We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel perfect location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cressfield Country Hotel

Save Saved
You added Cressfield Country Hotel to your Saves list
Cressfield Country Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Cressfield Country Hotel
Townfoot, Ecclefechan, Lockerbie DG11 3DR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Lockerbie
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great hotel perfect location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 28, 2013

Booked as a stay over on a very long journey to outer Hebrides and this hotel was perfect. Ideally situated just off the M74 the hotel is endearingly old fashioned but clean and we had a walk in the quiet village of Echanfechan before breakfast. Breakfast was excellent and set us all up for the trip ahead. Definitely recommended to singles families and anyone really.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    10
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
7
16
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2013 via mobile

By far the best hotel & restaurant in Ecclefechan & the surrounding area. I was here for my sisters wedding, from check-in to check-out, the food, service, everything was flawless. Nigel & the staff would do anything for anybody. Very special mention to Iain though, most polite & attentive waiter, he's an absolute asset to the business. If you're in the area Cressfield is worth a visit, even if you're not, it's worth travelling to.
Jamie

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and i have used this Hotel a number of times since giving up our caravan some years ago.
We have also attended the fab New Years Eve party, for the last few years , meeting friends both old and new.
So my apologies to Nigel and his superb staff for a well overdue review.
Rooms mostly are very large airey clean and very very comfy, with good bathrooms and showers,TV tea making facilities etc , loads of bedroom storage for the largest of clothes packers.
|Food is fantastic , great breakfast , excellent lunch menu very good dinner choices, never ever
been dissapointed .
Views from any from any front rooms from 2nd floor are stunning (room 104 very good)

Staff brilliant , in particular young Ian, the most customer focussed young man i have ever met, what a joy it is to have someone as caring as he is , nothing is too much trouble for him.
Nigel and his wife work hard to keep a family atmos , and it works really well, i know we are stress free the minute we step through the doors .

No doubt we will be back before summer ends , looking forward to that already.......until then
thanks for a great stay weekend gone July 20th , see you all soon.

Room Tip: second floor any
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Stayed at this hotel for 4 nights. The rooms were clean, nice decor and warm, white duvet covers and sheets, the pictures on the website are out of date and the sleeping rooms are really nice now. The staff were so friendly and very helpful and polite. I can highly recommend this hotel whether its for a short stop over or a longer. The smoked salmon was amazing and a generous portion too. I also loved the prawn Provençal which was on the specials menu. My dietary requirement were fully met with gluten free bread and the options above with a crunchy side salad was just the thing to keep me happy. We all felt really at home and would definitely stay again. Great breakfasts, porridge, Scottish breakfasts or any combo, tea coffee, juice, cereal or stewed fruit.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

stayed for 1 night on the 1 dec room was lovely with amazing views, staff are friendly and nothing is any trouble even when i checked into the wrong room had dinner in the restaraunt with family lovely food and at a good price cannot fault this hotel at all will be going back

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

We found this hotel by pure chance. A fantastic experience. We booked for two nights but stayed for the week.
Attentive staff, wonderful food (wide choice of menu)
Cleanliness at A star as far as we are concerned, no dusty corners and clean shower and toilet units.
The owner, Nigel, oversees everything efficiently and calmly.
I could go on but suffice to say we booked for next year on departure.
An experience we look forward to repeating.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pulborough
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2012

We always use this fine old house when travelling to and from the Highlands and must have stayed there 15+ times, which says something in itself. However this time there was a glitch.

The room we had originally booked had been let out as part of a conference the Hotel was hosting at the time and the room we were offered was somewhat inferior. Nothing really wrong with the room itself but a little dated and no bath, which after an injury my wife was looking forward to.

We immediately raised this with Nigel (the owner). He apologised for the mix up (we had booked months in advance and stated which type of room we required). He responded immediately to our concerns and said he had even tried to book us in to another local hotel but they too were full. Without hassle Nigel offered us an "extremely" good rate on the room and confirmed in the future we would get the room(s) requested.

Any hotel can have its glitches and I believe the true measure of a good hotel is how it responds to them. Nigel was exemplary on this occasion.

Enough carping, this is a super country house hotel and the staff are really friendly and helpful, yes that's you Nigel, Iain and Kerry. The evening meals are very good and usually made with fresh, local produce whenever possible. Breakfasts too are good and wholesome.

A great stop over, 2 mins from the motorway but no traffic noise. Also it is worth exploring the local area with a longer stay. Good local fishing too.

Don't worry we'll be back! (at New Year)

Mike and Jayne

Room Tip: Go for a room at the front of the hotel. Nice views to the hills
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Cressfield Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cressfield Country Hotel

Address: Townfoot, Ecclefechan, Lockerbie DG11 3DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Priceline so you can book your Cressfield Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cressfield Country Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cressfield Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.