We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too noisy. Unbearable.” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Rose & Crown Hotel

Rose & Crown Hotel
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Knutsford
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rose & Crown Hotel
Save
You added Rose & Crown Hotel to your Saves list
King street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #9 of 13 Knutsford B&B and Inns
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Too noisy. Unbearable.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Am here right now, and the room over looks the beer garden, the room is like a sauna, completely airless (admittedly it's a hot weekend, but outside now it's a lovely cool evening). The noise is unbearable, we were not warned. They should not be allowed to sell rooms like this. Would NOT recommend at all.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    12
    14
    7
    3
See reviews for
7
15
1
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
genneteil
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Nine members of my family booked at the Rose and Crown ,as my son`s wedding breakfast was to be held the following day at The Belle Epoque next door. The rooms, newly refurbished, were excellent, the most comfortable bed I`ve slept in ,in an hotel. They were very clean, including the ensuite bathroom. We were 10 for dinner that evening, as my daughter joined us, and the food was excellent. All our steaks were cooked exactly as ordered, no mean feat when getting out 10 meals at the same time. The staff without exception, were polite , friendly and very helpful, even allowing me to store my insulin in the fridge! The breakfast, by which time our party had grown to 12, was also very good, the full english left most of us very full indeed.YES it was noisy at night, although the hotel had obviously tried to solve the problem with secondary double glazing, but with all the pubs clubs and restuarants so close together, it was never going to be anything else. The noise outside stopped by about 1.30am, so not too bad. I would stay there again, rather than the Belle Epoque where we spent the Saturday night. The rooms were fresher, beds more comfortable and the breakfast more varied. Just pack ear-plugs if you are alight sleeper or an early to bed person!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back, we were oerlooking the main street
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013 via mobile

Arrived at the hotel, was greeted by a very friendly member of staff who showed my boyfriend to the car park. Room was lovely & spacious. The only problem with the room was the shower, it was more of a mist but generally the room was great & an amazing location. Would defiantly stay again!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

The room I was given was literally level with and virtually in the beer garden, if you open the window you could shake hands with someone in the beer garden, blinds had to remain shut at all times. From a noise point of view it was like trying to sleep on a bench actually in the beer garden, the noise went on until very late, no fun at all.

Room Tip: Rooms above those on the first floor should be slightly quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2013

Found myself in Knutsford unexpectedly, having no room reservation so checked into the Rose and Crown on speck.

The gentleman, who is the Manager, opened the door for me, as I was struggling to get in (luggage!!!!) and he is very pleasant. He helped me upstairs with my luggage also.

The room is functional, well appointed .. bathroom with both a bathtub and a shower, which work excellently well. Toiletries are provided.

I badly needed a good rest, as lots of travel had been done! The venetian blinds on the window had not been installed properly .. so one of the staff came up, tried to fix them but only succceeded to an extent. Hence, I tried to sleep with lights shining in the window from the staff rest area and the beer garden. It was quite noisy at times, and the smell of cooking constant until late, and rather nauseating, when one is trying to rest!

Breakfast was plentiful, and very pleasantly served by a lovely young lady, who would do the hospitality industry a favour if she chose tourism as her vocation in Britain ! Just sayin' ... as the saying goes !!

Overall .. 65 pounds per night is a litle steep for the Rose, I think. Upstairs, ambience and decor is not of the highest standard. And the smell of cooking, the proximity of the rooms to the public areas of revelry, (and I was there on a Monday night, probably the quietest night of the week), needs to be sorted out.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

I stay in Knutsford regularly on business and have stayed in most hotels. I'm delighted to say that the rooms have been refurbished here, nice modern decor and smart bathrooms, cracking value, with the location right in the town centre. My company rate here includes free parking (very rare in Knutsford) and breakfast.
Even better is that they've put on a great new menu, with Spare Ribs being a stand out dish.
Basically, the perfect base for Knutsford, would highly recommend.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for two nights when we were guests at a wedding next door. The location was perfect and the pub downstairs was very nice too. The room itself was fairly typical of one you'd find in a pub; a bit too cold and a slightly awkward layout but had some nice touches like nice bedding, a flat screen TV and fluffy towels. The mattress could've been more comfy and the shower was of the energy-saving electric type, which did nothing to revive me after a heavy day of wedding drinking but the excellent breakfast went someway to correcting that. All in all a decent place but at £80 a night, not the cheapest either.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Rose & Crown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rose & Crown Hotel

Address: King street, Knutsford WA16 6DT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cheshire > Knutsford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Knutsford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Rose & Crown Chophouse and Hotel is a 350 year old listed building in the heart of Knutsford, Cheshire.The new management recently opened the doors to a fantastic refurbished Bar/Restaurant with old and new staff staff, an amazing multi-cuisine executive chef and his team in the kitchen cooking up some amazing dishes, from breakfast, bar snacks, lunch and evening meals.All 9 of our Hotel rooms have recently under-gone re-furbishment.All rooms are double and en-suite. The Rose 'n' Crown Hotel also offer rooms with double bed and single bed for families.Lovely Outside Decking Area. Cater for Larger Parties. BBQ's Available..... ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rose And Crown Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rose & Crown Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.