We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Still the same high standard” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Golden Pheasant

Golden Pheasant
Plumley Moor Road | Plumley, Knutsford WA16 9RX , England
01565722125
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 80 Restaurants in Knutsford
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night
Northwich
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Still the same high standard”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I have eaten here many times and never been disappointed. yes it is a bit pricey, but you get whatyou pay for - good food, good service and you are not rushed. I have been in small groups and taken 2 parteis of over 40 and all have sung its praises - well done Golden Pheasant.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    39
    20
    24
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Knutsford
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Welcoming country pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

Service is excellent and food, whilst a tad on the expensive side, is more than adequate. The beer choice is a bit restricted and decidedly expensive compared with nearby establishments. Wine prices are unquestionably steep!

The venue has plenty of space and comfort, with a couple of open fires, which are particularly, welcoming in Wintertime.

Overall, a good experience but NOT the best in the area.

Visited January 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
macclefield
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Oh my goodness,howmuch?????”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013 via mobile

Popped in for a few pints and a bite to eat.since when did a pint of guiness cost the thick end of a fiver?.was so shocked at the prices here.made a comment in jest to a member of staff that must have been having a bad day,judging from the thousand yard stare and reaction i got.food wise,well had to have a bag of crisps as thats all i could afford.not returning till i win the lottery and can go and have a meal and drink and get some change out of the deal.

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“change the menu”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

have been a few times over the past few years and the menu is still the same, and now its boring, untill it has changed we will not be returning ...shame because we do like eating there.

last time was December and my only gripe about the meal was i had asked for a fillet steak cooked rare, it came well med/well done.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sale, Cheshire
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great pub lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2013

Very good food and atmosphere ..not very cheap but very large portions so nect time we go we will probably have one dish between us which would be enough and make it excellent value for money. There is a proper restaurant also so we are trying that soon.
They also do a Sunday lunch which we will also try.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Golden Pheasant also viewed

 
Knutsford, Cheshire
Great Budworth, Cheshire
 

Been to Golden Pheasant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Golden Pheasant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.