We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a wonderful find but think odd!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water to your Saves list
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water
2.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Annandale Water Motorway Service Area, A74(M) | Junction 16 - Johnstonebridge, Lockerbie DG11 1HD, Scotland   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lockerbie
Cambridgeshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 69 cities Reviews in 69 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
“What a wonderful find but think odd!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012 via mobile

OK my title reminded me to say that you really should get a room with an odd number. This was a great location. It is very rural location with one side facing the car park, rooms have even numbers. Views of a service area and the other rooms with odd numbers are in a different world facing Annandale Water. Friendly welcome. Clean, comfortable everywhere. Wonderful room with a balcony and peaceful views. Ok you do have to listen to the geese but that's the rub lol. We also got away from the service cages and went to the Dinwoodie Lodge Hotel a short drive away. Our room had tea coffee a bath and a shower. Fully equipped and well recommended.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am glad that you enjoyed your stay in one of our lake side rooms, and hope you will return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    114
    110
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
92
113
25
25
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

travelling with dog upto scotland....cant fault the place service wonderful room spacious and spotless, on motorway but as next to lake you would never know , wireless and flat screen tv and all less than £50, certainly surpasses all expectations

Room Tip: overlooking water .....balcony views with your coffee how can you beat it
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review, I am delighted that you and your 4 legged friend have enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Situated on the services I was dubious when we arrived despite reading all the good reports. On arriving at reception we were greeted by a very friendly lady and given a room overlooking the lakes complete with ducks, mute swans and geese. Our room with double bed and a sofa had its own balcony that could sit two people comfortably and was lovely for relaxing in; traffic noise was certainly not a problem! The room was very clean and the bed comfortable with free wi-fi as well. We ate in the services for the first evening meal which was a very good portion of fish and chips and then headed into restaurant 91 in Lockerbie for brunch in the morning. If I am ever up this way again I would definately stay here and use it as a base for travelling around.

Room Tip: room 25 overlooks the lake as do many others
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so glad that you enjoyed your stay, we are very lucky here with our lake side setting and such a variety of wildlife.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Inverness, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2012

We had not come across the "Days Inn" group before but we were not disappointed. Much more Premier Inn quality than Travelodge with a very comfortable bed, we would be happy to stay in one the group's hotels again. But this particular location is a great stopping off point. Situated on the Annandale Water services site the hotel is sited well away from the motorway with rooms at the back overlooking the lake and the rural scenes beyond. The rooms even have a balcony from which you can enjoy the rural scene. A really relaxing spot to break a motorway journey - highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denise D, Manager at Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, responded to this review, September 6, 2012
Thank you so much for your review I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W.sussex
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2012

We stopped off on way home from a trip to Scotland on the of chance of a room, receptionist very helpful.
Told her I had a free stay voucher, not a problem & we also had dogs again no problem.
We asked for room at back & boy it over looked the lake & we had a balony all enclosed so dogs laid out there all evening..
I would say worth stopping if you like views & wildlife, amazing.

Room Tip: At the back if you dont mind being woken up by ducks & swans. We didnt.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Farnham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2012

You don't really expect a motorway services area to be peaceful but this one was.Our room was overlooking the lake and was just idyllic. The room itself was clean and adequate, it maybe needed a bit of updating but was very good value for money. For breakfast instead of eating at the services we went into the nearby town of Moffatt which is a very lovely little place with several places open for breakfast.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worcestershire UK
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

Days inn are one of my favourite chains because they allow you to book their special offers right up to the day of travel, unlike premier inn and travelodge who advertise great rates but only if you book weeks ahead, which for me is mostly useless.My recent stay here was just £25 for a double and almost everything that has already been written about this hotel is true.Great value, comfortable room and a superb view. However there are 2 things to be aware of. Even with a lake facing room I.e. at the back you still get a fair bit of road noise.Also the sliding door to the balcony in my room did not close properly and the resulting whine from wind noise was very loud.
However this is undoubtedly the best motorway hotel on the way up to Scotland.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water

Address: Annandale Water Motorway Service Area, A74(M) | Junction 16 - Johnstonebridge, Lockerbie DG11 1HD, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 5 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water 2*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water Hotel Lockerbie
Premier Inn Lockerbie
Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Days Inn Lockerbie Annandale Water, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.