We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Brilliant day out with my girls” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mere Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Escape £149
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
leeds
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Brilliant day out with my girls”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2012 via mobile

Our day was arranged for us via my friend who is a member of the gym here. We were pleasantly made very welcome on arrival in the spa and were shown to the restaurant area. The guy serving in the restaurant was lovely and welcoming. Our treatments were wonderful and the spa staff were gracious. The whole place flows well and was very modern. The spa itself was nice and offers pool jacuzzi and various heat rooms, also cocktails by the poolside was a nice treat!!!! After hours of relaxation we changed and went to the hotel for coffee, the staff in the bar and on reception were happy and very attentive. We have already booked for our next visit this time to stay over as I and my friends were very impressed.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

613 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    381
    148
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
71
283
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (147)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2012

Overall our experience was positive, but I don't think we will stay again. The hotel was in beautiful grounds, however unless you are playing golf you are not allowed to walk around the grounds, which actually leaves the non golfer with very little outdoor space other than the car park.
We stayed in a room in the new part of the hotel,admittedly it was a cheaper room. The view was into a small courtyard used by the chefs to smoke, as we were on the ground floor we found we had to have the curtains drawn virtually all the time, even with them open the natural light into the room was limited.We noted many of the rooms had views over the car park.
The cleaner knocked on the door at 10am and we asked her to come back later, we spent most of the day out and when we returned the bed had been made and the bin emptied and the tea cups changed. The bathroom had not been cleaned and we were nearly out of toilet roll and this hadn't been replaced.
We had previously read a review for this hotel where someone complained about doors banging and we thought this was a bit ridiculous, however when staying (possibly because we were in a ground floor room) we could appreciate the comment. Late at night when people walked through the fire doors the bang when they closed rocked the room.
What really made the stay was the staff, particularly at Browns, they were brilliant, very friendly and attentive, the food was also amazing.
The spa was lovely and when we attended was very quiet.

Room Tip: Definately ask for a room with views over the golf course, the alternatives are not good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, July 2, 2012
Good afternoon and thank you for taking the time to post a review after your recent stay with us.
I was delighted to read that overall you had a positive experience, especially in Browns restaurant.
I was disappointing to read about the slamming doors and you have my word our maintenance team are busy walking the corridors tightening up the overhead door closers as we speak. Should you choose to visit us in the future our concierge department will be delighted to recommend some lovely local walks for you to enjoy.

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
109 helpful votes 109 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Now we have to be straight on this we did get an exceptional deal on a promotion from Travelzoo so in all fairness this was a cheap as chips deal & for what we paid compared to what we got was stupendous value for money however at no stage were we made to feel inferior to other guests all the staff especially the girls on the front desk were fab !

The hotel & spa are only a few months old but they have done a magnificent job old mixing with new & the rooms were of a 5 star standard immaculate,modern & very stylish .

The general standard of food was high you have to try the pork belly it was knockout & drinks were reasonably priced for a hotel of this standard the wine list in the main restaurant was also pretty decent if being a little fussy service in Browns could have been slightly more attentive & the mains were very slow to arrive however an apologie was given the breakfast was also very good !

The spa was top knotch aroma steam , sauna, salt infusion, great pool it was trueley world class the only thing that let it down was lack of touches in the changing rooms no robes,slippers,deodorants etc i have stopped at some decent hotels with not as good spa facilities but they had better changing rooms another small point is they need a spinner for the wet swimwear even my local gym has one of these !

The hotel is obviously a golf club & we are not golfers & although the grounds are beautiful there is a lack of none golf course grounds to go walkabout so just be aware the golf club was here long before the hotel on saying that though the day we arrived there was a tournament on & it made for a great buzz around the resort.

Many thanks for a short but sweet stay at your new hotel it was great & the Travelzoo deal has done the job as we will reccomend to friends,colleagues & family & hopefully will return soon !

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2012

Hotel and Spa as said by other guest are truly wonderful. Rooms are second to none. Reception and staff were polite. Dinner served with burnt soda bread was a downer, £25 for a cheap bottle of wine was reasonable, however, we had to pour it ourselves after the waiter screwed opened the top and poured the first drink. (Maybe it's because we were on a promotion from Travel Zoo) This hasn't deterred us from re-visiting The Mere as the wife had enjoyed her Spa treatment, although, my desire to play at The Mere was scuppered by the Open qualifying Tournament. Oh! had to telephone the reception after arriving home to inform them of our room did not have bathrobes and slippers ...... just in case they tried to charge us for them!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed at The Mere for a break away last week, what a lovely hotel! The service was fabulous, food amazing, and the quality of the bedrooms just stunning.
They have thought of everything in detail even down to the 'Mere'cats in the bedroom as the do not disturb signs. It's just a shame we couldn't stay longer.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent stay with us, I am delighted you had an amazing time and enjoyed all of our facilities.

I hope we will have the opportunity of welcoming you back soon, the team and our Merekats will be waiting....

Thank you once again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Watford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2012

I booked to stay at The Mere after much research for my Fiancee's birthday. The website made it look nice but once we arrived it truly blew us away. Right from the booking process with Tracey everything was never to much to ask. The hotel looks great and once inside was truly impressed. We wasted no time at all getting over to the spa and can honestly say that it is the best we have been to. our room was great and we had dinner in Brown's restaurant which we thoroughly enjoyed. I drove 2 1/2 hours from London to get there and am looking to book up again in December, well worth the drive and why go anywhere else when you find the best.

Room Tip: The Mere rooms over looking the lake on the top floor highly recommend it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North of England
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

My husband and I have just spent a lovely day and night in this gorgeous hotel and wished that we had been booked in for longer. Our daughter bought us the package through Travelzoo as a birthday present for me and it was a wonderful present!
We arrived at lunch time and were given our room immediately and the room was beautiful. It was brand new with all clean and unmarked fixtures and fittings with a really comfortable bed and a spotless bathroom (although the lighting was a little too dim in here - but I am nitpicking!!)
We spent the afternoon in the spa using the pool, the hydro pool and the various heat, salt, steam rooms in between lounging around on the thickly padded sun loungers! So relaxing! This area was SO clean and pleasant and the changing rooms were superb.
We changed and went to dinner at Browns and had another surprise when our daughter and her fiance turned up to join us!! We had a lovely meal - we all paid supplements for the steak option! The steak was good (not brilliant) and the sticky toffee pudding was delicious.
This was really the only area where we felt that there was room for improvement - particularly as there were only 5 main course choices including mushroom risotto, pork belly and veal - a little bit restrictive and a little difficult to find a choice that appealed. However, this did not spoil our experience in any way. Breakfast was OK but nothing really special either. It was selected from a menu and cooked to order but still felt as though it had been standing around under a hot plate for quite a while - again not a big deal but I am being brutally honest!!
All the staff that we encountered - starting with reception and continuing to the Spa and the restaurant and bar were the most pleasant and helpful that you could ever wish to meet and a real credit to the hotel.
We had the best time ever and I am looking at dates and prices for us to return again very soon. We loved it!
As a final proof of the excellence of the place, I left an item of clothing in the room and called reception in the late afternoon when we arrived home to inquire if it had been discovered. I was called back within 5 minutes and told that they had the item and I received it by Royal Mail special delivery the next morning! Brilliant!
Book this hotel - you won't regret it. We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, June 23, 2012
May I thank you for taking the time to post a review and I was delighted to read that you had a fantastic trip, I truly hope we will see you back before your next birthday and for a longer visit.

I will ensure your kind words about the team are passed on and thank you once again for highlighting specific departments, allowing me to recognise them personally.

Good to know your item of clothing made it home safely.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.