We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added The Mere Golf Resort and Spa to your Saves list
The Mere Golf Resort and Spa
4.0 of 5 Resort   |   Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Spring Escape £149
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester,UK
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2012

We booked this hotel for a 1 night spa day. We had a room on the ground floor and it was stunning. The bathroom was spotless and everything was where it should be and worked perfectly.
The drinks are a little on the expeensive side but you expect that from this type of hotel. the food was lovely though.

the spa was fabulous. We had the mud treatment which was good fun. Not quite what we expected but it was a giggle anyway.

I would not hesitate to return to this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

611 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    379
    148
    53
    21
    10
See reviews for
71
282
8
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (146)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

Myself and my husband booked this break at the last minute as a treat for my birthday, we had not checked any reviews etc, and on arrival we were immediately extremely impressed at how gorgeous the whole ambiance and presentation was, there was even a pianist playing the grand piano! The staff were very attentive and incredibly friendly and efficient from the doormen to the receptionist, who actually checked us in and took us personally to our most fabulous and spacious mere view room with a balcony. The whole place was fitted out and decorated to a very high standard and very stylish and modern, yet it retained it's old historic features of the old building. The room was very comfortable and there was even some wine on arrival in the room, the TV in the room was the latest high definition technology, it was all most pleasant indeed. We used the spa and facilities which were of the highest standard and the pool etc was amazing. We had dinner in Browns on the first night and could not believe how attentive and friendly the staff were, the food was fabulous as were the beautiful colour schemes and furniture in the bar especially with sumptuous velvet everywhere. We had lunch at the club bar which was equally as fabulous, with views over the mere. We had a short walk in the grounds by the mere which were immaculate and there was plenty of high quality outside furniture in which to enjoy a drink with the lovely view.

Overall I would say this place is excellent in every way, and we will definitely be back, and that is saying something, because I am a perfectionist and very hard to please!

Room Tip: Definitely worth upgrading to mere view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for your feedback after your recent stay, your kind words about our spa and restaurants are truly appreciated..

Thank you also for highlighting certain departments, we are all focused on consistently delivering excellent customer service and I shall ensure the relevant team members are recognised for their contribution.

Thank you once again

I look forward to welcoming you back to The Mere in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2012

I visited The Mere a week ago for an overnight stay as a gift from my husband for Mother's Day. It was one of the best 'spa breaks' that I have been on. The staff were very professional and attentive, in particular the service in Browns restaurant which was exemplary (matched by the food and wine). The spa was superb - everything you would expect in a spa, with a very relaxed atmosphere; and the rooms were a good size and very comfortable (mine had a great view across the Mere), with all the facilities you would expect. There were guests from two wedding parties and several club members using the facilities, but it did not feel busy. Will definitely be visiting again.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

We booked our wedding day at the Mere over 12 months before the new hotel complex was completed - a gamble by any standards - but after the event, we are so pleased we took the risk , as our wedding day was fantastic in every way. The hotel and function areas are superb and in no way resemble how they did when we first visited the Mere. Many of our guests enjoyed the Spa facilities which are second to none and if you are lucky you can enjoy them all to yourself. The grounds are stunning and it is difficult to imagine you are only 10 miles from Manchester city centre when looking out over the mere from the resident's bar at the back of the hotel. Having had a couple of meals at Brown's we have always been impressed with the food, our only concern was if the food would be replicated for 60 guests on the day but everybody commented on how lovely the food was, so absolutley no complaints here. For us the best thing about our wedding day was the service we received at the Mere on the day which was exemplary in every way - the duty Manager was totally in control throughout the whole day and ensured everything ran like clockwork. He was a great support on the day. I would certainly have no hesitation in recommending the Mere to anybody looking to hold a wedding there.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, May 2, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your wedding day. I was delighted to read that you and your guests had a lovely day and your kind words about the manager running your special day will be passed onto him and his team.

Thank you once again and I look forward to you returning for your 1st anniversary, if not before!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2012 via mobile

They have developed a great looking hotel however there are lot of small design issues that make you wonder I'd the architects and designers had ever designed a hotel before. My main issue was very poor staff training. It was clear staff had literally been dumped into their roles with little or insufficient training. Get this sorted and deal with some of the design issues and they could have a great hotel.

