and the gardens are truly delightful and offer a beautiful short country walk without leaving the grounds of the hotel. I would imagine the hotel would be splendid as a wedding venue particularly a summer wedding. In fact I can imagine it would be ideal as a venue for any large gathering. I would recommend the hotel as an excellent place to stay.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, January 17, 2014
What a fantastic review!

Thank you for your lovely comments and our team are always happy to hear such positive feedback.

We would love to welcome you back soon!

Kind Regards,

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2013

absolutely fabulous wouldn't hesitate to recommend to anyone, everything was great definitely a 10 star hotel couldn't fault it one bit, everybody in our party had the same view from start to finish superb, also friendly staff who couldn't do enough for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Thank you for your review,

I am really pleased to read such positive feedback and I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Nice quiet location in lovely grounds. I stayed here for two nights and had a meeting in the conference centre. The room was very hot for me, even after I turned off the radiators, the heat was from the pipes running round the room. The room was clean and very spacious. Staff were friendly and helpful. Food in the restaurant was ok, we had to send the steaks back as they were overdone as was the fish that I ordered too, however was soon rectified.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for your review,

We have started to try and heat the rooms a little more with the cold weather upon us. My apologies that on this occasion, it was obviously not needed with the room being of a good temperature for you. I'm pleased that we managed to resolve the issue with your meal also. I hope to welcome you back to the hotel in the near future.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I attended this hotel for a wedding reception. Staff on the whole friendly, service during the reception was fine but the breakfast service left a little to be desired.
Facilities were good and atmosphere very pleasant.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thank you for the review and positive comments about the Wedding. We welcome all feedback to improve our Hotel so I'm disappointed to read about your breakfast experience but I am unsure as to what led you to feel like it left a lot to be desired. I would be more than happy to hear about it if you want to give me a call.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dumfries, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

The 1st receptionist was having a bad day. The food for lunch & dinner was poor. Dinner was sent back for being overcooked & there was not enough lunch for the group so had to wait while everyone else ate. Shower in the morning was tepid then cold. 2nd receptionist had the personality of a road sign. When I checked out I was ready to give my constructive feedback but was given the bill to pay without anything other than sign here. So much potential for such a great hotel but really need to look up customer service in the dictionary for for reception. The concierge at the conference centre could not have been nicer though.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, November 11, 2013
Thanks for your review,

All our staff are friendly and welcoming on reception so I am unsure as to what has led you to feel that they were having a bad day or lacking personality. It is a small team who all enjoy contributing to Mere Court's success which can also be noted by the amount of positive feedback we receive on reviews. We are always happy to hear feedback and greatly welcome it and I really wish you had brought it to my attention on checkout so we could have helped rectify some of the shortfalls you experienced.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

After having a DB&B with friends this was a superb place for atmosphere and food. The room had a great view and was very nice.
Elliott who looked after us was a credit to the team and we will be returning again...
It is great for couples and if you want that special night its perfect for romance and even a good laugh to get away for a night

Room Tip: The rooms are very large so don't worry about up-grading if the price is right for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#5 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.