We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Extremely friendly staff - shame about the dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Longview Hotel

Longview Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Longview Hotel to your Saves list
Longview Hotel
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   51 - 55 Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0LX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
uk
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
“Extremely friendly staff - shame about the dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 10, 2010

Spent one night at the Longview - on arrival was greeted by an extremly friendly, welcoming receptionist - was shown to my room which although small was comfortable and clean. Can not complain about the room but must confess, I havent seen 'sachets' of showe gel and shampoo for a very long time - a bit tacky. The Bar was comfortable and the staff were extremley sociable and friendly . Despite the offerings of the restaurants in town - we decided to eat in the hotel. This was a mistake. The menu looked tempting - the starters were very good but the main course left a lot to be desired ( we had the Kleftico which in essence appeared to be a Lamb shank which had been cooked from frozen in the microwave - I could be wrong. In fairness to the hotel, they did offer a bottle of wine when we raised our complaint. The cooked breakfast was excellent and the service was excellent. A great venue for a hotel, it's comfortable but the restaurant lacks any atmosphere ( far too bright ) and with a Mediterranean theme the music played left a lot to be desired.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

66 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    26
    12
    6
    2
See reviews for
4
21
3
24
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reading, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
79 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
57 helpful votes 57 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2009

The description "family run hotel" normally fills me with dread, but the Longview Hotel was convenient for where I had to work the next day. Can't think of anything particularly positive to say. Hotel is dated and the single room was uncomfortable. Knutsford is a few minutes walk away with a good selection of restaurants and pubs.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2009

i would highly recommend the longview hotel , it a perfect choice as i now have been there now on a numerous occasions and everytime has been wonderful. i have recommended the longview to family and friends and they have all said the same .i think that the staff are very nice ,profesional and make you feel at home. what i like is that the its a very cosy hotel i would rate it just the same as a 5* the service is great you can have room service and watch a dvd . The food is just fantasic and serves english food and meditteranian witch is delicious .if i had a choice to say within cheshire and manchester i would definatly pick the longview hotel.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2008

Nice hotel 5 minutes from town centre. We booked a 'cosy' room for £85, which is exactly as the name suggests - small. Although the room was small it was nicely furnished and clean. Wouldn't have wanted to stay in this room for a whole week, but for 1 night it was absolutely fine.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Bit overpriced for a small room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2007

We recently booked this hotel for one night's stay due to attending a friends wedding ink the area. We were after something fairly cheap and close to the centre, which was also comfortable. Thia was all three!

It looks relativley small on the website but wasn't. It has more than enough parking, the staff are polite and efficient, the hotel was clean and well maintained and the food was great.

I would recommend this hotel for a one night stay or even a short break.

  • Liked — The service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
oswestry
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2007

Second time we have stayed here. Excellent service and room. Staff first class.

  • Liked — Excellent location
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2007

My girlfriend and I stayed here for a friend's wedding nearby. The hotel was one of a number that were suggested and we were more than happy with our choice. The restaurant has been nicely refurbished and the breakfast provided was excellent. The only slight complaint would be the fact it is not open on a Sunday night, so we did not have the opportunity to sample dinner there. The room was slightly old fashioned but clean and had all the facilities we required. Cost wise the hotel was very reasonable and was far superior to many hotels with higher star ratings we have stayed in. We would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay there again if in the area.

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Longview Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Longview Hotel

Address: 51 - 55 Manchester Road, Knutsford WA16 0LX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2 star — Longview Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated just off junction 19 of the M6, we believe, being the only independent hotel in the area, that we can offer that friendly difference which lifts us far and away from the chain hotel. As soon as you step into our cozy reception you'll feel that difference, greeted by the warmth of the crackling open log fire, a friendly smile and service that you will receive throughout your stay with us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Longview Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Longview Hotel Knutsford

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Longview Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.