We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our Wedding” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre to your Saves list
Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Stockport, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Our Wedding”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

One word to sum up our whole wedding experience, perfect!!
Our first experience of Mere Court was after finding it on the East Cheshire list of venues in the area after our first venue, Moorside Grange, fell through, we had not seen Mere Court in our original search and were pleasantly surprised when we got there and felt it was meant to be. We were shown around by the manager, forgive me for not remembering his name, he was very helpful and friendly and lovely with our daughter, this was really important to us as we were a family that were getting married not just a couple and she was made to feel so welcome unlike some venues we had been to previously.
Our second meeting was with Karen, Wedding Coordinator, again lovely and friendly and couldn't do enough to help us. Throughout the whole process she was great, always there to answer my many questions, some of which probably were silly ones but when you have your 'wedding head' on everything seems important!! The drama of me over paying was quickly and efficiently resolved as soon as it was noticed by accounts.
The Thursday before the wedding - We brought all our things to the hotel ready for the room to be set out on the wedding day. Met by the lovely girls on reception and handed over to a lady, sorry i don't know her name, a brief description of what needed to go where and she knew exactly what to do, being the control freak that i am its not often that i am confident enough to pass the reins to somebody else but i had full confidence with all the staff that it would be exactly how we wanted it to be. We mentioned that we had not heard from the dj and Karen was straight on the phone to him and requested for him to call us back which he did that afternoon which was great.
The morning of the wedding - Again met by the lovely, friendly girls on reception and shown into the room we used to store all of our things and have our hair done, which was perfect. The staff quickly and efficiently cleaned the rooms after the previous guests checked out and we were able to get ready properly in our rooms which was perfect. We had a sneaky look round the hotel while waiting for the hairdresser and were surprised to find even at the early time of 11am that the rooms were already almost set up for the wedding, very impressed!!
The day seemed to run like clockwork although it does seem abit of a blur now, Rob, master of Ceremonies, met me at our room to let myself and my dad know our guests were ready for us, from the minute we met him to the minute he handed us over to his colleague when he had finished his shift, he couldn't do enough to help. My dad was worried about what he had to do when we got in the ceremony room and he talked him through it, he guided the speeches perfectly and was there throughout the whole day checking we were ok and everything was the way we wanted it and even brought us canapés while we were having our photos taken so we didn't miss out.


Overall it was an amazing experience after seeing so many of our friends get married before us there was always something they wished they'd done, could have gone better, regretted etc but we couldn't fault a single thing, my only regret is that we didn't get to sample the baguettes in the evening, i didn't think id fit another thing in in my tight dress but regretted it in the morning when i woke up hungry :-)
All our guests commented on how great the day was, the food was amazing, the time in between each course, there was no waiting around at any point and everything seemed to run effortlessly. The rooms are to a very high standard and perfectly cleaned and kitted out. Our guests had booked rooms not knowing what they were like and were very impressed when they checked in. I think all the staff need to be praised on how well they do do their jobs. We will definitely be recommending the hotel to everyone we know.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Dear Mr and Mrs Brindley,

Your kind words have been shared with the team and its fantastic to read such a positive review. We enjoy looking after all of our guests and when we get comments like these, it means our hard work has paid off.

I will no doubt see you again soon.

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    101
    27
    11
    8
See reviews for
49
148
8
50
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Yorks/Notts border
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I recently stayed in this hotel on business. It is located in beautiful countryside but within easy reach of Manchester, Macclesfield , and Warrington.
There is ample car parking space if a little far away from the hotel entrance in the rain.
All staff were helpful and friendly, rooms were well appointed with free wi Fi, on suite and tea and coffee making facilities.
The restaurant has delightful views over the patio into the woods and well kept gardens.the food is of good quality and the hotel in general represents good value for money to the business traveller.
A few more signs around the hotel indicating lifts, restaurant, reception etc would be helpful if you have a second floor level room!
Peter M Richardson

Room Tip: Second floor gives excellent views over gardens
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for your review.

Its great to hear such good feedback from all aspects of our hotel and we hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards
Jake Fuller, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here for a wedding with lots of family and friends. The wedding it self was amazing. Food was also good. The outdoor space was fantastic as the weather was good.

The bar wasn't great. It seemed manned by inexperienced bartenders.

Our room was large and bed comfy. However I went to have a bath and Tryed using the water jets in the bath. Lots of black dirt came out and they were so powerful it soaked the floor!

Breakfast in the morning was ok, but just not great. Order poached eggs and they were over done. Sausages however were lovely.
Not a large selection of continental either.

All in all we had a fantastic time but I would not go to this hotel if it wasn't for a wedding.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel,

I'm pleased to read you enjoyed the wedding you attended and enjoyed the food. If you feel the bar staff were inexperienced it could simply be a case of you being served by a new member of the team but we train all the staff quickly and efficiently.

