We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good place to stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water

Save Saved
You added Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
1.5 of 5 Hotel   |   Annandale Water Motorway Service Area, A74(M) | Junction 16 - Johnstonebridge, Lockerbie DG11 1HD, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lockerbie
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights because we attended some weekend course at Kagyu Samye Ling, Tibetan Buddhist Centre in Eskadelemuir, which I think about 20 - 25 minutes away by car. The room was nice and clean, bed was comfortable and our room has a very nice view of the small loch behind the hotel premises. The room is equipped with hairdryer, tea/coffee making facility, TV. The bathroom comes with a shower but decor is very simple, nothing special. The hotel is at the motorway service area so there are some restaurants and shops. You can also have decent coffee (sorry, can't remember if it was Costa or Cafe Nero...) to bring it back to your hotel room. You can also purchase a breakfast voucher deal at the reception of the hotel which works out cheaper if you want any cooked breakfast at the restaurant within the service complex.

It's a good place to stop over to sleep in order to break journey to North/South, unless you have any specific business to attend to nearby. The price was good deal - reasonable depending on how you book but at least you get clean room and good sleep with facility to make tea/coffee and have access to some shops for essentials and things to eat at the service next door.

Room Tip: Have a room in the back for a view of loch, otherwise you would be looking at car park in the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We are a good place to stay if you want to break your journey North/South, and also as a base to visit lovely Dumfries and Galloway. Please come back and see us again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

209 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    91
    85
    22
    10
    1
See reviews for
63
93
17
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Eridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

This seems to be a typical Days Inn, very good everything but, not so! Our view from the excellent roomy bedroom was outstanding, from our own walk on balcony, overlooking a beautiful loch with hills in the background. The lady receptionist could not have been more helpfull, pointing out a local Inn where we could get a drink/food late into the evening and insisting on giving us spare tea/coffee for our room.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We are very lucky with our situation, and all the wonderful wildlife that we have here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
yorkshire
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

We have stayed here when it was a premier inn and it was great, but this time we found rubbish left by the previous ppl on one of the shelves and there was a stain on one of the duvet covers. The service we received was great. But the breakfast was appalling I ate maybe a quarter and was sick when I got back to the room it was far to greasy and the bacon was all fat the sausage was very cheap quality and the egg was well undercooked even my children refused it! And all that cost us nearly £20! It is however in a beautiful location. I have to say though that due to the poor food quality we will not be staying here again!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review, I am disappointed that you did not enjoy your stay. We always strive to provide our customers with a high standard of service. I apologise for the issues with your room and will raise these with the housekeeping team. I will also pass on your feedback about breakfast to our catering manager, who will share my disappointment that we didn't meet the standards expected.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

Get a room at the back of the hotel and you don't get the traffic noise and there's a balcony to relax on overlooking the lake! After a long trip its just perfect to relax, and the dog loved it too! Spotlessly clean, comfortable and spacious. The staff were really helpful and friendly and it was just great!

Room Tip: Try and get one at the back I think they are odd numbers, just soooooo relaxing
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review. I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our balcony rooms, it can be very peaceful overlooking the lake, but occasionally the wild life especially the geese can be a tad noisy at certain times of the day.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton
Top Contributor
101 reviews 101 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 63 cities Reviews in 63 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

OK my title reminded me to say that you really should get a room with an odd number. This was a great location. It is very rural location with one side facing the car park, rooms have even numbers. Views of a service area and the other rooms with odd numbers are in a different world facing Annandale Water. Friendly welcome. Clean, comfortable everywhere. Wonderful room with a balcony and peaceful views. Ok you do have to listen to the geese but that's the rub lol. We also got away from the service cages and went to the Dinwoodie Lodge Hotel a short drive away. Our room had tea coffee a bath and a shower. Fully equipped and well recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our lake side rooms, and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

travelling with dog upto scotland....cant fault the place service wonderful room spacious and spotless, on motorway but as next to lake you would never know , wireless and flat screen tv and all less than £50, certainly surpasses all expectations

Room Tip: overlooking water .....balcony views with your coffee how can you beat it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that you and your 4 legged friend have enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Situated on the services I was dubious when we arrived despite reading all the good reports. On arriving at reception we were greeted by a very friendly lady and given a room overlooking the lakes complete with ducks, mute swans and geese. Our room with double bed and a sofa had its own balcony that could sit two people comfortably and was lovely for relaxing in; traffic noise was certainly not a problem! The room was very clean and the bed comfortable with free wi-fi as well. We ate in the services for the first evening meal which was a very good portion of fish and chips and then headed into restaurant 91 in Lockerbie for brunch in the morning. If I am ever up this way again I would definately stay here and use it as a base for travelling around.

Room Tip: room 25 overlooks the lake as do many others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are very lucky here with our lake side setting and such a variety of wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water

Address: Annandale Water Motorway Service Area, A74(M) | Junction 16 - Johnstonebridge, Lockerbie DG11 1HD, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water 1.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline and Venere so you can book your Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water Hotel Lockerbie
Premier Inn Lockerbie
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.