Stayed April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Good afternoon Keith, may I offer my apologies for the frustrations encountered. Rest assured we are in the middle of a massive investment into our team members and I am confident should you return you will have a very different experience. I would be interested to hear your thoughts on the design elements and should you wish to discuss in further detail please feel free to contact me at the resort.

I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.

Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
54 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2012

I stayed at this hotel with colleagues for a function.
First the hotel; it is amazing, well proportioned rooms, all the mod cons and very comfortable. All the facilities are great and the ambience superb. Unfortunately we were woken at 5am by the fire alarm ringing - it was soon stopped.
Our welcome for the function was great and our requests dealt with. During the event the junior team worked hard but the attention to detail by the gentleman in charge was lacking, alomg with salt and pepper on the tables and in my case a meal! Humour was obviously not part of his vocabulary.

The bar team were great and so were the restaurant team at breakfast.

At check out we were not asked about our stay and hence felt reserved about providing feedback. No apology was made for the fire alarm and two hotel colleagues having a disagreement in earshot of clients - "Do you have a problem with me?" in a public corridor was not an ideal way to leave after a pleasant stay.

We had a short tour of the spa and it looked amazing!
I would go back, perhaps in a few months when the teething problems have been sorted out and some more staff training has taken place.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Graeme N, General Manager at The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, responded to this review, April 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to feedback after your recent visit, I was delighted to read you enjoyed your time with us. Rest assured the teething troubles you encountered are being addressed alongside a robust training and development plan for our team members.
It was disappointing to learn you were not asked about your experience upon checkout and again you have my word this has been taken on board and acted on.
I look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Consett
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2012

Millions of pounds have been spent on a total refurbishment of this hotel. At the time of our stay ( 6th April 2012) it had only been open 5 weeks. The hotel is amazing.
We stayed as part of a package which included 2 nights dinner bed and breakfast as a break for Easter. We upgraded to a garden view room and it was an outstanding room. Very spacious and luxurious. Fresh flowers were even in the room on arrival.
When staying at the mere a must is to dine at the browns restaurant. The executive chef there is Paul jobling who was kind enough to take the time to come and speak to us, as we were so impressed with the food that compliments had to be made to the chef. Food is outstanding and the attention to detail and presentation is amazing. If you are a dessert lover like us, you must save yourself for dessert, the pastry chef Sarah creates almost bespoke works of art. You do not want to eat due the ornate nature.
Staff both in the restaurant and at the hotel cannot help you enough. There are a lot of staff members around therefore you are never kept waiting no matter what your request is.
Finally the spa is magnificent. The pool, jacuzzi, steam rooms, lounge areas and even the change rooms are the height of luxury. It is a pleasure to relax in there.
If you are a golf lover the course is picturesque and with a floating driving range it offers any capable golfer a challenge.
Please checkout the hotel, well worth a visit and is only 25 miles or so away from Chester. They have amazing offers and packages to tempt you away.

Room Tip: Garden view room is worth it to upgrade
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Mere Golf Resort and Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Mere Golf Resort and Spa

Address: Chester Road, Knutsford WA16 6LJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Mere Golf Resort and Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 81
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mere Golf Resort & Spa in Knutsford, Cheshire is the perfect destination for business or pleasure, with expansive conference facilities, golf and spa, set in the heart of the Cheshire countryside. The team are passionate about providing a unique retreat, exceptional service and a luxury experience, at an affordable price. Unlock your passion in one of our 81 individually designed guest bedrooms, including 10 suites where you will find contemporary interiors, elegant finishing touches and modern amenities. Indulge your passion in our award-winning luxury spa with beauty treatments from Carita and Aromatherapy Associates, plus a 20 metre indoor pool, hydrotherapy pool and thermal zone. Or try out the state-of-the-art fitness club with over 50 studio classes to choose from. Consume your passion in one of our 3 restaurants and bars, from the contemporary Browns restaurant to the Club Lounge & Bar which offers panoramic views over The Mere Lake. Drive your passion on the 18 hole championship golf course and practice your skills on the North West's only floating driving range. Present your passion by choosing from flexible 6 event suites, the largest catering for up to 700 delegates. Unveil your passion and make it a wedding or civil partnership to remember, with a range of bespoke celebration and special occasion packages guaranteed to leave a lasting memory. Once you drive through the grand arch into the grounds of the hotel, you enter a haven of good company, fine food, relaxation and world class golf. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Mere Golf Resort and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Mere Golf Resort and Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.