We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean and comfortable” 4 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lockerbie
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Sleaford, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clean and comfortable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Stayed here for a wedding.

Very nice stay, clean room.
Bathroom got very steamy whilst using the shower, which made everything rather moist.
Good selection at breakfast and enjoyed sandwiches we had for lunch aswell.

Room Tip: Try to get a room which has a window that doesn't face a wall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear Reviewer, We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us and enjoyed the wedding and food you had with us, Thank you for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

344 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    79
    20
    17
    12
See reviews for
57
159
9
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (86)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Having recently been working in Lockerbie for the last couple of months the Dryfesdale was my choice of hotel, the simple fact for this is the staff are extremely friendly and accommodating, the rooms are great and the food, well, this hotel should be racing up in the Tripadvisor stakes, lost count of how many times I have eaten here but truly cannot fault, when staying on numerous occasions on business it is easy to 'go through' the menu, however the fact that each day there is a variation to the sizzler and pasta dishes allows for that variation required to keep you interested, that aside why would you want to eat anything else once you have tried the fillet steak, I have to confess that this is right up there with the best I have ever had, and I have had some amazing steaks. When on business a good start to the day always helps, you get this at the Dryfesdale, not only the service but the breakfasts also, freshly made rather than the buffets that others seem to prefer. Anyway back to the rooms, all are of high standard, the garden rooms are huge, bathrooms are equipped far better than you would expect, if you are wishing to stay in the area the, apologies to the other Lockerbie hotels, there is only one choice in my view, thanks Glen/Lynne

Room Tip: The garden rooms are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 8, 2014
W.O.W what a kind and wonderful review, we are thrilled you enjoy your stay with us each time you visit, in fact it makes all the hard work all the team put in worthwhile when we get these reviews and encourages them to constantly strive to make all our guests welcome. Thank you for the review from all our team and we look forward to welcoming you again and again and again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gretna, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2014

Haven't been to the Dryfrsdale for a number of years and wasn't too impressed last time.

BUT I have to confirm that I was very impressed. Lovely refurbishment, great menu and good service.

Would recommend.

Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your wonderful and kind review it was great to welcome you back and see all the new refurbishment, we hope to welcome you to stay in the near future. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glossop, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2014

This hotel is tucked away just outside Lockerbie. I have only just found it after spending many a night in Lockerbie on business, but you can be sure I will now always stay there. The ground floor bedrooms have patio doors with your own table and chairs outside. The rooms are big and clean and absolutely nothing is too much trouble for the staff. They are friendly, welcoming and even when very busy, will still smile and take the time to make sure everything is ok. The food is outstanding for the prices they charge, freshly cooked, locally sourced and not a tin bin in sight at breakfast.

Will definitely be back, both for business and may treat my husband!

Room Tip: Room 15 great, but any downstairs with a patio
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 29, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for such a kind and wonderful review, we are thrilled you had such a great stay with us, and we hope to welcome you again in the near future. Many thanks
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

Stayed at this hotel last weekend having returned to Lockerbie for our wedding anniversary having spent our wedding night here many years ago. What a friendly welcome we received here and it is really the owners/staff that give this hotel such a friendly welcoming feel with the right balance of service without being over imposing. We very much appreciated being given an upgraded room for our special occasion and it was totally relaxing to just sit outside in the sunshine with beautiful views and to walk around the local area. We had a lovely time and are so pleased that we did decide to return here. P.S. The breakfast and dinner was also very good.

Room Tip: best rooms on ground floor with garden access
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, it was a pleasure welcoming you to the hotel after so many years and thrilled you enjoyed your stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

I received the warmest of welcomes to the hotel which is really conveniently situated about a mile from the motorway in beautiful countryside.

The check in was flawless and the manager walked me personally to my room which was a superb suite with a four poster bed, lounge and seating area outside with stunning views.

Dinner was great with the staff really taking the time to give a personal service and making sure that neither my plate or glass was empty long.

Nice hotel, amazing staff and the manager could not have done more to make sure that I was comfortable. I have stayed here before on the drive from the SW to Glasgow and I will absolutely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 24, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write such a wonderful and glowing review, the team are thrilled by your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again in the future. Many thanks again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrogate, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

friendly staff who could not do enough for you also with good food and drink. would highly recommend to stay here if you like quiet and romantic week or weekend. rooms clean and tidy . we are coming back in 2 weeks to stay again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, June 28, 2014
Dear Reviewer, It is always great to welcome guests again and again to the Dryfesdale and we hope we can continue looking after you again and again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.