We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“stunning hotel what else can I say” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lockerbie
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“stunning hotel what else can I say”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

stayed here with my other half on 7th feb to celebrate our engagement, bought a groupon and wow it was amazing. missed the cream tea due to me finishing work late unfortunately but when we arrived the girl was very polite even though the hotel had a busy function on. we checked in and when we went into the room we were blown away at how beautiful it was. the 24hr room service is a wee bonus too, we had a lovely breakfast in bed which the manager himself brought to us and what a breakfast it was! we paid 49 pounds for this luxurious room and dont regret it at all although we didnt get our prosecco :(. to sum this hotwl up its fabulous, staff are brilliant, food is great and to top it off the bed was warm and cosy. would definately come again. :)

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reveiwer, Thank you for taking the time to write such a glowing review, all the team are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay albeit short and sweet, we hope the next time you visit you will have more time and i will ensure that you get your prosecco personally from myself
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

306 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    194
    69
    19
    17
    7
See reviews for
49
140
7
42
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Carlisle, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

We bought a groupon voucher which entitled us to one night at this hotel with cream tea and prosecco on arrival and a full Scottish breakfast the next morning. The hotel was beautifully furnished and the cream tea,evening meal and breakfast were delicious. The staff were friendly and very helpful. We would highly recommend this hotel and hope to return in the future. Thank you very much.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reveiwer, Thank you for such a wonderful review, we are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to welcome you in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

My wife and i arrived at this Hotel booked for one night on a 5pm voucher .The deal included cream tea and a glass of prossecco .Outside the clouds were black ,the wind howled and the rain crashed down so our expectations of a couple of days in the fresh air were not looking good.From the moment we arrived to the moment we left we were treated to an example of how customers should be treated in all hotels. The staff could not do enough for you ,the food was great,the rooms were spacious,clean and warm and we forgot the weather outside.There weren't that many staff as its not a big hotel but they worked hard and covered a lot of ground still making time to smile and chat with the guests.To make such a good impression in such a short time is a skill in short supply . If you get the chance to go to this hotel take it-I can,t recommend it highly enough.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reveiwer, Thank you for your wonderful and complimentary review, all the team try their hardest to give every guest a great experience , and they will be thrilled to hear that their hard work has been recognised by yourselfand encouage them to continue delivering a great customer service. Thank you for taking the time to write the review and we hope to welcome you back in teh future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014 via mobile

Friendly welcome in what is a good value 3 star hotel. The rooms are all on the ground floor and are clean and to a reasonable standard. Working out how to use the tv remote was a challenge and tv signal strength was poor if you're planning to watch tv in your room?

Restaurant was undergoing a major refurbishment but food was good and staff pretty efficient. As was the case with breakfast.

I was allocated a habited room but the error was instantly rectified with a friendly apology and room upgrade when I returned to reception.

Room Tip: Check the room has not been allocated to someone else earlier in the day?
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for taking the time to write your review, we are sorry for the room allocation mistake , but pleased it was resolved immediately along with a free room upgrade, we are however a 4 star hotel to help clear this matter up in case anyone is confused. Many thanks for taking the time to write your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunfermline
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2014

Although place is being refurbished with painters and carpet fitters in they caused little disruption.Glen and his staff deserve a medal for all there hard work. Room was large ,clean and had one of the biggest beds we have seen! paid extra for a garden room which would have been lovely in summer but not necessary in winter we felt.
Food was first class and served in a unique and highly creative way,well worth the experience and very reasonably priced.
The only fault we felt was having to go through dining area to get to room ,don't know if this is norm or if it was just because of refurbishment and staff were taking food to a function through dining room a lot of coming and going but if gave us something to watch.
Lovely hotel situated Ina lovely area and very central for touring would and have already recommended
Thank you Glen and staff for such a lovely stay.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you for your lovely review, to say it has been tasking whilst the refurbishment of the hotel has been ongoing whilst staying open would be a understatement, but we hope it did not detract from your stay and ultimately gives our guests a better experience when they visit. Thank you again for taking the time to write your review.We hope to welcome you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

My word everything everyone has said about this hotel is right. ALL the staff are excellent and caring, nothing is too much trouble for them. It is nice to see the Manager Glen working too as in some hotels they don't. The food is very hot and the presentation of it is outstanding. Credit to the chef everything was lovely and tasty. Generous portions too. The rooms are really nice and fully equipped. The beds are very comfortable, got 2 good nights sleep, no noise at all. The dining room and conservatory are recently refurbished and look excellent. Great for a wedding or any celebration. We shall definitely be back.

Room Tip: Rooms No. 23 and 24 are at the end of the hotel but no one passing your door at night so no noise. W...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 5, 2014
Dear Reviewer, WOW what a review we are all blown away by these wonderful comments and all the team are extremely excited now that our new refurbishment program has finished , we hope you will re-visit us to see the finished refurbishment.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Heathfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 31, 2014

Had booked a voucher deal and wasn't sure what we would find but it would be a much wanted break. When we walked in there were rolls of carpet in what we found out later to be the dining room, but Glen assured us it would be a dining room by 7pm - and it was. Our room was very spacious and comfortable - much better than expected. The food was exceptional and we were very happy to be guinea pigs for the new menus, and all at very reasonable prices. We were asked to nominate an "outstanding" member of staff on the comments form left in our room but everyone from the owner down could not have done more to ensure our every need was catered for. We would describe ourselves as demanding and critical but could not fault the hotel or staff and would highly recommend this hotel if you were looking for a base to explore the area. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: ask for a garden room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wrighty147, General Manager at BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, responded to this review, February 1, 2014
Dear Reviewer, Thank you from all our team for such a glowing review especially as when you arrived our refurbishment program was ongoing, however we are thrilled to announce that we have finished and over the moon that you still enjoyed all aspects of your stay, we hope that you will revisit and see the finished refurbishment. Thank you again from all the team for taking the time to write this review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel

Address: Dryfebridge, Lockerbie DG11 2SF, Scotland
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > Scotland > Dumfries and Galloway > Lockerbie
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Lockerbie
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 29
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Lockerbie
Lockerbie Best Western
BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel Lockerbie, Scotland

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Dryfesdale Country House Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.