We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Spa Break!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mere Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Escape £149
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rawtenstall, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Amazing Spa Break!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

I recently had an amazing, surprise spa break at The Mere for my hen do, organised by my best friend, with all my favourite people there. From the moment we arrived, we had a completely luxurious time. The spa was amazing, the treatments were wonderful and the staff were incredibly professional and knowledgable in what they were doing. All staff could not do enough to make sure we had a great time, so attentive and just so friendly! The rooms were beautiful and had everything we needed. Dinner was exquisite, and again the staff were amazing. I can't praise The Mere enough, every staff member we encountered were wonderfully welcoming and it made our girly weekend one to remember! We will definitely be back!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    148
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
71
282
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2014

4 ladies took advantage of the Sparking Friday offer that The Mere advertised on their website & we all agree it was wonderful! This was my second visit here & as before everything was just perfect. We had twin rooms next to each other on the lower ground floor, each room had patio doors which opened out onto a terrace - would be lovely in summer! We both had bottles of Prosecco in our rooms - which was part of the deal we went on. Both rooms were large, extremely good decorative order, fab bathrooms, ours had a walk in shower & our friends had a shower over the bath. Both had underfloor heating & twin sinks - perfect for getting ready for dinner together!! Beds were very comfortable & we all slept well. Compliment tray not well stocked & a let down was the UHT milk pots - we had a pint of proper milk in our fridge last time we visited! - but it was soon sorted with a quick phone call to reception who arranged for a jug of milk to be bought to our room. Upon arrival at about 11ish our rooms were ready. Check in was quick & easy & the reception staff all very friendly & helpful.
We spent the remainder of the day in the Spa, which is lovely & relaxing - could do with extra beds around the pool though. We all had varying treatments which we all thoroughly enjoyed, unfortunately we did have some slight negatives: when my friend rang to book the treatments, we had both wanted a joint mud treatment & the lady who my friend spoke to was very much that the treatment was for 'couples', good job we weren't a 'couple' as I may have taken offense! Also the gowns that we were given were quite shabby with threads hanging off the sleeves & hem, also 3 of ours had only 1 loop for the belt & mine had stains down the front of it - yes I could have taken it back but I didn't! Once we had our treatments there was no room in the relaxation room for us, such a shame as it is the perfect end to a treatment & I was looking forward to snuggling into the warm beds & quilts. If The Spa is going to be offering Spa breaks then they need to be able to accomodate the number of people they will have in there at any one given time. I think someone else has mentioned about some of the mosaic tiles being off in the Aroma room which did make it quite uncomfortable to sit on. However none of the above stopped us from having a lovely chilled day. We had lunch in the Spa, great selection & tasty food.
We ate in Browns of the evening, again food was of an excellent standard, lovely polite staff, the restaurant was quite busy & we had a little wait for our orders to be taken, but not a problem as our Prosecco arrived first! The only little gripe about dinner was the pianist! There was lovely background music playing when we first arrived in Browns, then the pianist started playing, we all found it incredibly annoying! Wasn't so aware of it on my last visit but this time he was quite irritating - sorry Mr Pianist!
Breakfast was wonderful, lovely choice continental style or full cooked english. Food was hot & plentiful.
We all had a totally wonderful time, felt thoroughly chilled, relaxed & pampered when we left. The little negatives haven't put us off & we are planning a return trip later in the year.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 19, 2014

We stayed overnight whilst hosting our wedding here. The rooms are very luxurious, in particular, the suites. All the staff are extremely attentive, friendly and can't do enough for you. The hotel decor and surroundings are beautiful. The food quality is also extremely high. We can vouch for the breakfast being really good, and although we didn't eat an evening meal in the restaurant, we did have our wedding meal there which was truly fantastic, so I am sure the restaurant menu will be of the same extremely high quality.

As for hosting a wedding here... Well we couldn't recommend it highly enough. The Mere handled our wedding better than our expectations - so much we couldn't find a fault with the whole day. They were attentive to all our needs in advance and on the day! Mark who coordinated our event on the day was simply magnificent. It allowed us to have a care free day, and we wouldn't change one thing about it. We got a complementary upgraded room and were allowed for the evening event to run over because everybody was having such a good time.

