We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Large meeting” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Save Saved
You added Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 hotels in Knutsford
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Large meeting”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2013

I have used this hotel a few times over the past five years for quite large boardroom style meetings followed by an overnight stay. My most recent was in October, organising such meetings is a considerable amount of effort and my conferencing contact there takes it all in her stride when I keep having to swap numbers around.

I had an idea how many would be coming and an intial reserve was made for 20 bedrooms which in the end was a few too many but a good call all the same - the hotel was full in the end. One question though, when hotels are full where on earth is everybody? I mean our group of 15 for dinner was virtually the only people in the bar, this seems to happen in mnay hotels and I guess many folk have either gone out or simply stay in their rooms.

Anyway after the conference services had done their bit (all organised) we moved into the main hotel which is a different building, sort of old school English countryhouse hotel rather than the large open plan version of today. More akin to a golf club with the wooden panelling but with various additions to increase the size of the hotel - it sits in the middle of open countryside yet just minutes from the M6 in Cheshire.

The food is always good here especially considering its a big group affair where standards can often be so dull - a good winelist too but not a snobby hotel. I recognised one waitress at breakfast who I had seen before and she advised that she had been there since 2000 - thats pretty impressive in this day.

My room, no Presidential Suite this time although I have used it before however whilst it was a fair trot through the corridors to get to my room it was quite large, nice whirpool type bath and a huge bed not that I saw much of it retiring at gone 1am and up at 6ish.

All in its a nice place, my room safe didn't work (then again I didn't go ask them to look at it) and the toilet handle needed replacing as it has a lump of porclein broken off. It does surprise me that hotels in general don't keep on top of small things like that as they can leave impressions. it won't however stop me using this one as the location, conferencing and overall effect are good enough to rule out a minor point.

Room Tip: All rooms are quiet from my experience, if you don't like stairs then rooms out the back will be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Thank you for a great review. We look forward to seeing you again soon!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

267 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    141
    88
    24
    8
    6
See reviews for
42
127
7
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

From start to finish the Mere court Hotel was brilliant. The service from Viccie on the desk was 100% efficiency, the room had the wow factor, the meal that night was delicious and the service was fantastic, breakfast lovely too! Couldn't fault the place well done!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Reviews don't get much better than that! I'm glad you had such an enjoyable stay with us and we would love the opportunity to welcome you back again in the near future. Thank you!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Yorks
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This hotel is well located as a base for playing many of the premium golf courses in the area.

I stayed in the new build wing of the hotel where the rooms were large if a little basic, however they are competitively priced.

Breakfast was buffet, but of a good standard with eggs (however you take them) cooked to order. I cannot comment on evening food for regular guests as I attended a function, here the food was of a reasonable standard.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. Its a shame you didn't get to eat in our Restaurant as we get so much good feedback on our food which has been awarded with a rosette. Hopefully you can visit us again soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013 via mobile

Ended up here by chance as i got "redirected " by another hotel who overbooked , & have to say it was a very pleasant experience! Staff was super helpful and despite my very late arrival they made sure i got dinner & helped with travel arrangements to my business meeting the next day! The hotel might need some touch ups but it is welcoming and pleasant! would go back if in the area!

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the great review. Our staff are the core of making our hotel a success so its fantastic to read you were impressed with them. Despite us not being your original destination im pleased you had an enjoyable stay and hopefully we can welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheadle, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
131 reviews 131 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
116 helpful votes 116 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2013

Me and my other half went to a wedding here in August and stayed over after. Our first room was right by the wedding room so we asked to move as we thought it might be noisy if the party went on late (we're not that old, just had to get up early for stuff the next day, honest!). First room was a bit dark and tatty. The second was lovely - in the old part of the house. Very modern bathroom and nice view over the lawn. Service was really good and we had a lovely time. Breakfast was very good. We got the hotel for £85 due to being CityScene members through our work, which worked out cheaper than the wedding rate. Not sure I'd be happy paying full price though!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for the review. Whilst we do cater for a lot of weddings and functions we are also popular for couples or friends looking for a quiet night away. Maybe we could welcome you back to the hotel for a dining experience in our Restaurant next time?

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Langstone, South Wales
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We only stayed at the hotel for one night on our way from South Wales to Yorkshire. The hotel is set in lovely grounds, which unfortunately we did not have chance to explore as it was pouring with rain. Our room was very large with two double beds. The hotel is very much geared up for conferences, there were two taking place on the day we left. We ate in the bar area. The bar staff were very attentive. We would certainly stay again, although I would not consider paying the full price. The only problem we had was with the shower, which although was powerful the temperature was only warm even when turned up to the highest setting.

Room Tip: Our room was very large but had no outlook. Full price is very expensive. Look for a deal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Its fantastic to read such good comments and I will be sure to share them with the team. We hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2013

Although the property has a quaint charm and country-like ambience, the amenities are typical of any quality 4 star accommodation. Tucked away in Knutsford, its surprising close to Manchester Airport (15 min) and plenty of local attractions. There was a wedding event the night we stayed so somewhat busy, but the hotel layout works well for these types of events despite the coziness of the property. The rooms are very spacious and well-serviced. The flat screen TVs are 25 inches - perfect size for hotel rooms. And the breakfast is good value - cooked-to-order eggs with a decent selection of typical English breakfast accompaniments and fresh fruit. Well worth the stay - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, October 3, 2013
Thank you for a wonderful review. I'm glad you had such a good stay with us and hope to see you soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller
Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Family Hotel in Knutsford
#4 Business Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Court is a fine Country House Hotel with 4 AA star rating, set in 7 acres of beautiful mature gardens in the countryside.We offer a variety of bedrooms, all en-suite some with Jacuzzi Spa baths and King sized beds. The Arboreum Restaurant boasts 1 Rosette with Oak Beams and Crystal Chandeliers offering a traditional setting for a romantic dinner. Serving traditional and modern cuisine for Lunch or Dinner. We have numerous function rooms including the Conservatory which makes us a superb wedding venue licensed to hold Civil Ceremonies. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL and Hotels.com so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.