We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The garden room is great” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Moss Farm

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Moss Farm to your Saves list
Moss Farm
4.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   Cheadle Lane Plumley, Knutsford WA169SW, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 13 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Brentwood
2 reviews
“The garden room is great”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 2, 2013

I always stay at Moss Farm when visiting friends in Warrington. It is ideal, near the motorway, round the corner from Knutsford and set in beautiful grounds. My son (22 months) and I recently stayed in the garden room. It has its own entrance and self catering facilities, great for adventurous toddlers. Rachel was friendly and helpful as always. The bed was big and comfortable and the breakfast was lovely. I strongly recommend the porridge with fresh fruit and the home made preservatives are a bit special. For my son, having the sheep, chickens, cats and tractors on site made our stay really special. Thanks again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to write your lovely review. I know you are such a busy Mum and we really do appreciate your comments. We look forward to being able to welcome you again sometime.....maybe Freddie will be big enough to ride the sheep...or tractor next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    95
    7
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
20
42
9
20
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (20)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We booked an overnight stay at Moss Farm as were spending our friday afternoon/evening at Jodrell Bank for the Sigur Ros concert. Myself and my partner were warmly welcomed by Rachel and shown to the Oak Room, the room was well prepared with an extremely soft & comfy bed!After struggling with other guests to book a taxi to get to Jodrell Bank, Rachel very kindly gave us all a lift to the venue. The night stay was very relaxing and considering it is a working farm we werent disturbed by any animal noises etc.
The breakfast the next morning was freshly prepared and served in the main house which was decorated in a manner which complimented the country feel.
Overall, we very much enjoyed our stay here and if we are to visit the area again then Moss Farm would be one of our first considerations to book.

*Even the resident cat, Bella, took a liking to my partner who found this very amusing!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this review, October 11, 2013
Thanks Beth for taking the time to write a review. It was quite a hectic weekend when you were here and so glad you all had such a good time. Please remember us if you are going to the festival next year, if you book early enough you could have the room with the view of the Lovell Telescope! Great to meet you both, take care.. with thanks from Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2013

We arrived as part of the Wolseley Owners Club group. . feel really priviledged to have discovered Moss Farm , top quality accommodation, food and service which we cant recommend too much. The majority of the party were in the Old Dairy (a great place with group accommodation) but we were lucky enough to be in The Garden Room set in the beautiful walled garden near the farm house. Beautifully fitted out with high spec kitchen,bathroom and lovely furnishings and double french doors onto the garden. Really lovely, thanks again Rachel & family for your excellent service and welcome

Room Tip: A few minutes by car from Junction 19 M6, but use the back roads to get to Knutsford/Tatton. .really...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Thank you so much for leaving such a lovely review. It gives us a little boost when we feel that our hard work is appreciated. It was great to have all the well loved vintage cars here. They all looked so impressive parked in formation in the farmyard. We are so glad you had a memorable weekend and we look forward to welcoming you back for your return visits next year. Take care, Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Preston
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2013

We stayed at Moss Farm for 2 nights last weekend, as part of a classic car group of 10, visiting a local show. What a fantastic place Moss Farm is. The rooms were superb, extremely comfortable, very modern and our bedroom had the best huge bed we had ever slept in. It was very hard to leave!

Great place to stay as part of a large group, we cooked our own dinner and dined in the lovely kitchen/open plan dining room. The kitchen was state of the art and had everything we needed. We also had use of the very comfortable large lounge after our meals, where everyone could chat and relax. Breakfast cooked by Rachel, owner and her family was delicious. We tried the full English breakfast one morning and Rachel's special luxury porridge or other breakfast choices on the menu on the second morning. What a great way to start the day.

We are just about to book rooms for 2014 with Rachel, to stay twice in different months as a large group again, but we will need to be very quick to book in! It's very popular. We were so well looked after, a truly first class service. We cannot recommend highly enough.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
Its lovely when guests take the time to write a review, thank you so much! I know it was a bit of a hectic weekend but hopefully you managed a bit of rest and relaxation once you arrived back at the farm after a busy day. We were so please that the accommodation seemed to work well with your group. I did think bringing your own 'master chef' to prepare you evening meal was a brilliant idea - I think other guests felt like joining you for dinner it smelt soooo good. See you all again next year. Take Care and thanks Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stayed here for 2 x nights in July as part of youngest son's wedding preparations (which took place in Tabley House, Kinutsford some 10 mins drive away). We were blessed with excellent weather over the whole weekend's stay.

This is still very much a working farm (the goats escaping on 1 occasion can testify to tthat, fantastic 'fun' for the kids to watch) and is located on the outskirts of Knutsford in Plumley, very peaceful and restful, surrounded by large areas of farmland. (Some directions place it in Little Peover - pronounced 'Peever')

Arrived Friday afternoon before the wedding on the Saturday, to be greeted warmly by the owners. Large farmhouse with annexed converted single-storey outbuildings. Clearly still a 'work in progress' as many of the elements were still incomplete/in progress, and one sector of the outbuildings - not ours - was very much still at the basic 'building/construction' stage, but this did not stop the family parties having a thoroughly enjoyable 2 x nights stay. There were 16 of us in all, including 2 x young children <6, staying as part of the wedding party - the bride's family and friends staying in the main farmhouse and the groom's parents (my wife and I), relatives and friends in the outbuildings. Large manicured gardens surround the main house in which a very large trampoline was located for guests' use (don't know who had more fun on this, the little ones or the 'big' kids, aged 25+)

Turning to the single-storey 'T' shaped outbuildings - Standard of accommodation in every room in our section, most on the large side, was very high with many en-suite facilities, some walk-in showers, some with shower over bath, and where no en-suite existed, a family bathroom facility was available. Within the outbuilding we had was also a huge common-use lounge at one end of the building for large gatherings, ideal in our case. The very modern kitchen for self-catering requirements was more than adequate, being very large and extremely well equipped with all appliances including dishwasher, large american-style fridge, microwave, wine fridge, all crockery, cutlery and other kitchen necessities. The kitchen also featured an open plan access to an attached second, slightly smaller, but no-less comfortable lounge to relax in.

