We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely suprise” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Somerton House Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Somerton House Hotel to your Saves list
Somerton House Hotel
35 Carlisle Road, Lockerbie DG11 2DR, Scotland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 14 Lockerbie B&B and Inns
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“lovely suprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

After a long 6 hour drive. I was so happy to arrive and even more happier when we was showed our room. The room was spotless and very spacious and comfortable.The staff was very welcoming and friendly,we ordered the steak for dinner and it was amazing so big i couldn't finish it,good value for money. shame we only stayed the one night! highly recommended and will defiantly return.

  • Stayed November 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    48
    14
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
13
20
9
17
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cleator, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Good quality food locally provided and well prepared are a feature of this family run hotel.
Clean and tidy with a warm friendly welcome. I asked for a single room but was given one of the doubles recently added to the rear of the hotel. The room was immaculate with only trivial problems encountered. The clothes hangers in the newly fitted wardrobes fell to the floor when used for anything heavier than a shirt and one night was disrupted by the snoring of the guest in the next room. Not sure if this was due to the volume of the snorer or the quality of the dividing wall.
Good parking is provided and in general a very enjoyable stay while doing a little fishing in the area.

Room Tip: I stayed in room 8.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2014

The owner and staff where very friendly,helpful and professional.wonderful place hope to stay there again soon.the surrounding countryside is peaceful and charming.on return to the hotel you can be assured of the highest quality fresh food

Room Tip: If you like a bath, room 1 is the one for you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2014

Stayed one night on our trip around the uk. Found the staff and the facilities to be excellent. Both dinner and breakfast were of a reasonably high standard. Thanks again from the wandering Australians

Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bury, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2014

My husband and I booked an overnight stay on our way home from The Isle of Skye. What a lovely place it was. The gardens were beautifully maintained as was the hotel itself. Staff were very helpful and nothing was too much trouble. It was clean and warm and the food was excellent. We had two dogs with us who were made to feel very welcome!
We would recommend this hotel very highly.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2014

Really nice place to stay. Stayed one night and felt very welcome. In particular the host Brian was very greeting and a really good member of staff. The rooms were nice and clean to stay in and the morning breakfast was excellent with a large variety to eat.

  • Stayed October 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Anglia, United Kingdom
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2014

We booked two rooms for one night. Both rooms were excellent and very clean. The hotel has great character. The owners were lovely. The evening meal and breakfast was excellent. I would recommend this small hotel.

Room Tip: The hotel has a modern rooms and a period rooms. Both excellent. Dog friendly.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Somerton House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerton House Hotel

Address: 35 Carlisle Road, Lockerbie DG11 2DR, Scotland
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 14 B&Bs / Inns in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Friendly and professional hotel that caters to all. During the week we have a regular business trade that takes advantage of all the mod cons, including full wi-fi coverage, in stylish and relaxing surroundings. We are excellently located for all local companies and just over an hours journey to Glasgow and Edinburgh. Weekends are busy with local food trade and also with small functions and weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Somerton House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerton House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Somerton House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.