It was worth every penny hosting our event here, so we highly recommend it for a truly special day.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2014

After hearing great reviews about the golf course me and two friends decided to play a round. Firstly the grounds and the hotel are stunning and a great golf shop!!! The golf course was ok few bad points not all of the tee's where open had to play of very poor mats and they temp tees have been put in poor positions, hole 3 didn't have a flag in it on the approach which we found by the side of the green!! All the greens had been striped and sanded which we were not told about very annoying!! Bunkers full of stones !! As we went around the course it looks like they must a have an event coming up and trying to protect the course Over all very disappointed..a shame for such a great setting

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 31, 2014
Dear Danny M,

Thank you for sharing a review with us following on from your recent stay.

I just wanted to touch on a few points regarding the golf. There are various winter tees in play at present as per most golf courses due to the weather and time of year, our green fees are amended to reflect this.

We will look in to the positioning and condition of the mats on the par 3’s and also conditions of the bunkers we can only apologise if the group ahead did not return the pin flag to the hole.

The course is not being protected for an event, it is purely set up for winter golf and all green fees are reflective of this.

Our golf course is something we take great pride in and feedback is essential to ensure that we remain as one of the premier venues for golf in the North of England.

We Thank You for your valuable comments

Kind Regards

Lauren
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014

Stayed here last weekend with my sister. It's a lovely looking hotel in a beautiful setting. Check-in was very easy and quick, the staff on reception were very helpful. We were surprised at how luxurious the room was for the price we paid. The underfloor heating and twin sinks in the bathroom were a nice touch. The whole room including the bathroom was nicely decorated but more importantly very comfortable. The hot buffet breakfast we had the following day was cold which was a bit disappointing but the quality of the food was good otherwise. We also spent some time in the spa which was lovely but let the hotel down in a few aspects; there arent enough beds around the pool for the number of people visiting the spa and there were quite a few mosaics missing in the pool and rooms, sitting on them was very uncomfortable. We also had an afternoon tea in the spa which was very stale. It must have been hanging around for some time as some of the cakes were completely stuck to the plate. Overall I would definitely recommend the hotel but would tentatively recommend the spa unless you get a very good deal.

Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Ktdavies,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us and posting a review.

I would like to take this opportunity to assure you that you constructive comments have now been passed on to our Food and Beverage Manager Stuart Stancombe for his urgent attention.

Mr Stancombe will address the areas of concern to prevent them from reoccurring again in the future. I would like to personally thank you for bringing it to our attention, without our guests sharing their honest opinions we wouldn’t be able to grow and develop our fabulous resort.

Please be aware that our Spa is scheduled for some slight cosmetic repair work and I know that the missing mosaic tiles will be replaced very soon.

It would appear that on the whole you enjoyed your stay with us and as a direct result wouldn’t hesitate to recommend us in the future, for that alone we are truly grateful.

I hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abergele, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from a lovely break at the Mere. Have visited before and am glad it's still so good. Rooms are big and spacious,food is good but can be a bit pricey. Spa is great and wasn't too busy. Did have an issue with our bill as they kept adding stuff we didn't have but they sorted it quick and with no problem. Looking forward to returning again soon.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lauren_yates, Guest Relations Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Dear Siwan30,

Thank you for once again choosing to stay with us, we greatly value your repeat custom here at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa.

My sincere apologies that your invoice was not correct upon your departure of the hotel -
I am pleased that the matter was rectified quickly and efficiently by our strong Reception Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back again and again.

Kind Regards

Lauren Yates
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colne, England, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2014

I had booked a secret escapes spa break for myself and my daughter so we could take time out to relax and indulge ourselves....the drive up to the Mere was lovely and the hotel was impressive...check in was easy and the lady who checked us in was very pleasant and supplied us with all the info we would need....our Mere Twin room was on the lower ground floor facing a banking and was the only slight dissapointment in the whole weekend...the deal stated mere room..the hotel website indicated these rooms had a Mere Lake view or a tennis court view..after reading that our expectation was higher in hindsight would have been better if i hadnt seen website as the room was already fantastic..we were offered a side tennis court view after we enquired whether a lake view was possible but opted to stay where we were as the room itself was nicer....However this shaky start in no way detracted from the rest of our stay...we spent 6 hours across at the spa the pool area and steam rooms etc led to a very relaxing experience only enhanced by the sumptious afternoon tea in the spa lounge..the young lady coping in there on her own did a fantastic job..I had pre booked dinner in Browns and had added a special seating request which exeeded my expectations...thank you ..the staff were efficient and friendly and we had a lovely meal..including our complimentry cocktails .No Need to venture into Knutsford at all....Breakfast was equally as good with loads of choice and good quality ingredients.....Hope to do it all again sometime soon......

Room Tip: If youd like a view of the Fantastic Mere dont pick lower ground although the room itself was lovely
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.