Only downsides - (at time of our stay)
1. some features incomplete - e.g. some TV appliances and wi-fi available in rooms, including main lounge but not yet connected, - most were not used anyway in our case
2. main car park surface still to be finished so still very much rubble and rock,-
3. the bedrooms, whilst having ample hanging wardrobe space, did lack practical drawer storage space and basics like waste paper bins
4. It was not possible to let the youngsters 'roam' at will as it is a working farm, but they still enjoyed themselves in the main garden and on the trampoline,

but to be honest, none of this detracted from an otherwise pleasant experience. No doubt some/all of these will be corrected over time as the work continues, and great progress in these areas may well have been achieved even by now.

Cannot comment fully on the main farmhouse, except from the breakfast angle, but information from the bride's family and friends who stayed there indicated the same high standard of accommodation and service.

Breakfast was cooked and served by the owners in the outbuildings own kitchen on the first morning (Saturday) but cooked and served to both sets of families etc on the terrace of the main house on the second morning (Sunday). Standard range of help yourself cereals plus juices/teas/coffees then cooked/continental breakfast with a selection of home-made preserves available, meal preferences and timings ordered the day before using order forms.

Value for money was considered to be good by all and if needing to stay again in the Knutsford area for any further reasons would happily book in here. More positives than negatives even allowing for 'work in progress', hence the overall 'excellent' rating.

One slight word of caution - if you wish to go 'out' and use taxi companies in and around Knutsford especially at night time, there is usually a long-ish wait at weekend evenings as there are not that many companies operating in that area (it is a large, spread-out geographical area, being mainly rural).

Tip: book your 'return' journey with the taxi when you book your outward one if you know your approx time for the end of your evening - you stand a much better chance this way of acquiring a late journey than trying to book one at random when your night is over.

Room Tip: Ask for en-suite if possible - all rooms are good, en-suite is just a little bit better There are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this review, August 23, 2013
We are so pleased you have taken the time to write this comprehensive review. Your family were the first guests to stay after the refurbishment and in fact the Wedding was our deadline for having the work completed! The comments you have made are fair and truthful. Whilst most of the work was done before your arrival the furnishings and little bits take time. We want to make sure we have the right feel in the place. Many of the niggles listed had already been addressed, others are in hand. We had a memorable weekend with your wedding party, you have a lovely family and we were very happy to be a part of such a special time. Maybe we will see some of you again sometime. Take Care, and thank you we appreciate your comments. Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed at Moss Farm when visiting Radio 2's Carfest North at Oulton Park, Moss Farm is an ideal place to stay and also close to many National Trust properties. We stayed in the garden room which had everything you could need, including jacuzzi bath and lovely thick white fluffy towels. Breakfast couldn't have been better, so much choice and enough to keep you going all day. Mine host Rachel could not have been more welcoming, her genuine interest in your trip was very pleasing, and I can truly say we enjoyed our chats with her and other guest more than anywhere else we have stayed.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
It is so rewarding to know that you enjoyed your visit to Moss Farm. We always try to make sure our guests are as welcome and comfortable as possible. I know you were pleased with your room...it was the Rose Room with the big Jacuzzi and the garden view. (the Garden Studio is on the ground floor) I also appreciated the low down after your visit to Quarry Bank Mill - although its not far I haven't been in ages! Hope you had a good journey home and are still enjoying your longgggg holiday. Take Care.. Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

We have just spent a night here, while touring. And could not have asked for better service and value for money. The room was clean comfortable and well equipped, the breakfast was scrummy and very filling. Rachel our host could not have been more friendly and helpful if she had tried.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rachel N, Owner at Moss Farm, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
So glad you arrived home safely. . Thank you for taking the time to write your lovely review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your brief stay with us.
I do hope that you managed to have a good look at the jewellery shops on Lord St!!!
We look forward to being able to welcome you back sometime in the future, it was a pleasure to met you both. Take care...Rachel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Moss Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Moss Farm

Address: Cheadle Lane Plumley, Knutsford WA169SW, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Moss Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Moss Farm is a beautifully restored Cheshire Farmhouse set within open countryside. We are ten minutes from Junction 19 of the M6 motorway but could be miles away when you get to our remote yet conveniently tucked away farm. We might be rural but we are also very well placed for Knutsford, Barclays, Plumley, Lower Peover and the Peover Golf Club is at the end of the lane. We are within walking distance of various country pubs who all serve excellent food. Knutsford with its glorious Tatton Park and fine selections of Bars and restaurants is a short drive away or 4 minutes by train from Plumley station. Whether you are on business or holiday you will be guaranteed a warm and sincere welcome from Rachel and Andrew. Our aim is to provide you with a pleasant, relaxing stay with a good hearty breakfast made from local produce. We are pleased to offer Bed and Breakfast accommodation within the main house and Self Catering also available in the Annexe accommodation. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your Moss Farm reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Moss Farm, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.