We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wedding function” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rose & Crown Hotel

Rose & Crown Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Rose & Crown Hotel to your Saves list
Rose & Crown Hotel
King street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #8 of 13 Knutsford B&B and Inns
Cheshire
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Wedding function”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just read previous reviews,Shane M,Gem,Beentheretoo.sums it up.it doubles up with Hotel next door that caters for large party's but excellent service in both nothing to much trouble.Approx 1/2 mile from a entrance to Tatton Park some classy shops/bars/eateries oh and just a 'Waitrose'

Room Tip: Sleep wise maybe skip 2-3-4 numbers (on Main St ) and its narrow one way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    16
    12
    11
    5
    2
See reviews for
6
11
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Went for dinner here with family and it was really good. The staff and ambience were really pleasant. It's a step above pub grub but not top shelf restaurant quality. Saying that the prices are very reasonable so on the whole a definite choice when in Knutsford or just passing through.

Stayed December 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This place is such a cosy quaint little hotel, the staff were lovely & the food here was absolutely fantastic I went for the Tempura prawns for starters which came with an unusual but very tasty sauce (not your standard seafood sauce at all) I had steak for main which was cooked to perfection (medium rare as requested) & for desert I had Cambridge burnt cream & shortbread biscuits it was one of the best deserts I have ever tasted, I chose to prop up the bar till last orders & the locals were very friendly & it had a lovely atmosphere.

The room was tastefully decorated & It had a fabulous selection of teas & coffee & presented very nicely in a wicker basket

The bed was very very comfy the only downside was the blinds were not fully functional but this wasn't a big issue for me & I'm not even sure the hotel staff were aware of this

I would definitely return to this hotel if I were in the area again its a great location

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We have just returned from a 2night stay here, we booked a standard double which did as it says. Large bathroom, very hot water but naff water pressure. Really friendly and helpful staff, cosy bar & restaurant beautifully decorated for christmas. Fab breakfast which is included in the price. We personally didn't have a problem with any of the noises that you can hear from others out on the terrace at night. All in all great price, great stay.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2014

This was my second stay at this hotel, following a disappointing first stay i decided to give them a second chance. It makes little difference which bedroom you stay in - they are all noisy! The ones at the front suffer traffic, passing reveler noise and early morning wake up calls from the delivery and refuse trucks, whilst the ones at the rear are spoiled by the beer garden users, who didnt stop partying until after 1 am. The rooms, although recently refurbished lack basic facilities, such as bedside cabinets or lamps, rooms having just a central ceiling light which you have to get out of bed to operate. There are not curtains just louvre blinds which let the light in. The refreshment tray is meager with just 4 uht milk, one coffee and dont even think that there may be biscuits!
The bar is very cosy and welcoming and the staff knowledgable about the local ales.
Breakfast was very disappointing both for service and quality. There was no healthy choices such as museli or yoghurt. The coffee was made fresh to order but took too long and cups were too small which meant that you needed a second one, but had to track down the only waitress on duty and hope that she had time to make you another as she tried to take orders, serve and check guests out. Breakfast took 25 minutes to be cooked and my eggs benedict were more poached egg on toast as there was no sauce on them whatsoever, but I didnt want to risk sending them back as I did not have another 25 minutes to spare! I had to ask for preserves, side plate and clean knife for the toast, which we werent offered a choice of brown or white and it was clearly cheap sliced bread.
This hotel is beautiful to look at, and in a great location in the centre of knutsford with free parking, but if you need a good nights sleep and a hasty breakfast, then this is not the hotel for you.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2014

A nice decent sized room,with TV should you need it. Tea facilities were good. Bathroom spacious. Needed a bulb in the bedside lamp but no doubt if we had asked it would have been dealt with. Each room has an ironing board but few irons, however a guy did go to another hotel to get one for us to use! Nice breakfast included, had to wait a bit but it was tasty and we were in no rush. Nice staff. But staff, don't let the door slam at the top of the first flight of stairs it wakes people up! Knutsford is small but nice to wander around.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2014

The Rose and Crown offers really good value for money rooms. The room was clean and decorated to a good standard, with a kettle and coffee/biscuits for early starts. The location is central to Knutsford and offers on site parking for residents which is a big plus. Noise from the garden restaurant/beer garden wasn't too bad either. The only disappointment for me was the breakfast. There were no healthy choices, none of the usual muesli or yoghurt, and the kitchen staff didn't seem particularly flexible with the menu. The menu itself was out of date, so breakfast wasn't the best experience. If you enjoy a hearty fry-up though, then you won't have any issues with the options.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: King street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose & Crown Chophouse and Hotel is a 350 year old listed building in the heart of Knutsford, Cheshire.The new management recently opened the doors to a fantastic refurbished Bar/Restaurant with old and new staff staff, an amazing multi-cuisine executive chef and his team in the kitchen cooking up some amazing dishes, from breakfast, bar snacks, lunch and evening meals.All 9 of our Hotel rooms have recently under-gone re-furbishment.All rooms are double and en-suite. The Rose 'n' Crown Hotel also offer rooms with double bed and single bed for families.Lovely Outside Decking Area. Cater for Larger Parties. BBQ's Available..... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Rose & Crown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose & Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.