I hope you will visit us again soon and dine in our Restaurant where the food is as good as the Wedding Breakfast!

Kind Regards

Jake Fuller, Operations Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

Nothing special here, but adequate for the price. There was a wedding going on when we stayed but we weren't disturbed by any noise. No mini bar in the room to keep water cool, not surprising but would have been a nice touch. If you're relying on the promised Sky Sports channels though, as we were, best double check it's available. We were told it was - twice - but it wasn't. Anyway, good enough if you're just looking for somewhere to stay when going from A to B.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for the review,

I am glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We do our very best to ensure that the guests who are not with the wedding are not disturbed, so this is great to hear. There is in fact a mini fridge in every bedroom situated in a cabinet under the tea & coffee tray. Regarding the Sky sports, we do offer sky sports in every room and it seems that on this occasion the sky box was not working but the following morning we had it up and running again. I am sorry that sky sports was not available on the night of your stay but hopefully this will not deter you from staying with us again.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013

My disabled husband and I visited Mere Court Hotel, Knutsford to attend a family wedding on Friday 2nd August 2013, on arrival there was no disabled parking at the front of the hotel I dropped my husband off at the entrance and then went to park the car. When we looked to find disabled access into the hotel we could only find a very steep concrete ramp, I struggled to push my husband up the ramp into the bar area, we asked a member of staff the way to the conservatory where the wedding reception was held. We were told there was no access via the hotel for disabled you will have to go outside via the gardens, at this point I mentioned there were steps, the member of staff had no knowledge of this. A manager then pointed out you will have access the conservatory via the back entrance, the ground was very uneven, pass the kitchens, pass the empty beer kegs, pass the bins full of empty bottles, over a cesspit covered with a metal sheet with no guard rail, over a raised grid and then into the hotel. An independant wheelchair user could not have gained access.We were totally amazed that a hotel of this stature and AA rating had no disabled access. When we were leaving the wedding reception we had to leave via the same route with no lighting. This was very dangerous and deeming and very uncomfortable for my husband. This was our first visit to Mere Court Hotel and we had high expectations, we will not be visiting again

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write you review.

I am sorry to hear that the hotel didn't live up to your expectations on this occasion. We do offer disabled access and due to the location of our function room that means that the ramp is situated round the back entrance. This area is kept tidy for disabled guests but unfortunately on this occasion some of the barrels had not been appropriately stored and i can only apologize for this. The ramp at the front entrance that you referred to is merely a walkway and not a disabled access route as it is too steep as you noted in the review.

I would hope that the food and service made up for some of our shortfalls and as you can see from the amount of positive feedback we receive, this is where we excel and go above and beyond expectations.

Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

The Merecourt Hotel has had some refurbishment since we were last there and is very "classy"
The dinner was excellent and the fellow guests were friendly. When I booked I forgot to mention that I have a blue badge and therefore we were allocated an upstairs room. This was a super room but I needed a downstairs room. The receptionist willingly changed rooms for us.

Many thanks
DotG

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Thanks for the positive review. Its fantastic to read you had such a nice time with us and found the staff to be so helpful. I will pass this to the team and hope to welcome you back to Mere Court in the near future

Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
south coast, england
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Three friends stayed here for two nights to visit the Tatton Park flower show. The hotel was everything we had hoped for - room and bed good, food beautifully served, staff great and very helpful. Couldn't recommend it highly enough. Really tranquil, lots of outside seating in the shade or in the sun.

Room Tip: Our three bed room on the ground floor was completely quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MereCourtHotel, General Manager at Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, responded to this review, August 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, glad to read that you have all enjoyed your stay with us.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Eloic Montagnier - General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre

Address: Warrington Road | Mere, Knutsford WA16 0RW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Business Hotel in Knutsford
#2 Luxury Hotel in Knutsford
#5 Family Hotel in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre 4*
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the heart of Cheshire, Mere Court Hotel was originally built as a wedding present for William and Amy Dunkerley in 1903 and has now been lovingly and skilfully restored as a 4-star deluxe country house hotel, award-winning wedding venue, conference centre and fine dining restaurant with one AA Rosette. Set in 7 acres of landscaped gardens and grounds with a private lake in the most desirable part of the Cheshire countryside it offers ambience and rural tranquillity, despite being only 10 minutes from Manchester Airport and within easy reach of the major motorway networks (M56/M6/M62) giving access to Manchester, Liverpool and the historic City of Chester. The original house has individually designed and furnished luxury bedrooms, including two four poster suites, all with wonderful views across the beautiful grounds. The Lakeside rooms all have king size beds. This hotel has played host to a number of notable and famous guests like former US President Bill Clinton, Ruby Wax, Dawn French, Alan Titchmarsh and Spandau Ballet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mere Court Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mere Court Hotel And Conference Centre, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.